Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Most Overrated Coach

DoggiesBro

it was a combination of bad luck and cronk for me.

the knock on instead of intercept that perrett had, hoffmans lost ball "strip", the morris bounce twice, few other things that just were plain unluckly. cooper cronk was the deal sealer. his kicking game kept barba marking it inside his try line. it allowed him little time to play in broken field as 9/10 it would be someone coming back still allowing storm to set their line. worked really well for them. that and his kick before half time, the way he would get them out of trouble after a big set of defense from the dogs. the wingers did come up and in alot though there has been alot of complaints about them being off side from people at the game. though again thats footy. also i think storms forward pack stood up more then they had all year, and really needed to. norrie, bromwhich were pretty good.

i still think our forward pack was winning the game at the end though time just ran out.

if morris got a decent bounce instead of two shockers and slater jumping over his shoulder then i think it was game on. though it will be a good learning curve for the boys because while our defense held solid and pretty much everyone tried their ass off it just shows how vital focus is for the entire 80 minutes in finals footy. that cooper cronk kick just before halftime for the winger was a real big play, if we mark that again different story.

i have no doubt it brings the boys closer and des with the team too. also allows them to know what they are facing. most people in the storms line up have played big games, not many in the doggies had. will be better off for it thats for sure.

storm proved though just how good they can be. especially their forwards, always knew they had gun spine, good solid backs, though their pack had huge question marks. did extremely well and with hoffman, hincliffe, norrie, bromwhich they still have the core. setu, moore will help them too i think.

natheel

The way I see the gf was Melbourne just did enough to win. I reckon they could have blown it out to another few tries. Their defence was great especially Nielsen outwide shutting down barba and Morris a few times.

I think by the 50th minute Melbourne knew they had it and just cruised. They were confident enough in their defence to not have to chance their arm in attack so if they didn't score points they knew they could hold dogs out

RWB

There was nothing lucky about Storm winning the grand final, their up and in defensive structure was a masterstroke from Bellamy, their forward pack ran for 300 more metres than the Bulldogs and their spine came up with points when they needed to.

Bulldogs game plan was built around short, low risk interchange of passing between the forwards. An up an in style defence forced them to play with some vision (which as expected none of the forwards had) so the onus fell on the halves to display the vision to take advantage of the massive space down the fringes however as was suspected through the season their halves just weren't good enough.

natheel

Also on past gfs one if the teams could miss the finals next year

09. Parra missed it the next year. Melbourne too but would have made it if not found out
10. Roosters missed out the next year
11. Warriors missed finals this year

Obviously the old sayin you have to lose one to win one is slowly being proven wrong

Losing may hurt the dogs

natheel

Look at dogs in 09 got 1 win away from the gf and the very next year missed the play offs. Yes des is a good coach but anything can happen. Other teams will have the dogs measure next year and will be out to beat them. I'm thinking they will struggle early on but pick up in the back end and probably finish in 5th or 6th.

Melbourne will probably come 3rd

2 clubs I think who will give the comp a shake will be cowboys and sharks. Both teams played well this year and made the finals. Cowboys have largely the same side while sharks have an even stronger pack and some experience in the backs going there next year.

Also I would never right off manly. Granted they got flogged in the prelim but by a very very good Melbourne side who clearly had the trophy set in their eyes. No team would have stopped Melbourne that day. Yes manly had a shocker but I don't think it warrants toovey to be over rated. He is still unproven but had a solid debut year. We will see how he goes next year

The Eagle

09. Parra missed it the next year. Melbourne too but would have made it if not found out

Obviously the old sayin you have to lose one to win one is slowly being proven wrong

Losing may hurt the dogs

One can only hope, you'd think Des would be fired for missing the finals, he has no halves and no halves of consequence are off contract

RWB

Losing may hurt the dogs

None of these clubs finished in the top 4 in their respective years, winning the minor premiership is a strong sign they'll be more than competitive again in 2013 imo.

Since '98 the Roosters in 2004-2005 are the only minor premiers who failed to make the 8 the following year. This coincided with Fittler's retirement which is obviously nothing the Dogs will experience.

You're clutching at straws I think... situations are nothing alike.

DoggiesBro

The way I see the gf was Melbourne just did enough to win. I reckon they could have blown it out to another few tries. Their defence was great especially Nielsen outwide shutting down barba and Morris a few times.

I think by the 50th minute Melbourne knew they had it and just cruised. They were confident enough in their defence to not have to chance their arm in attack so if they didn't score points they knew they could hold dogs out

How do you figure it was won by the 50th minute when morris neally scored to make it 14-10. shocking comment. Make that two shocking comments completely exposed.

DoggiesBro

None of these clubs finished in the top 4 in their respective years, winning the minor premiership is a strong sign they'll be more than competitive again in 2013 imo.

Since '98 the Roosters in 2004-2005 are the only minor premiers who failed to make the 8 the following year. This coincided with Fittler's retirement which is obviously nothing the Dogs will experience.

You're clutching at straws I think... situations are nothing alike.

Great comment, completely show the little knowledge inside made by that person. Further more our roster has only improved and our coach is nothing like the eels or roosters or warriors coach. Far superior.

natheel

Mate it doesn't matter about the situation. I'm just saying anything can happen in the game.

Not clutching at straws at all stranger things have happened.

natheel

Doggies bro this is just my comments Melbourne did enough to win including saving that try. They could have blown it out IMO they were just too good

Seems if someone rates against the dogs you can't take in criticism. Need to learn to take it. It comes with the game.

natheel

How do you figure it was won by the 50th minute when morris neally scored to make it 14-10. shocking comment. Make that two shocking comments completely exposed.

Exposed how? Melbourne had it won at that point because Morris didn't score and the score line was the same at that point as it was at full time.

Plus my other comment is my opinion just saying anything can happen. Notably a lot of teams who lose the gf either fall a few rungs in the top 8 or misses the finals altogether the next year minor premiers or not. Only ones who havnt are Melbourne those few years along with manly.

Yes des is a good coach but he needs a halfback that can win games.

He has the team other than the halfback

I honestly don't know how you could dispute that comment

natheel

What halves will they use? Lol they have a shitload of terrible ones

Bought not bred

Their best is hodkinson (not saying much) Reynolds still has to get through second year syndrome. Keating did well under des but really he had a good forward pack making it easier for him and barba. They have a similar make up to the eels of 09. Only difference is eels clicked much later.

Both good mobile packs who can throw it round. 2 halves that aren't great but did their job and a champion fullback who played out of his skin.

DoggiesBro

Exposed how? Melbourne had it won at that point because Morris didn't score and the score line was the same at that point as it was at full time.

Plus my other comment is my opinion just saying anything can happen. Notably a lot of teams who lose the gf either fall a few rungs in the top 8 or misses the finals altogether the next year minor premiers or not. Only ones who havnt are Melbourne those few years along with manly.

Yes des is a good coach but he needs a halfback that can win games.

He has the team other than the halfback

I honestly don't know how you could dispute that comment

because its a bunch of nonsense dribble, like the other bloke pointed out.

your clutching at straws.

don't compare the dogs and eels. they are nothing alike in anyway shape or form outside of both having good number 1s. our pack is far superior, we have a much better coach and a far superior backline then the eels had.

again straw clutching.

you can claim your opinion it could of been blown out, though it wasn't and it couldn't of been, thats like saying my opinion is the dogs could of blown it out, its rubbish. the storm didn't stop the try, the bounce stoped that try. twice. anyhow clutch away.

DoggiesBro

our best half is reynolds, he might have to go through the third year of his career (not second) and back it up. though he is still the best half much like adam reynolds is the rabbitohs.

hodkinson has had about 5 good games for us at the end of 2011. what football do you watch seriously?

clutch away again.

DoggiesBro

What halves will they use? Lol they have a shitload of terrible ones

Bought not bred

most likely the same two that were used to clean the floor with your mob. TWICE, although to be honest we only had one of them in the first game as keating went off injured after about 15 mins with kasiano and halatau from memory. though we still only needed joshie reynolds and 13 other blokes that day to beat ur useless mob. HAHAHA