Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Neil Henry

POPEYE

We need coaches to come along and say "Bellamy Ruck Ball (BRB) is ruining the game and driving fans away, heres how we beat BRB". Those sorts of coaches just aren't going to develop from within the current NRL coaching structures because they have all come to accept that BRB is the only way to play.

One of the things I hate most about Bellamy is the guy is the leading coach, he sets the tone for the other coaches and he is utterly useless with the media. He sets the culture amongst coaches that we are surly with media questions, we say the bare minimum, we stare at them as if they just asked about my 15 year old daughter, then we get the hell out of there.
You are a 24 carat wanker ol' mate . . . Bellamy makes the best use of the rules to win games, change/enforce the rules he will adapt, that's what the best coaches get paid to do. BRB is of your making not his, he plays NRLB

You do know that Bellamy's press conferences go far longer than any other, the media can't get enough of his answers and he gives them all the time they want . . . you need to get outdoors ol' mate

TheFrog

I'll say it again; they made the 8 from a piss easy draw 9/11 wins v Bottom 8 sides, hardly firing from all cylinders lol
That must be why they had to get the raw prawn in their finals match against, you guessed it, the Broncos.

T-Boon

Bellamy makes the best use of the rules to win games, change/enforce the rules he will adapt, that's what the best coaches get paid to do. BRB is of your making not his, he plays NRLB

He just manipulates the ruck well and understands better than other NRL coaches that that is everything in BRB.
If the NRL woke up and made the ruck a totally neutral part of the game (i.e. just a way to reintroduce the ball into play) then Bellamy would be lost.

POPEYE

He just manipulates the ruck well and understands better than other NRL coaches that that is everything in BRB.
If the NRL woke up and made the ruck a totally neutral part of the game (i.e. just a way to reintroduce the ball into play) then Bellamy would be lost.
Why would he be lost

No comment on Bellamy being a cooperative media favourite

. . . and how many press conferences do you watch

whall15

I'd be interested to get @beave's take on Henry. From the outside looking in, he strikes me as the type of coach who only has plans A, B & C covered. When it comes time to make a big call on a player, or a big call on the direction of his side, he seems hesitant to make those changes.

I remember hearing a story years ago from a commentator that was in a box next to Neil Henry once when he was at Canberra.(I think it might've been Warren Ryan back in the day).

Apparently he had a printout with all of his interchanges already planned out to the minute in front of him and he followed it all game to the minute.

rockcod

We need coaches to come along and say "Bellamy Ruck Ball (BRB) is ruining the game and driving fans away, heres how we beat BRB". Those sorts of coaches just aren't going to develop from within the current NRL coaching structures because they have all come to accept that BRB is the only way to play.

One of the things I hate most about Bellamy is the guy is the leading coach, he sets the tone for the other coaches and he is utterly useless with the media. He sets the culture amongst coaches that we are surly with media questions, we say the bare minimum, we stare at them as if they just asked about my 15 year old daughter, then we get the hell out of there.

Boony, your obsession with Bellamy is a bit disturbing, its making you crazy! Bellamy never shuts up in the presser, he and Smithy crap on for 10 min most of the time.

T-Boon

Why would he be lost

No comment on Bellamy being a cooperative media favourite

. . . and how many press conferences do you watch

I watch a lot of NFL and college football press conferences. Those guys make the press feel like family. For a code wondering how we can get bigger crowds and beat of VFL we could look to how the americans do it.

POPEYE

You know he is the worst State of Origin coach in living memory for a reason don't you?
He does not get enough time in camp with them to teach the BRB.
Yes I know he couldn't overcome his prodigies in the time allotted, name me someone who could

That doesn't matter mate, I owe you an apology, I shouldn't be calling you names

Saxon

I watch a lot of NFL and college football press conferences. Those guys make the press feel like family. For a code wondering how we can get bigger crowds and beat of VFL we could look to how the americans do it.
Or maybe we need a better class of media.
With Dunny Widdler and Slothfield leading the way, Kent and Ritchie not far behind, it's all about the drama and not about the people. Get some jurnos prepared to have conversations rather than ask innane questions and you will get a much more NFL style response.

Saxon

One of the things I hate most about Bennett is the guy is the leading coach, he sets the tone for the other coaches and he is utterly useless with the media. He sets the culture amongst coaches that we are surly with media questions, we say the bare minimum, we stare at them as if they just asked about my 15 year old daughter, then we get the hell out of there.
Corrected.

I'm a fan of the game and most clubs - there's few I hate - but as a Bulldogs fan, I feel it's a bit rich making such threads. Sure you're entitled to talk about other clubs, but you know, those in glass houses...
This such a stupid false equivalency. Because our team is dire we can't point out that others deserve scrutiny too?

If this was in the Dogs forum I'd agree with you - it's general NRL discussion and I reckon plenty of people would back Henry coming under closer scrutiny for his lack of success.