Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nathan Tinkler relinquishes ownership of the Newcastle Knights

Rod

We might still have private investment, there was a consortium of Newcastle millionaires who offered to get involved in the club after the first Tinkler deal went belly up.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...del-for-newcastle-knights-20140523-zrmu0.html

NRL favour new external management model for Newcastle Knights

Date
May 23, 2014 - 9:00PM

Robert Dillon
Sports Writer, Newcastle Newspapers

Hopes that the Knights would be handed back to the community could be quashed by the NRL in favour of a new management model dominated by business people from outside Newcastle.

After the NRL's head of club services, Tony Crawford, and three associates visited Newcastle this week for another round of crisis talks, the game's governing body appears intent on having a dominant say in whatever entity replaces Nathan Tinkler's Hunter Sports Group, which announced on Friday its imminent withdrawal after running the Knights for the past three years.

It is understood the NRL favours a new seven-person board that may include five "independent" directors from Sydney or Melbourne to provide high-level business acumen.

The other two directors would be expected to include a representative from the Wests Group, which is likely to play a key role in bankrolling the Knights into the future, and another Newcastle business person.

If that model was adopted, it would appear that Knights members might have no avenue to elect representatives onto the board.

It would also appear unlikely that the Newcastle Rugby League, the body that oversees the junior and district competitions, and from which the Knights originated, would be represented.

Before the Tinkler takeover in 2011, Knights members elected a board at annual or biannual ballots, and a mandatory number of directors were included from the Newcastle Rugby League.

The NRL is understood to view such administration as old school and unacceptable as the game heads into a new era backed by a billion-dollar TV deal.

It is understood to have advised the members club to hold off on threats to launch the $1 buy-back litigation, an option that became available when HSG defaulted on a $10.52 million bank guarantee.

That would suggest the NRL wants total control of the transition, rather than the alternative scenario of allowing the members to reclaim their club on an interim basis and then hold a vote to endorse a new management structure.

On Friday, members club chairman Nick Dan said "talks are proceeding" with the NRL and nothing had been finalised.

"The NRL is helping us piece together an entity that we all expect will be a good community model," Dan said.

"They have taken into account Newcastle's interests and the fact that, for 20-odd years, it was a community club.

"They're aware of that."

In his parting statement, Tinkler said "hopefully the Knights will prosper and not revert to the old management style and formula that almost sent the club into liquidation three years ago".

Dan declined to discuss whether HSG was intent on accessing the $10.52 million currently in a joint-signatory bank account to help pay out liabilities.

Having held a four-hour meeting with members club directors on Thursday night, Crawford and his associates, as well as Knights chairman Paul Harragon and chief executive Matt Gidley, met for two hours on Friday with Wests Group CEO Phil Gardner.

Newcastle Herald

BunniesMan

So looking to the future how do the Knights use their big supporter base to be sustainable without private investment?

Put the city of Newcastle on a boat and take it to WA so it becomes a rich city instead of NSW's answer to Geelong. Not a lot of disposable income in a place like Newy.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/na...oray-into-league/story-e6freuy9-1226929251278

A rare first class article from DT. Every word I agree with. And I've been saying it for 2 years. You could just tell he was a grub.

They should build statues of Tew and Burraston.

I also hope Gidley and Harragon are not judged too harshly. They're harmless idiots who got in over their head. I think they're both fundamentally good blokes, unlike their boss.

Nup, just Tew.

I maintain Burraston is a shitstain in the history of the Knights...

Card Shark

Put the city of Newcastle on a boat and take it to WA so it becomes a rich city instead of NSW's answer to Geelong. Not a lot of disposable income in a place like Newy.

Geez you talk shit.

You were trying to defend yourself earlier about the knights moving / dying, now you wanna move a whole city

Newcastle is a rich city mate....when was the last time you were here?

BunniesMan

Geez you talk shit.

You were trying to defend yourself earlier about the knights moving / dying, now you wanna move a whole city

Newcastle is a rich city mate....when was the last time you were here?

Seriously? Are you drunk? I said to put the city of Newcastle on a boat and you're taking it literally?

Newcastle is a working class city that has been hit hard by recent economic times.

BunniesMan

A board of 7 with 5 being out of town "business types" appointed by the NRL, that's a ridiculous proposal and guarantees the NRL will control the board. No wonder the NRL don't want the Knights members to challenge for the bank deposit, the NRL have decided to hijack the club and run it through Rugby League Central.

It's pathetic. To go to all this trouble and to end up just stealing the club from the community anyway.

I see a day in the not too distant future where every club is controlled by mindless bureaucrats and businessmen who know nothing about the game and who are subordinate to NRL HQ. Sad times indeed.

Swarzey

I don't really care who's hands the club ends up in, I just don't want a repeat of the Tinkler saga. The structure of the club has always been a joke. Even more so when putting a bunch of old boys in the seats. If taking it out of the hands of the community and into the hands of people who can build something sustainable, then I'm all for it even if it's mindlessly controlled by people who don't know a thing about football, there will always be people to look after that side of things. It isn't a favorable direction but as long as you have the people to care for the actual sport, then it could do wonders for clubs. I'd be happy for Newcastle to be the crash test dummy for it, we've already been f**ked over and on our knees, what else can be thrown at us?

For clubs like Newcastle, we need people who will make the best business decisions, be able to negotiate with major sponsors to attract the big money. If someone is smart enough to strengthen the connection the club has not only to the town but also beyond that in the Hunter Valley, the club's best days could only be around the corner.

Of course, I could have read that all wrong and those two bits above could be completely irrelevant :lol:

SpaceMonkey

Lol you talk some crap mate, whats your up to date knowledge of Newcastle, a DVD of Bootmen? The steelworks closed decades ago, the whole Newcastle as a struggling industrial town thing is history now. The place is doing very well off the coal ports, and the University is now the single biggest employer. Sure Newcastle doesn't have the money that Sydney does, but for a town of under half a million it does alright.

Noname36

I don't really care who's hands the club ends up in, I just don't want a repeat of the Tinkler saga. The structure of the club has always been a joke. Even more so when putting a bunch of old boys in the seats. If taking it out of the hands of the community and into the hands of people who can build something sustainable, then I'm all for it even if it's mindlessly controlled by people who don't know a thing about football, there will always be people to look after that side of things. It isn't a favorable direction but as long as you have the people to care for the actual sport, then it could do wonders for clubs. I'd be happy for Newcastle to be the crash test dummy for it, we've already been f**ked over and on our knees, what else can be thrown at us?

For clubs like Newcastle, we need people who will make the best business decisions, be able to negotiate with major sponsors to attract the big money. If someone is smart enough to strengthen the connection the club has not only to the town but also beyond that in the Hunter Valley, the club's best days could only be around the corner.

Of course, I could have read that all wrong and those two bits above could be completely irrelevant :lol:

Agreed. The NRL can set it up however they like for all I care. Our various managements haven't been able to handle it for the past 27 years...time people were brought in that can. I'm sure the NRL will give us the best possible chance. They want/need us to be successful. They won't let the Knights die but they won't want to have to bail the club out financially in the future either.

macavity

Lol you talk some crap mate, whats your up to date knowledge of Newcastle, a DVD of Bootmen? The steelworks closed decades ago, the whole Newcastle as a struggling industrial town thing is history now. The place is doing very well off the coal ports, and the University is now the single biggest employer. Sure Newcastle doesn't have the money that Sydney does, but for a town of under half a million it does alright.

If we weren't subsidising Sydney we would be doing very well.

The town isn't Monaco but it isn't Adelaide either.

The biggest problem we have is the massive tax and royalty flow out of the place to Sydney.

On topic in theory the "business acumen" angle sounds fine, but we would hate to see people running the joint who don't give a shit about the club. They need to be top end of town, yes - but they also need to be Newcastle people. They still need to hurt with every loss, and ride the wins.

I for one support that members don't get a say. From what I have seen on a particular Facebook page, knights members are some of the most geniused idiots on earth that Would elect someone that try's hard but has no idea on how to run a business. Professionalism stems from the top and that's what the club had lacked for its entire history

Card Shark

Seriously? Are you drunk? I said to put the city of Newcastle on a boat and you're taking it literally?

Newcastle is a working class city that has been hit hard by recent economic times.

I didnt think you were literally gunna lift the city up mate, i don't think Xmen is real ;-)

I'm just saying your perceived idea of Newcastle is wrong.....drive down for a visit when the Bunnies play & open your eyes!

Noname36

On topic in theory the "business acumen" angle sounds fine, but we would hate to see people running the joint who don't give a shit about the club. They need to be top end of town, yes - but they also need to be Newcastle people. They still need to hurt with every loss, and ride the wins.

To be honest I think this is the opposite of what we need. Our insistence on being run by "Newcastle boys" through the past 27 years over outsiders who are far more competent is why we're constantly in the position we are now.

I'm all for administrators that would bleed for the club, but at the same time I'd actually like to have a successfully run football club for once in our existence.

We thought we'd found the perfect solution: a rich Newcastle owner that's a fan of the team, but even still then it turned out he actually had no idea how to run a football club.

Just get people in who know what they're f**king doing for once. Who cares where they are from.

BunniesMan

Newcastle won 2 premierships in their first 14 years of existence. I think the myth of how terrible Newcastle was managed pre-Tinkler has been exaggerated by people with an agenda.

Noname36

Newcastle won 2 premierships in their first 14 years of existence. I think the myth of how terrible Newcastle was managed pre-Tinkler has been exaggerated by people with an agenda.

Newcastle won two premierships because arguably the greatest and most influential player to ever lace up a boot played his whole career with them.

And damn right I have an agenda. I want my club to be run successfully for once.

No club with the community and fan support the Knights have should be so poor that the players train in shipping containers like they were in 2005. Good management my arse.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

A board of 7 with 5 being out of town "business types" appointed by the NRL, that's a ridiculous proposal and guarantees the NRL will control the board. No wonder the NRL don't want the Knights members to challenge for the bank deposit, the NRL have decided to hijack the club and run it through Rugby League Central.

Why is this a bad thing?!?!

The club would be run well for once.

Sure, they wouldnt be run by "locals", but whats the difference other than them being not shit....

(i think the 2 local members should be elected, just to give the appearance of caring what the members want)

It's pathetic. To go to all this trouble and to end up just stealing the club from the community anyway.

I see a day in the not too distant future where every club is controlled by mindless bureaucrats and businessmen who know nothing about the game and who are subordinate to NRL HQ. Sad times indeed.

Yes, f*ck those bureaucrats that know how to run an effective business. This is Rugby League!!! you need to have sat on the hill in the rain, eaten a meatpie and wiped your mouth with your sleeve to understand this game. You wouldnt want Tommy Raudonikis running a bank...

Oh wait. you wouldnt want Tommy Raudonikis running a football club either.....

eozsmiles

Pretty sure the biggest employer in Newcastle is the university, and the city was recently named the 3rd biggest "hipster" enclave in the world. Cessnock, arguably one of the most working class town in the Hunter, has been named the 7th best tourist destination in Australia on the back of the world class vineyards and concerts featuring international stars they have up there. Scone is a global epicentre for thoroughbred breeding. Apparently they neck more boutique/craft beer in the Hunter than anywhere else in Australia. Bloody beer snobs up there too. For a bunch of tradies, they are into some nice stuff.

That blue collar stuff is a bit overblown. Things like Forgacs definitely get the most attention though. But the idea that the average Novocastrian is a tradie who is only into footy, tooheys, and BBQ's is a bit of a generalisation.

eozsmiles

To be honest I think this is the opposite of what we need. Our insistence on being run by "Newcastle boys" through the past 27 years over outsiders who are far more competent is why we're constantly in the position we are now.

I'm all for administrators that would bleed for the club, but at the same time I'd actually like to have a successfully run football club for once in our existence.

We thought we'd found the perfect solution: a rich Newcastle owner that's a fan of the team, but even still then it turned out he actually had no idea how to run a football club.

Just get people in who know what they're f**king doing for once. Who cares where they are from.

Nailed it in the last sentence.

They can someone with no footy history who is still passionate for the job. The admin might not "bleed" for the club, but there are many well qualified people out there who will work their arse off to be successful and make their company/employer successful. That is how they got qualified and get promoted - by hard work and being successful. Good business people are like good footballers. The better they are, the more offers they get. Having bad form on their CV is no good so they try damn hard. Everyone has heard stories of workaholics. It's not because they love the product they sell, it's because they love success.

Even if they aren't dyed in the wool league fans, their desire to be a success, their business skills, and ability to put together a good front office is what the club needs. And those traits are what makes a club successful, regardless of the CEO's footy history.