Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non-eels footy stuff

King-Gutho94

Brilliant day, went early to the butchers with my house mate and we bought a brisket and a heap of short back ribs to smoke. We’d invited a heap of mates who were bronco fans. By full time there was just my house mate and a heap of uneaten ribs and Brisket and me with a shit eating grin.

It’s amazing how many of those merkins forgot about RL up until this season, don’t worry I give it to them on a weekly basis. They are the most piss poor fan base in the NRL.
I still have a photo of the back page of the Telegraph the following day of Sivo in the air diving for a try in the corner with the words 58-0 in yellow on my phone.

I might send it to my broncos friend tomorrow reminding them of the last time they played in a final just to ease there nerves a little on game day haha.

T.S Quint

The only thing that will top that day for me as a Parra supporter is if we ever win a Premiership again.

That was basically as good as feeling you will ever get at the footy watching Parra that afternoon. Sun was out it was a perfect conditions mid 20s in middle of September.

We were ruthless in all departments something that is very rare for a Parramatta side.

We physically mauled the Broncos pack who had 5 origin players who all played origin by that stage along with Matt Lodge and bashed them into submission. The crowd got stuck into them as well.

And if Mitch had not missed some early sitters it could have been 64 or 66 to nil. He missed 4 or 5 goals as we scored 11 tries.

That game was brilliant.
2009 Preliminary Final was better.

King-Gutho94

That game was brilliant.
2009 Preliminary Final was better.
Yeah fair call 2009 prelim was a great night - The best atmosphere at Homebush i have ever experienced. How they set up the ground that night with Bulldogs fans at one end and Parra fans down the other was awesome.

I just rate 2019 better due to it being at our brand new stadium & seriously felt like a dream beating the broncos 58-0 in a final like seriously.

I was 15 years old in 2009 so i couldnt kick on afterwards and hit the pubs.

Unlike 2019 kicking on at the old Royal Oak for a few more beers and dinner afterwards where it was pumping with excitement..

T.S Quint

Yeah fair call 2009 prelim was a great night - The best atmosphere at Homebush i have ever experienced. How they set up the ground that night with Bulldogs fans at one end and Parra fans down the other was awesome.

I just rate 2019 better due to it being at our brand new stadium & seriously felt like a dream beating the broncos 58-0 in a final like seriously.

I was 15 years old in 2009 so i couldnt kick on afterwards and hit the pubs.

Unlike 2019 kicking on at the old Royal Oak for a few more beers and dinner afterwards where it was pumping with excitement..

I was 29, so well into 'kicking on' age.
It was just this miraculous feeling. We were third last halfway through the year and then all of a sudden we were in the grand final. And beating the DOgs to get there too, which just made it feel so much better.

I've been to some unbelievable games throughout the years, and experienced some incredible highs (and lows :() but nothing made me feel as good as that win. Only thing that will come close to that will be an actual grand final win, I think.

I mean, in terms of footy at least (I've had two kids since then).

T.S Quint

This one was a f**ken classic as well.

Was the battle for the Minor Premiership.

I couldn't help myself. I just watched this game again.

Such a great game. Very entertaining. We dominated the second half.
A few things:

1. How good was Tim Smith! His kicking game and ball playing were just outstanding. Been said many times, but this was a wasted talent. Poor bloke.
2. Brent Tate was a very good player.
3. Dean Widders should have never left Parra. Was never the same player when he went to Souths.
4. That last try that Burt scored is burned into my memory. I remember it so clearly (I think channel 9 used to have it in their pre-game intro the year after) and I can recall losing my shit when it happened.

there was a bunch of us LUers at Suncorp probably about 10 years back and we all had our Eels gear on, a few came up from Sidanee but most were locals

geez they were sore losers " why don't you all f**k off back to Sydney?"

"we live here you dickheads"

I couldn't help myself. I just watched this game again.

Such a great game. Very entertaining. We dominated the second half.
A few things:

1. How good was Tim Smith! His kicking game and ball playing were just outstanding. Been said many times, but this was a wasted talent. Poor bloke.
2. Brent Tate was a very good player.
3. Dean Widders should have never left Parra. Was never the same player when he went to Souths.
4. That last try that Burt scored is burned into my memory. I remember it so clearly (I think channel 9 used to have it in their pre-game intro the year after) and I can recall losing my shit when it happened.

those who remember that night well would also remember the shenanigans at the Rose and Crown later... the joint was bursting at the seems and the back area was closed off for a players function.

I remember John 'Bomber' Morris crown surfing from the entry to the back area.

i think @Twizzle and @Suitman were there also..

Hindy was never the same player after that night, f**k you Brett Seymour!! And Fui got 8 weeks for missing that softcock Yawnion Flog Derrick Barnes.

T.S Quint

Hindy was never the same player after that night, f**k you Brett Seymour!! And Fui got 8 weeks for missing that softcock Yawnion Flog Derrick Barnes.

Fui had a bad wrap with the judiciary.
He got very unlucky in that particular tackle. Barnes was almost kneeling he had fallen so low.

King-Gutho94

This one was a f**ken classic as well.

Was the battle for the Minor Premiership.
Haha thats remarkable you found that game actually.

As the little blonde number 7 at the start of the game who was running out with Hindmarsh was a little smart arse and a typical bulldogs fan.

Went to Primary & High school with that bloke got NFI what he is doing now he dropped out in year 10.

Our Primary School PSSA team who were unbeaten & won the comp that year the prize was running out with the Eels players that night.

By the time they got us back to other side where the tunnel was to get to our seats Hindy had already done his knee.

T.S Quint

I was sitting down on the end, right in front of where Hindy did his knee. You could see it immediately that he was f**ked.
We still should have beat the Cowboys though.

King-Gutho94

those who remember that night well would also remember the shenanigans at the Rose and Crown later... the joint was bursting at the seems and the back area was closed off for a players function.

I remember John 'Bomber' Morris crown surfing from the entry to the back area.

i think @Twizzle and @Suitman were there also..
Haha sounds like you blokes went off a month too early.

It was only the minor premiership ffs.