Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Melbourne Stadium

TheRam

Any decent nicknames for it??

Be interesting if the naming rights don't get sold before te storm kickoff there in 2010,wonder what the Storm club call it............the "cloud" perhaps???

I like the COFFIN...where opposition teams go to get buried.

But the CLOUD is pretty good too. Clouds and Storm are a perfect fit actually.

macavity

But the CLOUD is pretty good too. Clouds and Storm are a perfect fit actually.

the Esky.

or, given the Storm's big kiwi following in Melb, the "chilly bin"

TheRam

Maybe continue to use the Graveyard.

Now there's an inspired thought, only about two bizillion graveyard nicknames around, used by almost every ground in the country.

How about giving this new temple of footy something a little more standout-ish to start its promising new future?

TheRam

Sorry mate not really attacking you, I am just hoping that we can come up with something a little different for once.

I mean where is that good old Aussie wit when it comes to nicknames for our grounds. Surely we can do better then 'The Graveyard' this or 'The Cauldron' that?

Evenflow

Hence the name graveyard, teams get buried there. Not being smart but who cares how many grounds and in how many countries are called that? I personally only know of one in the world and that's the Mexican's ground. If they can build up an imposing record at their new ground as they did there i think the graveyard will still be more than apt.

The Tank

Sorry mate not really attacking you, I am just hoping that we can come up with something a little different for once.

I mean where is that good old Aussie wit when it comes to nicknames for our grounds. Surely we can do better then 'The Graveyard' this or 'The Cauldron' that?

haha nah it's all good mate.

TheRam

Nickname and Melbourne Storm

Welcome to the THUNDERDOME
the bubble exterior/roof is like Storm Clouds.

Two more great suggestions.

"Storm Cloud Stadium", although I can't see the other codes liking that to much.

Also "The Thunderdome" is also a worthy monika.

Digga Hole

Nickname and Melbourne Storm

Welcome to the THUNDERDOME
the bubble exterior/roof is like Storm Clouds.

Calder Park Raceway in Melbourne has been known as the Thunderdome, so thats going to be a bit confusing.

Swan Street is fine by me, why the need for some overblown nickname?

The Tank

Oh, I thought you guys were talking about a nickname from Storm fans, not the actual name of the stadium. In that case, Swan St is good enough. Victory Park is a cool name, though I can't see Storm fans being too happy with that name.

mini20091207inverlochbut.jpg

mini20091207inverlochbun.jpg

They've laid what looks like the drainage system under the turf and are about to install the LED lights and cap the joints between the panels

1 Eyed TEZZA

Why not call it the "tea cup" just so we can hear people say "cant wait for Souths to play the Storm in the Tea Cup" haha get it get it?!!