Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mortimer

Hellsy

What a great game from Daniel yesterday!!
I hope we nurture him along well, and not let it all go to his head because he is showing some fantastic signs for the future :clap: :clap: :clap:

Iactually agree with everyone!

I can cop some of the losses we have had with the guy. Tackles his heart out, plays probably above his weight. Prob gets paid a pie and chips after the game.

But fact is, with him at 7 it will cost us winnable games. Not blaming him, just saying we can't plan for 2010 with him there.

By the way every game he has played to date is better than every game Finch played for us at 7 bar 40 minutes of round 1 2008.

That's precisely what you are doing. Sugar-coating it doesn't take away from it.

As someone else said - he's a nine playing in the seven.

I`m really glad to see Robson getting some support here. And you have to remember that, despite his age, he`s still very inexperienced at this level. I reckon Anderson`s done a good job to get the best out of him. I hope Robson manages to play his way into some sort of contract for next year. He could develop into a very handy replacement half/hooker.
And on Mortimer; I`m quite impressed. He`s obviously got some class. Half or five-eight? I don`t know.

It seems that Robbo is getting some cred around here finally. I like it. I too bagged him at the start, but you can't put crap on a player who digs deep every game and as Bigfella said, equals or even outplays Finch for 1/6th of his salary.

I hope that we keep him as a backup or for his sake, that he lands an ESL or French contract as a reward for his hard work this year.

I had a chat to Kris Keating after the game on Sunday and he said he would be back in 6 weeks and didn't mind playing half or five eighth depending where the boss wants him.

Raudonikis

Well done to the young guy,he is going to be a super star in the nrl and i hope parra sign him up long term very shortly cos there are going to be a number of clubs after him...I see him as our 7 long term with KK at 6

The kid done good.... coming along nicely. Still needs some work and hopefully he can continue his development into next year as well with a better forward pack to work behind. He's pretty quick both on his feet and between the ears....

Yep with mortimers passes putting him into holes like he has done for Reddy,KK would be awsome.It may even be Sterlo / Kenny like? :D

I wouldn't go that far yet, but Mortimer has definitely exceeded all expectations at this stage of his career, he is however continually targeted in the D and didn't get too much protection from his team mates but his attitude is first class..

Raudonikis

I wouldn't go that far yet, but Mortimer has definitely exceeded all expectations at this stage of his career, he is however continually targeted in the D and didn't get too much protection from his team mates but his attitude is first class..

Stagger as you know he hasnt exeeded my expectations,as you would remember early this season i said he has the goods.ok i am dreaming re the sterlo keeny combo,but it would be nice hey? Last week the broncs kept running thaiday at him and he kept tackling him,mate he is tough! he isnt a half like soward/locky/thurston ect who miss heaps a tackles.

Bigfella

He's coping with a fair bit better than KK has so far IMO too.