Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV rights deal

In regards to the next TV deal, if the NRL had 18 teams playing 9 games a week at 22 weeks gives you 198 premiership games (in 2014 with 16 teams, 26 rounds but with all the BYES there were 192 premiership games played).

This new set up gives the broadcasters 6 extra games and the NRL 4 less premiership weeks BUT 3 weekends free for SATURDAY NIGHT State of Origin (if they wanted to, probably want it still on a Wednesday though) and a SATURDAY NIGHT ANZAC Test…so everyone can have the weekend off and attend.

Then make TWO weeks of PRE-SEASON a bit more dinky-di, regulated and what not and make that part of the next TV deal too - so another 18 games to choose from.

And does anyone else out there reckon the NRL could/should actually create it's own TV dept, whereby they film all their games, retain all the rights, and on sell the games to a broadcaster for good coin? And they also sell the games via online channels too for digital season passes, club passes or on a game by game basis?

I'm also thinking that the Indigenous All-Stars game should be played on the Friday night some time in the season - early or late - and the rest of the weekend, all the teams play the regular round in their indigenous themed jerseys.

Just throwing it out there. Debate away.

oikee

They were talking about holding the all-stars game on a saturday night so more indigenous fans from NSW can attend.
The friday night stops alot of workers from going to the game. ?

Monday night footy has a good tv audience, and yes, would be good on FTA.

We need a team in Perth to capture some market.
We need to be growing Brisbane and NZ.

Those are the big TV markets, another team for Melbourne as well with-in 10 years.

The World Club challenge needs to be expanded. We have some of the biggest stars in the world who can help promote our code, not only in England, but also America. ?
We need to start feeding off those stars.

Here is a list who can help the codes expansion worldwide.
Rusty Crowe,,,,,Hugh Jackman,,,,Sheppard,,,,Nicole Kidman,,,,,Keith Urban,,,
Rusty Crowe has got huge publicity for the Rabbits St Helens match,,,,
You need to be leveraging off those stars.
I mean the other night Sheppard gave Jimmy Fallon a Wallabies scarf.
That should have been a Broncos or Kangaroo scarf.
We need to be taking our code to new frontiers.
Or die.

Australia is a exotic place to most from overseas. We have the biggest and a game that produces superstars, we must start selling that to those countries.
Our whole mindset needs to change,,
or die.

Tbh Australia is a remote part of the world most people know little about and here even less. If RL is ever to grow seriously it needs to be on the back of france, England and Australia combined. Sadly the game in two of those countries is underfunded and poorly managed. And in the other one still can't break its myopic shackles of growing beyond its small popular regions. I see little to think RL will be globally any bigger in the 40 years I have hopefully left than in the 40 I have spent so far.

DC_fan

In regards to the next TV deal, if the NRL had 18 teams playing 9 games a week at 22 weeks gives you 198 premiership games (in 2014 with 16 teams, 26 rounds but with all the BYES there were 192 premiership games played).

This new set up gives the broadcasters 6 extra games and the NRL 4 less premiership weeks BUT 3 weekends free for SATURDAY NIGHT State of Origin (if they wanted to, probably want it still on a Wednesday though) and a SATURDAY NIGHT ANZAC Test?so everyone can have the weekend off and attend.

Then make TWO weeks of PRE-SEASON a bit more dinky-di, regulated and what not and make that part of the next TV deal too - so another 18 games to choose from.

And does anyone else out there reckon the NRL could/should actually create it's own TV dept, whereby they film all their games, retain all the rights, and on sell the games to a broadcaster for good coin? And they also sell the games via online channels too for digital season passes, club passes or on a game by game basis?

I'm also thinking that the Indigenous All-Stars game should be played on the Friday night some time in the season - early or late - and the rest of the weekend, all the teams play the regular round in their indigenous themed jerseys.

Just throwing it out there. Debate away.

Not a fan of increasing numbers to 18 teams. I don't believe we have sufficient numbers of quality players coming through to cater for that number of teams. This was shown last season with the number of injuries and the ASADA situation that diluted teams strength. In fact I would go the opposite way and cut the team numbers back to 14 or maybe even 12.

The next TV deal maybe the last deal done that is worth big money to the game. Television as we know it today is dying. The numbers of people watching the format in general are dropping. It maybe time come the early 2020's for the NRL to be looking for different ways to broadcast the games.

BuffaloRules

^^You would have to be the most negative poster I have seen in my 11 years here...

You can't really be a fan of the game?

reanimate

More broadcast cash = the ability to attract more Union players from South Africa, the Pacific Islands, NZ, England etc.

Talent shouldn't be an issue.

LJC

Not a fan of increasing numbers to 18 teams. I don't believe we have sufficient numbers of quality players coming through to cater for that number of teams. This was shown last season with the number of injuries and the ASADA situation that diluted teams strength. In fact I would go the opposite way and cut the team numbers back to 14 or maybe even 12.

The next TV deal maybe the last deal done that is worth big money to the game. Television as we know it today is dying. The numbers of people watching the format in general are dropping. It maybe time come the early 2020's for the NRL to be looking for different ways to broadcast the games.

Farcical reply!

Quality players!

There are loads of them!

If you had the experience of being a trialist for an NRL club you would change your mind!

Their are countless players with immense talent that don't make the NRL due to lack of opportunities!

When you add teams young men see the carrot and go for it!

It's as simple as that.

If the carrot isn't there they'll take easier options and play other less demanding football codes.

Your quality player argument is way wrong. They(quality players) are out there but the opportunity is not due to not enough top flight teams. Australia is a very sports minded country and that's the way things roll here!

Rodney

How so?
The ASADA hit sharks managed to do pretty well for a team with 12+ first grade players suspended or injured.

They beat the minor premiers, got within a point of being the cowboys in Townsville.

The minor premiers didn't manage to get 40 points.
Only 1 team managed to get 60 points all season.

For a season tarred by ASADA drama it show the league's real depth.
A team with an entire first grade roster out with injuries and suspensions manage to pull 5 wins and who only lost 2 by over 30.
Along with 3 games they lost by 2 or less.

They weren't out of their depth by any means and managed to compete despite the hemorage of players.

And this sort of event isn't going to happen again (hopefully) in our lifetimes.
The depth test has been passed with flying colours imo.

And that's not even including the 3 new 2nd tier teams coming in before the new rights deal.
75 more players added to the pool before any expansion club starts trying to drain it.

Also sport on TV is stronger than ever.
TV is dying yes, but live events like sport having been steady commodities in TV land.
Sport is the gold standard and TV will continue to need it to survive.

Starkers

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/cocaine-scandal-cant-get-up-the-nose-of-rugby-league-20150226-13plv7.html

NRL boss Dave Smith will on Friday address the game's stakeholders at its annual general meeting, and will highlight how financially strong the code has become on his watch.

Amid all the figures tossed out there, the one that means the most won't come for a year or so. There are already whispers about the NRL hatching a $2 billion broadcast deal, regardless of whether Nine, or James Packer or Lachlan Murdoch or Kerry Stokes get their hands on it. That is some serious coin coming the way of Ms Rugby League.

Smith, who recently marked two years in the job, still has his detractors, but this week he showed how far he's come.

Canard

AFL fan exposed.

Pig Champion

AFL fan exposed.

There's a few posters with hidden agendas, you just have to watch the pattern emerge.

It's like callers to talkback sports shows who say they are a RL fan but talk it down, say it's dying, all the kids are playing "football", AFL or "rugby" in their area, blah, blah. You just know they aren't really a fan.

DC_fan

Farcical reply!

Quality players!

There are loads of them!

If you had the experience of being a trialist for an NRL club you would change your mind!

Their are countless players with immense talent that don't make the NRL due to lack of opportunities!

When you add teams young men see the carrot and go for it!

It's as simple as that.

If the carrot isn't there they'll take easier options and play other less demanding football codes.

Your quality player argument is way wrong. They(quality players) are out there but the opportunity is not due to not enough top flight teams. Australia is a very sports minded country and that's the way things roll here!

i haven't see any evidence of this and the standard of some teams dropped considerably last season when injuries and ASADA took players away

Expansîon at the top has to be matched with increased funding at grass roots to ensure we are developing an ever increasing number of talented players. Png and PI are massively untapped. South Australia and other affiliated States are barely scratching the surface of player development. NZ is a massive nursery waiting for significant investment in the nzrl. Chuck in Union raiding at 18's level, UK and France talent and yet to be explored areas such as usa college athletes and you can clearly see there is huge potential for growing the talent pool.

reanimate

Expansîon at the top has to be matched with increased funding at grass roots to ensure we are developing an ever increasing number of talented players. Png and PI are massively untapped. South Australia and other affiliated States are barely scratching the surface of player development. NZ is a massive nursery waiting for significant investment in the nzrl. Chuck in Union raiding at 18's level, UK and France talent and yet to be explored areas such as usa college athletes and you can clearly see there is huge potential for growing the talent pool.

Exactly, talent shouldn't even be mentioned as a concern.

Starkers

more rumblings about $2b: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/nrl-amassing-war-chest-to-win-battle-of-the-codes-and-take-rugby-league-into-new-markets-20150301-13rrqq.html

When you appoint a banker as your CEO, you're not looking to become a charity. The NRL last week announced a $49.9 million surplus for 2014, an astonishing result for a sport that used to exist on cigarette advertising and pokies. Look for David Smith to continue to explore the opportunities to "buy back the farm", in similar deals to the touch football takeover, and to shamelessly prop up clubs that need it. A war chest is being amassed for the battle of the codes and taking the brand to offshore markets is clearly on the agenda. The next TV deal will be worth $2 billion and player recruitment overseas will increase, leaving Super League looking a bit like a feeder competition.

Canard

i haven't see any evidence of this and the standard of some teams dropped considerably last season when injuries and ASADA took players away

ASADA suspensions happened to one team basically, with a couple of random players (like Matt Wright from the Cowboys affected) for few weeks.

It had very little impact at all. Do you even watch the NRL??