Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV deal discussion 2028 -

Canard

So f%$#king what ?
That's my point, boasting about how much growth our game has and including PNG is not exactly going to get anyone to bothered.

Perth is the big one. First real expansion the game has made in 30 years, to a large capital city. It's genuine growth.

Let's hope the noose that is PNG doesn't f**k over our game to much.

Cactus

That's my point, boasting about how much growth our game has and including PNG is not exactly going to get anyone to bothered.

Perth is the big one. First real expansion the game has made in 30 years, to a large capital city. It's genuine growth.

Let's hope the noose that is PNG doesn't f**k over our game to much.
There was no boasting about PNG.

This is what he wrote:
Not claiming we've overtaken them. Just saying there are many signs that they've peaked

- only options left for expansion are Tasmania, ACT and NT, probably the three least lucrative markets or NQ which would be a huge struggle for them

- thrown the kitchen sink at NSW and QLD for 40 years and ratings are still pathetic

- they used to lead the way in Australian sport and now they are completely reactionary to the NRL and their reactions are pale imitations of NRL events (Gather Round, Indigenous All Stars, talk about reviving Origin out of envy, Round Zero in response to Vegas)

The NRL on the other hand

- broadcast deal being negotiated at the moment which Vlandys is talking up as the richest in Australian sports history (we'll wait to see if this actually happens, but he's really setting himself up for the gallows if he is talking $3B and isn't confident he'll deliver)

- Vegas, Origin and Magic Round produce incredible hype and interest in the game

- We are killing the AFL in ratings without Perth or Adelaide in the comp, imagine when we start to get any sort of traction in those markets

- Expansion: Perth and PNG on the way with Ipswich, Christchurch, Adelaide, Wellington all as viable and reasonably lucrative options comparitively to AFL's options

All examples of how the NRL has the upper hand at the moment and how the tide is turning, none of that is "fan fiction". Hopefully Vlandys does land the $3B because the rivalry between the two codes gets very real from there.
PNG is barely mentioned. Paragraph after paragraph is about the undeniable positives of the NRL yet you literally found 3 letters to lodge a negative response too. Somehow you find a way to knock even the passing mention of PNG & run some negative comparison to the possible opinions of fans of others codes.

Wake up to yourself.

Canard

There was no boasting about PNG.

This is what he wrote:

PNG is barely mentioned. Paragraph after paragraph is about the undeniable positives of the NRL yet you literally found 3 letters to lodge a negative response too. Somehow you find a way to knock even the passing mention of PNG & run some negative comparison to the possible opinions of fans of others codes.

Wake up to yourself.
We can't sugar coat what an impost PNG is going to have on our game.

This could be the worst decision in RL history.

Canard

There is no "we" & there is no "impost"

Its just you going out of your way to be a f@#$wit
triggered GIF

insert.pause

What Stokes really said​

Seven West Media chairman Kerry Stokes. Picture: Supplied

Now, let’s get this straight once and for all: Seven West Media chairman Kerry Stokes has absolutely nothing against the National Rugby League competition expanding its national footprint.
He just reckons the NRL just shouldn’t bother trying to expand its national footprint on the continent’s west coast.
For those who missed it, the billionaire media magnate met with the NRL’s boss Peter V’landys and the Australian Rugby League Commission during their flying visit to the west coast capital to launch the comp’s latest expansion outfit, the Perth Bears, this month.
But what hasn’t been revealed is what was said over dinner … until now.
Diary is reliably informed that Mr Stokes was complimentary towards the NRL throughout the convivial repast … before politely – yet matter-of-factly – informing Mr V’landys that Perth is an Aussie Rules town, and it’s going to stay an Aussie Rules town.
Now, naturally, Mr Stokes has a vested interest in that position, given that Seven retains the $1.5bn broadcast rights to the AFL … and that sort of comment could be seen as an inflammatory warning shot from a protective media proprietor.
But we’re assured it was not.
It was purely his pragmatic evaluation.
It’s hard to fault Mr Stokes’s logic, given that the expansion appears to be largely driven more by the NRL’s desire to sell the television rights to a game in yet another timezone – and timeslot – and less by any thought of whether the club would actually appeal to local sports fans.
And despite all the hype and fervid speculation that the move might tempt Seven to make a wild play to win the NRL rights – and bump up the price – we hear the network isn’t all too fussed.
Several well-placed senior Seven executives told Diary the channel might look at buying a State of Origin or one-off match somewhere but that the network simply can’t afford to have a stab at any more than that – and quite frankly, it didn’t want to.
Indeed, Seven spent much of the off-season poaching just about all of Nine’s top AFL talent, from its Footy Classified show’s star presenters Kane Cornes, Caroline Wilson and Craig Hutchison to Eddie McGuire’s Melbourne-based sports reporter son Xander McGuire.
It seems Seven is an Aussie Rules channel and, as Mr Stokes might say, it’s going to stay an Aussie Rules channel.

nko11

If I was the NRL I would seriously be considering getting FTA on Saturday nights, nationwide written into the contract. And then schedule the Storm every Saturday night. Or atleast until round 20, when Thursday nights open up. Repeat what they've been doing for Thursday nights the past few seasons with the Storm and open it up for the whole season. I think those Thursday night late season games are having a far bigger impact than what people realise. Round 26 last year got 68k viewers in Melbourne and round 24 got 75k. Despite having FTA for much longer in Sydney, they usually only get ~50k for the Swans and the all Sydney game this year, only got 58k.
1748240989763.png

Mind you these late season Thursday night games aren't competing against any AFL, but I still feel like theres a FTA component that you could target. Extra points if you get it on Channel 7 FTA nationwide.

Note: the reason why I say this, is the AFL's new media deal has taken Saturday nights off FTA. Which leaves a nice gap for FTA Saturday Night broadcasts.

melbbunny

If I was the NRL I would seriously be considering getting FTA on Saturday nights, nationwide written into the contract. And then schedule the Storm every Saturday night. Or atleast until round 20, when Thursday nights open up. Repeat what they've been doing for Thursday nights the past few seasons with the Storm and open it up for the whole season. I think those Thursday night late season games are having a far bigger impact than what people realise. Round 26 last year got 68k viewers in Melbourne and round 24 got 75k. Despite having FTA for much longer in Sydney, they usually only get ~50k for the Swans and the all Sydney game this year, only got 58k.
View attachment 102517

Mind you these late season Thursday night games aren't competing against any AFL, but I still feel like theres a FTA component that you could target. Extra points if you get it on Channel 7 FTA nationwide.
An alternative way would be to show either the Bear or the storm every Saturday night. Have PayTV simulcast the match with FTA provider. Then those markets don't get the Sunday FTA game.

Cactus

Media moguls are a funny & predictably selfish lot.

The article describes Stokes opinion as being a pragmatic one but if the AFL ratings happened to nosedive for whatever reason he would all of a sudden change tune and describe the west coast as needing the "breath of fresh air" NRL product and all of newspapers would commence reporting accordingly. The about face would be instananeous.

Vlad59

Media moguls are a funny & predictably selfish lot.

The article describes Stokes opinion as being a pragmatic one but if the AFL ratings happened to nosedive for whatever reason he would all of a sudden change tune and describe the west coast as needing the "breath of fresh air" NRL product and all of newspapers would commence reporting accordingly. The about face would be instananeous.
For an executive of a media company to peddle such crap is petty amusing

Billythekid

View attachment 102517

Note: the reason why I say this, is the AFL's new media deal has taken Saturday nights off FTA. Which leaves a nice gap for FTA Saturday Night broadcasts.
I agree but don’t think it’s likely for the same reason the AFL gave up Saturdays. The big money is in exclusive content for paytv providers and super Saturday is likely worth the big bucks. I’d say we’re far more likely to see something like a Monday night game on fox than we are to see FTA on Saturday.

Though I will say I genuinely don’t think a Saturday FTS game would impact super Saturday all that much tbh but I’m not sure fox would agree with that or be keen to test it.

I agree but don’t think it’s likely for the same reason the AFL gave up Saturdays. The big money is in exclusive content for paytv providers and super Saturday is likely worth the big bucks. I’d say we’re far more likely to see something like a Monday night game on fox than we are to see FTA on Saturday.

Though I will say I genuinely don’t think a Saturday FTS game would impact super Saturday all that much tbh but I’m not sure fox would agree with that or be keen to test it.
I reckon most people get PTV so A) they can watch their team every weekend and B) so they can watch as many games as they like when they like. I dont think having Sat night on FTA really changes that at all. They have a mentality that exclusive Saturday nights drives subscriptions but not at all convinced by that argument.

Canard

View attachment 102517

I'm all for it, so what if we got a bit less from TV. Ultimately it would pay off.

I think the AFL have now adopted the NRL strategy of a Thu game every week now, so this would be a good point of difference, particularly in expansion states.

nko11

I'm all for it, so what if we got a bit less from TV. Ultimately it would pay off.
I'd at least take offers for both and compare. I reckon it'd be worth taking $30 million less per year for the longterm growth it would provide. At the very least it would keep Fox honest with paying for exclusive Saturday rights. And show its not a given.

Canard

I'd at least take offers for both and compare. I reckon it'd be worth taking $30 million less per year for the longterm growth it would provide. At the very least it would keep Fox honest with paying for exclusive Saturday rights. And show its not a given.
Doesn't 9 own the rights to Saturday night now? And just onsold it to Fox?

That's what we want to avoid.

FTA Saturday would be a great growth strategy even if just on Vic and WA.

BuffaloRules

After years (decades) of Pay TV exclusivity for the NRL games on Sat nights … there is a close to zero chance they would walk that back now for a lot less money .,,

I wouldn’t mind seeing them trying to get all the Perth Bears games shown on FTA in Perth like the fumblers do for the Sydney teams, but decisions like that never seem to enter the NRL thought process …