Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV rights deal part 2

Are you happy with the new TV deal?

Nerd

Six months ago we would all be jumping up and down about the prospect of a deal getting close to or exceeding the much vaunted $2bn figure. I think because it became such a big saga it set us up to be disappointed by some unrealistic expectations of securing a pound of flesh from Newscorp.

Despite everything we will end up basically only a ninth game short of the AFL deal, with now the same dedicated coverage on foxtel. The 6pm Friday game is a questionable decision but overall the deal holds up well. Had the NRL disclosed the value of the 'option' should the game expand and I don't think people would be feeling so short changed in comparison to the AFL deal.
I agree. Back in October we had that goose Colin Smith saying the NRL would be lucky to get $1.4 -$1.6 billion.

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport...rding-to-experts/story-fnp0lyn6-1227577576082

DiegoNT

So many on here are so negative, while some parts of the deal are disappointing there are a few upsides.
-Nrl will now earn between $380m-$400m a seasom, compared to afl's $418m a season. It's streets ahead of crickets $118m per season, and makes the v8supercars, ffa and aru deals (all roughly $40m per season) look pathetic.
- we now have 3 live games a week on FTA. while it's disappointing that we don't get the 4 promised live fta games, it's still an increase on the 2 live, 1 delayed game we had this year ( and the 1 live and 2 delayed we had pre 2015). DELAYED GAMES ARE DEAD!
- all 8 games live on fox is huge, especially for those outside nsw and Queensland who are used to having to wait after midnight for the friday games.
- we are getting a 24 hour rugby league channel. This is actually huge. The only other sport in australia that has this is the afl
- the friday arvo game is disappointing, but it's a direct replacement for equally unpopular MNF. At least the friday arvo game is better suited to kids and families, plus it might work out well for NZ warriors.
- A big disappointment is no expansion for now, but at the same a time expansion can be difficult, other sporting leagues in australia are struggling with their expansion. AFL may seemingly have a bigger footprint in australia, but when you break it down the afl is only popular in 3 cities (Melbourne, perth, adelaide) with a presence in 3 others (sydney, Brisbane, gols coast). Nrl is popular in Sydney, Brisbane, newcastle, Townsville/NQLD, Auckland, and has presence in places like Melbourne, Canberra, wollongong and the gold coast.

So while their are some disappointments, there is still some upsides to the current deal

taipan

Hahaha the circle is crumbling.

There's still a few hardcore handshandyists clinging to their love of the suits, but the incomepetance, lying and spin is catching up with them and people are waking up.

But but but gallop...

What are you smoking?.The general consensus here,that regardless , the last two TV deals under the IC , make Gallop's bending over deals look like half polished turds ,with Bec and Buzz doing the polishing.
Let's get Politis to do the deals,and his mob get unlimited handouts.:roll:

The current deal has good and bad.It happens in the overwhelming number of business negotiations.Give and take.

If clubs are financially secured,the grassroots gets the money they desperately need,and the International game gets more money,I can handle the ordinary 6pm starter.But guess what, whingers will continue to whinge.If the code is still in chaos,I will join the hate crew .

f**king LOL.

The NRL have already told international footy to f**k off to the off season where no one sees it and they've told the CRL to f**k off and die quietly. You talk about the clubs being financially secured but bitch about club bosses demanding exactly that. Usual bullshit and hypocrisy from the circle.

TheRam

So we get $1.745B and all the shit surrounding it and some people are happy?

Sure we will probably get another 100-150m more but how shit is that when we are the number one overall sport in the country. Just like I and a few others predicted all along.

The ARLC is a JOKE! We will never, I repeat, never surpass the AFL, just like Cronulla will never, ever win a premiership.

Oh and fancy not bringing in Perth and second Brisbane teams, to quash any NEWS Corp crap about apples and oranges, during negotiations.

Totally piss weak admin that will never, ever get it right. Like waiting for Harald Holt.

I've given up, I mean why not, the ARLC, aren't even trying.

DiegoNT

f**king LOL.

The NRL have already told international footy to f**k off to the off season where no one sees it and they've told the CRL to f**k off and die quietly. You talk about the clubs being financially secured but bitch about club bosses demanding exactly that. Usual bullshit and hypocrisy from the circle.

When has international football never been in the off season?
Kangaroos tours, world cups, 4 nations ( or similar tournaments) have always been played in the off season. Great Britain used to tour mid year but that was because it was the off season for the English league. Now that both comps run parallel it's no longer possible. The kiwi test series was also mid year the last time that happened was 1995, but now that their's a kiwi team in the comp, and all elite kiwi players play in the nrl its no longer feasible to have it mid year.
So the only change is to the anzac fixture. A fixture that has always been iffy. When we played the one off test after origin, the kiwis complained that the aussies were battle hardened after an origin series. Have it before origin and people say we devalue it by playing it before origin. There is also criticism that it doesn't actually fall on anzac day, that it increases player burnout, that it disrupts the nrl and that until this year it has always a lopsided game. So your big gripe with the treatment of the international game comes down to the moving of 1 fixture (a one off game with no consequence) to the end of the year

When has international football never been in the off season?
Kangaroos tours, world cups, 4 nations ( or similar tournaments) have always been played in the off season. Great Britain used to tour mid year but that was because it was the off season for the English league. Now that both comps run parallel it's no longer possible. The kiwi test series was also mid year the last time that happened was 1995, but now that their's a kiwi team in the comp, and all elite kiwi players play in the nrl its no longer feasible to have it mid year.
So the only change is to the anzac fixture. A fixture that has always been iffy. When we played the one off test after origin, the kiwis complained that the aussies were battle hardened after an origin series. Have it before origin and people say we devalue it by playing it before origin. There is also criticism that it doesn't actually fall on anzac day, that it increases player burnout, that it disrupts the nrl and that until this year it has always a lopsided game. So your big gripe with the treatment of the international game comes down to the moving of 1 fixture (a one off game with no consequence) to the end of the year

You dumb merkin. When have the Kangaroos gone through a rugby league season without playing a single game? The answer is f**king NEVER. That is until these f**kwits came along. For 100 years weve had international football during the season on home soil. Now we'll have NONE.

These incompetant geniuss have single handedly ensured about 400,000 less people are exposed to international football in australia every year and the kangaroos brand. Thats the difference in ratings between in seaon and out of season tests. What a f**king disgrace. And whats the excuse? It disrupts our precious club comp. Oh but theyll massively undermine it with origin. But thats ok.

These merkins have showed their true colours. They do not support international rugby league in any way. They are the worst administrators international rugby league has ever seen. And we have so called fans who support them. f**k me dead.

DiegoNT

You dumb merkin. When have the Kangaroos gone through a rugby league season without playing a single game? The answer is f**king NEVER. That is until these f**kwits came along. For 100 years weve had international football during the season on home soil. Now we'll have NONE.

These incompetant geniuss have single handedly ensured about 400,000 less people are exposed to international football in australia every year and the kangaroos brand. Thats the difference in ratings between in seaon and out of season tests. What a f**king disgrace. And whats the excuse? It disrupts our precious club comp. Oh but theyll massively undermine it with origin. But thats ok.

These merkins have showed their true colours. They do not support international rugby league in any way. They are the worst administrators international rugby league has ever seen. And we have so called fans who support them. f**k me dead.

So they've completely messed up the international game by removing a one-off test game and focusing more on end of season tournaments and tours?

taipan

f**king LOL.

Already is prior to the TV deal just announced.Yesterday's fish and chips wrappers.
" They've told the CRL to die " .BS

I bitch about club bosses who want more than what is reasonable ,at the expense of grassroots.Nothing more nothing less.Some of these clubs without the IC help,couldn't run a chook raffle.I could name 4 now.

You just seem to bitch for bitching's sake.

DiegoNT

Already is prior to the TV deal just announced.Yesterday's fish and chips wrappers.
" They've told the CRL to die " .BS

I bitch about club bosses who want more than what is reasonable ,at the expense of grassroots.Nothing more nothing less.
You just seem to bitch for bitching's sake.

If the nrl focused entirely on the international game, went to a 15 week nrl season so they could focus on a 15 week international schedule it'd mean that we wouldn't recieve the same amount of tv money, we wouldn't be able to produce the quality of player we have atm and international football would be nsw cup quality. If that would happen then he'd be complaining that the nrl isn't doing enough to secure quality players and that his 15 week international schedule is a disaster. Guys like him and perth red are just continual whingers, they'll find the faults in everything. And if they ever manage to get what they want they'll find something new to whinge about. No the nrl isn't perfect, yes they make plenty of mistakes, but when you have so many different agendas to juggle that'll always happen. Give money to traditional clubs/areas and we are neglecting expansion. Give all the money to expansion and we are neglecting our traditional bases. Give money to the clubs and elite players and we are ignoring grassroots, give money to grass roots and we aren't effectively compensating the big clubs and players that are bringing the game in the big bucks. Focus solely on international game and we are neglecting the domestic game, focus on the domestic game and international game suffers. It's incredibly Hard to balance all the factors and not everyone will be happy at the same time, but the one thing guaranteed is that no matter how perfectly you get the balance going, east coast tiger and perth red will find something to whinge about

You are a dead set genius. Why would they have to give ALL the money to clubs or ALL the money to grassroots or ALL the money to internationals? No one has ever ever said have a 15 week club season and a 15 week international comp. You've just made that up.

If the suits can't figure out how to appropriately balance the game in a way that strengthens and grows the whole sport they need to f**k off. And this bunch of merkins clearly has no interest and/or no idea how to do it.

DiegoNT

You are a dead set genius. Why would they have to give ALL the money to clubs or ALL the money to grassroots or ALL the money to internationals? No one has ever ever said have a 15 week club season and a 15 week international comp. You've just made that up.

If the suits can't figure out how to appropriately balance the game in a way that strengthens and grows the whole sport they need to f**k off. And this bunch of merkins clearly has no interest and/or no idea how to do it.

And how aren't they getting the balance right? Because they moved a one off test match to the end of the year? How would you go about getting the balance right?

Err incorrect, Telstra have all 8 games, just 3 are non exclusive, and the price includes naming rights. You really believe 3 non exclusive games is worth $20million a year? And if you do then you will admit that it makes the ch 9 $625mill look even crapper!

Telstra are effectively paying $150million for the NRL digital rights and $250mill for afl rights. We got shafted!

And how aren't they getting the balance right? Because they moved a one off test match to the end of the year? How would you go about getting the balance right?

There was ONE test in Australia this year and there will be ONE in Australia next year and it won't even be in season. And you ask "how arent they getting the balance right?" without even a hint of sarcasm? f**k me.

20 game season, 8-10 game international calendar EVERY year. Combination of 5 nations, ashes tours, world cups and pacific cups and world nines. Not rocket science really if you are committed and see the value of international competition.

DiegoNT

There was ONE test in Australia this year and there will be ONE in Australia next year and it won't even be in season. And you ask "how arent they getting the balance right?" without even a hint of sarcasm? f**k me.

So fit that game in.
It means you'll have some arguements with the rlpa over player burn out.
It means you'll have to disrupt the nrl season, which leads to the disagreements with the broadcast partners. You may lose money for having a split round etc. You have arguements with the clubs over losing star players during the season and the wear and tear caused by the game. Also with no games that week clubs may seek compensation for loss revenue during that week. That tv money you lose from having no regular season games that week may come out of the money set aside for grass roots. So this one game takes a fair amount of balance to work. The nrl may find it easier to just move all internationals to the end of the year.
Now if you think the balancing act to get one test match played seems a bit much, try balancing a full nrl season, the big money earner that is state of origin, international football, the 16 current clubs, the players and their welfare, appeasing tv companies, appeasing stadium owners and local governments, finding money for grass roots, second tier comps, investigating expansion, promotion, negotiating deals with clubs to play games in new locations , enforcing rules like the salary cap, changing rules to hopefully keep the game the way we like it while balancing that with safety, finding a way to fit in the Auckland 9s, allstars match and wcc etc etc, it's not the world's easiest balancing act, mistakes will be made and its impossible to please everyone

DiegoNT

20 game season, 8-10 game international calendar EVERY year. Combination of 5 nations, ashes tours, world cups and pacific cups and world nines. Not rocket science really if you are committed and see the value of international competition.

20 game season? So we lose money their.
No room for origin? Lose money their.
Nrl clubs no longer able to afford it's star players- no players for your international series
Nrl with less money means absolutely no chance for expansion into perth- the one thing you want above all else.
Less money for the nrl means less money to filter down to the grassroots.
Thank god you're not in charge of the nrl

So we get $1.745B and all the shit surrounding it and some people are happy?

Sure we will probably get another 100-150m more but how shit is that when we are the number one overall sport in the country. Just like I and a few others predicted all along.

The ARLC is a JOKE! We will never, I repeat, never surpass the AFL, just like Cronulla will never, ever win a premiership.

Oh and fancy not bringing in Perth and second Brisbane teams, to quash any NEWS Corp crap about apples and oranges, during negotiations.

Totally piss weak admin that will never, ever get it right. Like waiting for Harald Holt.

I've given up, I mean why not, the ARLC, aren't even trying.

you said you gave up ages ago and you were off to follow the Swans

so why are you still here, Chuckles?

Nrl clubs no longer able to afford it's star players- no players for your international series
Nrl with less money means absolutely no chance for expansion into perth- the one thing you want above all else.

You're a f**king idiot.

The old ARL had a 22 week season, city/country, origin, three test series mid year, end of year tours and world cups and a proper WORLD sevens (not bullshit NRL clubs only).

You make baseless shit up about no origin and less money and therefore no expansion and no grassroots money - THERE'S NO EXPANSION OR GRASSROOTS FUNDING NOW. These dickheads are neither growing the sport nor supporting its heartlands despite all this cash they keep talking about.

If you think this sport will grow and survive by playing club games all year and not expanding or supporting international football thank god you're not running the game because it would go nowhere. Oh that's right its going nowhere anyway because we have suits running the game who have the same geniused attitude.

TheRam

Just curious, how much do you think ch9 are forking for the SOO in this new deal?