Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non-eels footy stuff

Just when you thought the Rabbitohs couldn't implode even further...

#speciallatrell

“The coach has got it wrong. He is too lazy and doesn’t have the physique to be a fullback.” Just to be clear that quote is about Latrell, not an ex-NFL player that came back and got special treatment to stink up our squad...

King-Gutho94

Cloeel

Surely this is a gee-up.

If its true i hope Reed is having a lot fun with all the bitching and moaning going on over there.

A long way away from the dream Gus sold him while having chinese at canterbury leagues.

Wonder if Bulldog powerbrokers will start to get irritated once there on field performances start to impact revenue? (Ticket sales, memberships, attracting sponsors etc.)

The Gus impact will only stay positive for so long. Fans and Stakeholders are going to want results soon. Bulldogs with their resources should be winning more than they lose.

Heads roll when revenue is impacted, not even Gus will be immune to that.

Surely this is a gee-up.

If its true i hope Reed is having a lot fun with all the bitching and moaning going on over there.

A long way away from the dream Gus sold him while having chinese at canterbury leagues.
Analed by Gus and a Chinese meal.

So a journo is having a go at another journo for releasing texts ? Is he really saying that if the txts of Clive Churchill's son fell in his lap - that called Latrell "cancer" that he wouldn't go to print with them ?

Doesn't he work for Nine Entertainment aka SMH ?

^^^^

The Herald also reported Churchill's request for the text message not to be published, but has released it.

Surely this is a gee-up.

"According to the SMH, a message “doing the rounds” claims up to eight players have been left with a bad taste in their mouth in Cameron Ciraldo’s first year in charge."

Pretty sure there's workplace laws that are meant to prevent that type of thing these days.

If any of you merkins have access to Dawn of the Dolphins (the Stan sports doco, not the wildlife doco made by our own Gary Gutful and which can now be found on Pornhub) there is a great segemnt in episode one where O'Sullivan discusses salary cap strategies.

"I wanted to be quite steady-as-she-goes ... minimising mistakes in your roster now is huge. You really pay for your errors in a roster. Very hard to move players, in the olden days you could shuffle money here and there but you wear your mistakes now. Teams that do that ... they can struggle for five or six years, so we have to be really careful that we didn't go down that path."

I suspect by 'mistakes' he means just-get-it-done-(ffs) and that missing out on players is superior to overpaying them or signing them for too long.

Incorrect

I suspect by 'mistakes' he means just-get-it-done-(ffs) and that missing out on players is superior to overpaying them or signing them for too long.
My suspicion is that by "mistakes" he was referring to a club signing someone like Joe Ofahengeu for 2.5 years, or Joey Lussick for 2 years, or Andrew Davey for 1.5 years.... those sorts of mistakes... which is basically aligned to your suspicions I suppose....

I guess we'll find out. The Dolphins signed players of similar quality. They signed plenty such players. You reckon 2.5 years is too long for a 27-year-old middle forward with 160+ games and Origin experience? Do you reckon Lussick and Davey are on big money? One of them was coming off the bench in the UK ffs.

robert de niro compliment GIF

Incorrect

Do you reckon Lussick and Davey are on big money? One of them was coming off the bench in the UK ffs.
Well, like you always say, we'll never know for sure how much either Lussick or Davey or any player is signed for... Lussick could be 500K per year, hell maybe 600K. It was a desperation signing no doubt about it. Davey maybe 300K for 2024.

As you always say, nobody will ever really know....... ffs

It was a desperation signing no doubt about it.
I seriously doubt it was made in desperation. It seemed far more opportunistic than desperate. And the way we drag negotiations out tells me we aren't desperate. Signing big names on November 1st is what desperation looks like. Non-desperate clubs hold their nerve, because they know unused cap space can be filled later.

You need to watch Dawn of the Dolphins. Because the people in the know generally don't talk about this stuff, it's easy to get all your info from rugby league journalists, and as we know, their job is to sell melodrama not serious analysis.

Incorrect

You need to watch Dawn of the Dolphins. Because the people in the know generally don't talk about this stuff, it's easy to get all your info from rugby league journalists, and as we know, their job is to sell melodrama not serious analysis.

Lol... Pou spruiking Dawn of the Dolphin's.... what happened, did you get 3 months free on a new subscriber deal or some shit?!

Bennett: "What I do know, whether you're in business or whether you're running a football club or whatever, stability is the only guarantee you're gonna have for success."