Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next up Rorters.

Drag Queen

Pereira should be automatic selection. He is a beast!!
Averages a try a game almost and has speed and strength
It’s time for nighty to be rested I’m afraid and there’s no disrespect there but this is a professional sport, its a huge game and we need to select our best available players.
Pereira should be automatic selection. He is a beast!!
Averages a try a game almost and has speed and strength
It’s time for nighty to be rested I’m afraid and there’s no disrespect there but this is a professional sport, its a huge game and we need to select our best available players.
Huge respect for Nighty but definitely think Jordan should be given the nod here. Great debut, and given that he's not a kid, he has a fair amount of experience. Nothing to lose but heaps to gain if he plays like that again. Cheers.

In my humble opinion:
Widdop and Hunt will return to their best form when our forwards again dominate a game.
Our forwards are one good prop away from dominating a game. The inclusion of Sims on the right side went a long wasy to stiffen up our right side defence against the Cowboys.
The best NRL the Dragons can field right now is:

Dufty
Macdonald
Lafai - right centre
Mann - left centre
Pereira
Widdop
Hunt
Vaughan
McInnes
Frizell - prop
Sims
Leilua
De Belin

Graham
Ah Mau
Robson
Aitken

merahputih

Not so sure after the debacle of the Raiders game. Refs and bunker under a lot of criticism atm. Refs too scared to make a decision so go to the bunker. Bunker finds something that isn't there. Greenberg is apparently looking into it. On it goes LMD. Any more f**k ups and heads might start to roll. Behind the technology remains human error time and time again. I'm predicting we may have a fairly free flowing game against the Roosters due to my previous points. Then again....
Peter Sterling summed it up nicely: "Paralysis by analysis".

Drag Queen

I had one of my very rare footy dreams last night and the score was 21 - 7 and no I shall not tell you which team were the victors . For it is worth , we scored a try in the dying moments of the game . . . .:innocent:
Since you have the smiley halo on I'm guessing we won. Here's hoping Xx

league

In my humble opinion:
Widdop and Hunt will return to their best form when our forwards again dominate a game.
Our forwards are one good prop away from dominating a game. The inclusion of Sims on the right side went a long wasy to stiffen up our right side defence against the Cowboys.
The best NRL the Dragons can field right now is:

Dufty
Macdonald
Lafai - right centre
Mann - left centre
Pereira
Widdop
Hunt
Vaughan
McInnes
Frizell - prop
Sims
Leilua
De Belin

Graham
Ah Mau
Robson
Aitken
Mann at centre, Aitken on the bench? So laughable I had to look for the pink text.

getsmarty

teamlist_round20_newstile.jpg

TEAM LISTS

NRL team: Round 20 v Sydney Roosters
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Tue 24 Jul 2018, 04:00 PM

St George Illawarra coach Paul McGregor has named his mandatory 21-man squad ahead of the Dragons' Round 20 clash against the Sydney Roosters at Allianz Stadium on Sunday, July 29.

Tyson Frizell (hamstring) has been named and may make his return against the Roosters, while his back row partner Tariq Sims will play his 50th game for the Dragons.

Jordan Pereira retains his place on the wing following his fantastic NRL debut against the Cowboys last weekend.

Zac Lomax (hand) has been named in the extended squad in place of Hame Sele.

The ISP Dragons (1:55pm) and Jersey Flegg Dragons (11:45am) will also play on Sunday at Allianz Stadium.

NRL squad for Round 20 v Sydney Roosters:

1. Matt Dufty – sponsored by Illawarra Mercury/St George & Sutherland Shire Leader
2. Jordan Pereira – sponsored by Relativity in the Loop
3. Euan Aitken – sponsored by University of Wollongong
4. Tim Lafai – sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports Centre
5. Jason Nightingale– sponsored by SMAI
6. Gareth Widdop (c) – sponsored by Dynamic Projects
7. Ben Hunt– sponsored by Paul's Customs and Forwarding Solutions
8. James Graham – sponsored by EFEX
9. Cameron McInnes – sponsored by Floormania
10. Paul Vaughan – sponsored by My Muscle Chef
11. Tyson Frizell – sponsored by Val Morgan
12. Tariq Sims – sponsored by Stonemasons & Landscapers (since 1970)
13. Jack de Belin – sponsored by Wollongong Jetski

Interchange:
14. Jeremy Latimore – sponsored by Addbuild Additions
15. Kurt Mann – sponsored by Wollongong Diagnostics
16. Leeson Ah Mau – sponsored by Westfund
17. Luciano Leilua – sponsored by Domus Lighting
18. Patrick Herbert
19. Blake Lawrie
20. Jai Field
21. Zac Lomax

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/07/24/nrl-team-round-20-v-sydney-roosters/

Lovemedragons

Just finished watching “the big wrap” and Mick Ennis’s comments on Widdop and Hunt not communicating and not being polished with their kicking games....for me he is spot on right.. game management and the 5 tackle play is ordinary for a top 4 team and needs work...
Kicking game needs a bit of work - more repeat sets
Not so sure after the debacle of the Raiders game. Refs and bunker under a lot of criticism atm. Refs too scared to make a decision so go to the bunker. Bunker finds something that isn't there. Greenberg is apparently looking into it. On it goes LMD. Any more f**k ups and heads might start to roll. Behind the technology remains human error time and time again. I'm predicting we may have a fairly free flowing game against the Roosters due to my previous points. Then again....
hope you are right and the officiating is fair to both teams.

getsmarty

preview-pic_round-20_roosters-v-dragons.jpg

MATCH PREVIEW

Roosters v Dragons: Round 20 preview
Author
NRL.com
Timestamp
Tue 24 Jul 2018, 09:01 AM

The Dragons were flying when they tamed the Roosters on Anzac Day, but the Chooks have basically been on a steady incline of improvement since that round eight meeting, while the Dragons have had a few chinks in the armour exposed.

Last week's trouncing of Manly lifted the Roosters into the top four – one win behind the Dragons – and they have clearly emerged as a serious title contender over the past month or so after taking half the season to click into gear.

Latrell Mitchell has become one of the game's elite players, James Tedesco looks very comfortable at the back, while Luke Keary and Cooper Cronk have developed an effective scrum base partnership.

The Dragons answered a few questions last week, beating the Cowboys in Townsville after some recent ordinary performances. Tyson Frizell missed the game through injury and the Dragons hope he returns to face the in-form Chooks.

• Nine Network
  • Fox League
  • LIVE PASS
Buy Tickets
Key match-up: There's plenty of compelling head-to-head clashes all over the paddock but it's impossible to go past the battle of the playmakers – Keary and Cronk versus Dragons duo Gareth Widdop and Ben Hunt. The Cronk-Keary combo took time to gel compared to how Widdop and Hunt immediately clicked, but all four are crucial to how far their respective sides go in September. Keep an eye also on the duel between NSW Origin teammates Frizell and Boyd Cordner.

For the Roosters to win: They will almost certainly face a much stiffer defensive wall than they did against Manly but the Roosters should try to play the same way. That means rejuvenated Jake Friend continuing to make smart choices from dummy-half and Tedesco terrorising the Dragons with his ability to back up any line breaks.

For the Dragons to win: We should soon know if last week's win snapped the Dragons back to premiership-winning form or if it was mere fool's gold. Defence will be a big key, especially out wide on Mitchell and Daniel Tupou, while the forwards have to win the battle with their Roosters counterparts to provide Hunt and Widdop with space to create.

Roosters Stat Attack: The Tricolours have lost all three games against their fellow top-four teams this season, but what better time to end that streak than in coach Trent Robinson's 150th NRL game.

Dragons Stat Attack: St George Illawarra are aiming to defeat the Roosters twice in a season for the first time since their premiership-winning run in 2010.

And another thing: Acrobatic winger Nene Macdonald will almost certainly be a notable absentee for the Dragons on Sunday. Macdonald suffered a foot injury in the round 18 loss to the Tigers and is scheduled to return in the round 21 home game against the Warriors. The winger scored two of his team's four tries when the Dragons beat the Roosters 24-8 on Anzac Day.

Sydney Roosters v St George Illawarra Dragons, Sunday 4.10pm at Allianz Stadium

Head-to-head: Played 38; Dragons 20 wins, Roosters 17 wins, 1 draw
Previous result: Dragons won 24-8 at Allianz Stadium in round 8
Points per game: Roosters 22.1; Dragons 24.5
Points conceded per game: Roosters 14.6; Dragons 17.6
Televised: Live on Nine, Fox League

Peter Civoniceva's prediction: This game of the round between two of the competition's top teams should be a cracker. They're both playing good footy and it's tough to separate them and pick a winner. The Dragons had a good win over the Cowboys and look like they're playing with confidence, but I'm leaning towards the Roosters in a very close game. Latrell Mitchell has taken his game to another level after playing Origin footy and they just look like a side that is getting better each week at the right end of the season.

Tip: Roosters by 4

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/07/24/roosters-v-dragons-round-20-preview/

Brutalitops

I believe the Roosters to be borderline premiership certainties, and now that their team is clicking they could beat just about anyone.

If we beat them, even if it's a scrappy, close, ugly win, the team deserves praise from all angles.

This game is a hard one to tip. I think Roosters have the slightest of advantages but it's still like 60/40, and if we're on we can overcome that

jak

I really hope our guys step up and blitz the Rorters this week.

We've been off the boil for a while but started to reconnect last week.
Hopefully, they take it a step or two further and really click.

There's nothing l like more on a Sunday than a stuffed Chicken roast.

Dragons 36
Rorters 18
not like you to be that conservative okb.