Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nathan Tinkler relinquishes ownership of the Newcastle Knights

Rod

I don't understand your motive for wanting to separate the Knights management/board from Tinkler/HSG when it comes to apportioning blame because for all intents and purposes together they made up the Knights, but in any event it appears you think you're speaking from a place of fact when you say Gidley and Harragon ran the club into the ground debt-wise. Any proof of this beyond speculation?

I'm not saying this because I believe the opposite, I just genuinely don't know the inner workings of the club. Not to mention the current negotiations surrounding the financial state and ownership of the club are currently all confidential. Maybe we'll see in the coming days, but as it currently stands I find it hard to believe, as I said, someone would invest potentially $100m in something and then effectively walk away, not knowing or caring whether said investment is financially viable or not.

Patorick

If your club was being run by HSG, what were Gidley and Harrigan and the rest of your board doing during the last 3 years?

Tinkler/HSG financed your club in so much as they paid the coach, star players, previous debt etc. By the day to day running of the club was left in the hands of Gidley and Co who made the decisions that lead to the current debt.

You can't blame Tinkler for that.

Chook.
A little bit, but not much:

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...boss-matt-gidley/story-e6frexnr-1226082400168

Backstage pass gets a seat alongside Newcastle Knights boss Matt Gidley

Nick Walshaw
The Daily Telegraph
June 27, 2011 12:00AM

400477-backstage-pass-with-matt-gidley.jpg

Best seat in the house: Matt Gidley, the new Knights boss, played host to Nick Walshaw for his Backstage Pass column. The pair watched the Knights beat the Roosters at Ausgrid Stadium in round 16 of the NRL. Picture: Gregg Porteous Source: The Daily Telegraph

MATT Gidley isn't quite sure what to make of the cushion on his grandstand seat.

"Cushions, catering, dessert," the retired Knight laughs. "Our supporters come to games now and get three-course meals ... I never knew any of this existed."

Sitting front row in the plushest suite of a new $70 million grandstand - the kinda place where beers are poured into glass and every one of those dark-blue cushions boasts a hand-stitched Knights emblem - Gidley is watching his first game since being confirmed as new club CEO.

While not officially entering office until the Nathan Tinkler takeover is complete, the suited Knights favourite is already so busy that today, despite having arrived an hour before the gates even opened, he only finds this column, and his seat, exactly 90 seconds before kick-off.

Apparently some bloke called Barry O'Farrell needed escorting to a private box.

It's a remarkable rise for this Kangaroo great who was still playing footy 12 months ago.

A Knights Old Boy whose only link to Tinkler, until a few weeks ago, was that his old man Geoff drives coal trains filled with that same black stuff making his fortune.

Yet it's also why Gidley is here.

Tinkler, see, wants to bring Newcastle back to the Knights.

It's why beers are cheaper. Why a family of four can now get in for 20 bucks. And why one of the greatest to ever wear the red and blue is soon to be in charge.

OK, so he doesn't have the business acumen of some fellow CEOs. Yet how many club heads can not only enter the sheds at half-time, but whisper words into the ear of a rookie like pivot Ryan Stig and know they've made a difference?

Gidley, see, knows footy like the rest of us know our kids.

Yet away from the turf he's also intelligent, articulate and respected. Boasts a business masters and rap sheet cleaner than Napisan commercials.

Perfect for the Knights this afternoon, too.

Right now with the coach knowing he's shafted.

With more than a handful of players knowing they're unwanted.

Even playmaker Beau Henry, the kid this club moved mountains to sign, has already been released to the Gold Coast.

Yep, if ever a team has reason to turn up their toes, it's today against the Roosters.

But they don't.

And it's because, no matter how many game plans you put into the head of a young footballer; no matter how many sandhills you make him climb in January heat; there is nothing that motivates more than respect.

Respect for your coach. Respect for your mate. And respect for a CEO who not only spent years watching games behind the sticks on that southern hill, but who recently pushed hard to have kids allowed back on to the field after full-time.

Gidley wants this club to be one where individuals matter.

For proof, consider his response midway through the second half when we ask what business tips he still carries from those early days running a butcher's shop. "Fill it with good people," he says. "You'd be surprised how much that takes care of."

Follow Nick Walshaw on Twitter @nickwalshaw

Chook

I don't understand your motive for wanting to separate the Knights management/board from Tinkler/HSG when it comes to apportioning blame because for all intents and purposes together they made up the Knights, but in any event it appears you think you're speaking from a place of fact when you say Gidley and Harragon ran the club into the ground debt-wise. Any proof of this beyond speculation?

I'm not saying this because I believe the opposite, I just genuinely don't know the inner workings of the club. Not to mention the current negotiations surrounding the financial state and ownership of the club are currently all confidential. Maybe we'll see in the coming days, but as it currently stands I find it hard to believe, as I said, someone would invest potentially $100m in something and then effectively walk away, not knowing or caring whether said investment is financially viable or not.

Mate that is Tinkler's modus operandi. Not by choice of course, but by the fact he thinks he knows what he's doing when he doesn't.

Look at his horse farm, he sunk millions into it thinking breeding and racing is childs play and now he's had to sell it. He owned private jets and helicopters, mines, soccer teams, football clubs all of which drained the Boganaire faster than his wife did when she up and bolted. All because he thought he was smarter than he was.

But my main point was if Tinkler gives up control of your club because it's been run into the ground, he'll be handing it back to the very same people whose decisions accelerated the running, ie Gidley, Harrigan etc.

I don't want to see any club fail (with the exception of lol @ souffs), but if you guys keep electing dud people into decision making positions, your club will fail.

Chook.

betcats

Jobs for the boys has done so much damage to footy clubs over the years. I cringe when former players are given important positions at their former club.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...ewcastle-knights/story-fni3gf5j-1226928928667
Nathan Tinkler relinquishes ownership of the Newcastle Knights

Barry Toohey
The Daily Telegraph
May 23, 2014 3:23PM

CONTROVERSIAL mining magnate Nathan Tinkler has officially relinquished ownership of the Newcastle Knights this afternoon.

After more than two months of negotiations, Tinkler announced the move in a statement obtained by The Daily Telegraph.

The statement says:

Tinkler Group Chairman Nathan Tinkler has confirmed the Hunter Sports Group will have no further role in the Newcastle Knights and has called for immediate action to ensure a speedy transition to a new ownership model.

“This negotiation has dragged on for over 10 weeks and it is clear the Members Club has stalled the process,” Mr Tinkler said.

“After injecting over $20 million of my own money it is time to stand aside, and hopefully the Knights will prosper and not revert to the old management style and formula that almost sent the club into liquidation 3 years ago.

“Since HSG took over the Knights, we have lifted the annual spend of football operations to be over $3 million above the average NRL club.

“Commercial reality will mean staffing numbers will now need to be reviewed, grants cut to the junior League programmes and the local Newcastle competition.

“I have done my bit for the town by investing more than $20 million and saving the Knights from liquidation and now it is time for someone else to step up to the plate,” he added.

Mr Tinkler emphasised the reports in the media of a Club debt of $20 million have been exaggerated and mischievously reported.

“Any figure like this could only include money I have put onto the Club. The debts of the Club are substantially less than the $10.5 million, which is currently sitting in a bank account and not earning interest,” he said.

It is also the belief of HSG, the NRL and independent legal opinion, the original agreement does not provide for the Members Club to purchase the Knights back for $1 and receive the bank guarantee, despite being continually leaked to the media by interested parties.

“If this is the case, why hasn’t the Members Club stepped in, instead of resorting to the protracted negotiations,” Mr Tinkler said.

“We are determined to do everything to make it a smooth transition, but we require all accounts to be settled before leaving the Club — then it will be up to others to take the Club forward.

“Once all liabilities are paid there will be adequate cash flow available to support the new owners,” he added.

Mr Tinkler remains positive about the future for the Knights.

“Through our investment in junior development, our 20s are on top of the table, the Harold Matthews team won the National Title and SG Ball made it to the finals,” he said.

“Over the past 3 years we have also provided every opportunity for the Knights NRL team and coaching staff and I’m sure this will pay-off down the line.

“On a personal level, the most inspirational moment of the past three years was last week when I visited Alex McKinnon in hospital and saw what the true Newcastle spirit was all about.

“I want a successful Knights Club, which generates pride for the whole Hunter, but I cannot understand why the local press simply want to criticise the Club, its players and attempt to bring down everything that is great about Newcastle and the Knights.

“If people don’t put self interest in front of what is best for the Knights, the future is extremely bright.

“The Club is in a far better position than it was when HSG took over, with the Club then drowning in $7 million of debt, inadequate administration facilities and no formal training facility,” Mr Tinkler concluded.

The Hunter Sports Group wish to emphasise its hope is that negotiations can conclude quickly and the NRL will support the Knights, if needed, during this transitional period.

The Club and Mr Tinkler will make no further comment.

so if bennett is employed by tinkler, and not the nights, does this mean rick stone is back in charge?

eozsmiles

Probably the most interesting bit of the article, if true. The rest is just Tinks sooking.

"It is also the belief of HSG, the NRL and independent legal opinion, the original agreement does not provide for the Members Club to purchase the Knights back for $1 and receive the bank guarantee, despite being continually leaked to the media by interested parties."

eozsmiles

If that bit about the $1 clause being invalid is true, I wonder what the deal was?

You can have your club back if you take the debt?

Rosetta

Probably the most interesting bit of the article, if true. The rest is just Tinks sooking.

"It is also the belief of HSG, the NRL and independent legal opinion, the original agreement does not provide for the Members Club to purchase the Knights back for $1 and receive the bank guarantee, despite being continually leaked to the media by interested parties."

So basically HSG hasn't relinquished the club at all, they are looking for a buyer/sold the license back to the NRL for an undisclosed amount.

This is how the ABC are currently reporting it -

Nathan Tinkler relinquishes control of Newcastle Knights

Updated 9 minutes ago

Photo: Nathan Tinkler has relinquished control of the Newcastle Knights. (AAP: Dan Himbrechts)

Mining magnate Nathan Tinkler has officially relinquished ownership of the Newcastle Knights.
Tinkler confirmed in a statement the Hunter Sports Group (HSG) would have no further role in the Knights and called for "immediate action to ensure a speedy transition to a new ownership model".
The Knights Members Club earlier this week issued HSG with a deadline to hand back control of the club by the end of the week.
More to follow.

and just to give it a more official flavour, here is the statement on the Newcastle Knights website -

Update for Members and supporters from HSG

Fri 23rd May, 03:40PM
A A http://www.newcastleknights.com.au/news/_jcr_content/par/newslist_95ce.rss

1400815096483.jpg

Tinkler Group Chairman Nathan Tinkler has confirmed the Hunter Sports Group will have no further role in the Newcastle Knights and has called for immediate action to ensure a speedy transition to a new ownership model.
"This negotiation has dragged on for over 10 weeks and it is clear the Members Club has stalled the process,” Mr Tinkler said.
“After injecting over $20 million of my own money it is time to stand aside, and hopefully the Knights will prosper and not revert to the old management style and formula that almost sent the club into liquidation 3 years ago.
“Since HSG took over the Knights, we have lifted the annual spend of football operations to be over $3 million above the average NRL club.
“Commercial reality will mean staffing numbers will now need to be reviewed, grants cut to the junior League programmes and the local Newcastle competition.
"I have done my bit for the town by investing more than $20 million and saving the Knights from liquidation and now it is time for someone else to step up to the plate,” he added.

Mr Tinkler emphasised the reports in the media of a Club debt of $20 million have been exaggerated and mischievously reported.
"Any figure like this could only include money I have put onto the Club. The debts of the Club are substantially less than the $10.5 million, which is currently sitting in a bank account and not earning interest,” he said.
It is also the belief of HSG, the NRL and independent legal opinion, the original agreement does not provide for the Members Club to purchase the Knights back for $1 and receive the bank guarantee, despite being continually leaked to the media by interested parties.
“If this is the case, why hasn’t the Members Club stepped in, instead of resorting to the protracted negotiations,” Mr Tinkler said.
“We are determined to do everything to make it a smooth transition, but we require all accounts to be settled before leaving the Club - then it will be up to others to take the Club forward.
“Once all liabilities are paid there will be adequate cash flow available to support the new owners,” he added.
Mr Tinkler remains positive about the future for the Knights.
“Through our investment in junior development, our 20s are on top of the table, the Harold Matthews team won the National Title and SG Ball made it to the finals,” he said.
“Over the past 3 years we have also provided every opportunity for the Knights NRL team and coaching staff and I’m sure this will pay-off down the line.
“On a personal level, the most inspirational moment of the past three years was last week when I visited Alex McKinnon in hospital and saw what the true Newcastle spirit was all about.
“I want a successful Knights Club, which generates pride for the whole Hunter, but I can not understand why the local press simply want to criticise the Club, its players and attempt to bring down everything that is great about Newcastle and the Knights.
“If people don't put self interest in front of what is best for the Knights, the future is extremely bright.
“The Club is in a far better position than it was when HSG took over, with the Club then drowning in $7 million of debt, inadequate administration facilities and no formal training facility," Mr Tinkler concluded.
The Hunter Sports Group wish to emphasise its hope is that negotiations can conclude quickly and the NRL will support the Knights, if needed, during this transitional period.
The Club and Mr Tinkler will make no further comment.

Wizard Sleeve

Without reading the whole thing it would seem the big fellas heart was in the right place but he just had no idea what he was doing ?