Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

But how many of them are there because they really believe in public service? Or do they just want to change things to the way they prefer?
I would hope all of them have a pretty clear vision for the country. Nothing worse than some weasel that just panders to whatever is popular in the electorate.

The fact is, pollies who earn 200k a year + are going to do whatever it takes to protect their job rather that give a rats arse about their country. The constant stream of polls and media commentators opinions make them scurry for approval rather than have the fortitude to stick by a party policy that's difficult to sell to the people. OK Gronky, tear me a another new one....
Having the fortitude may mean losing your job and therefore failing to advance the cause you believe in.

Politics requires strong negotiation skills and the ability to prioritise. You also need to be able to concede on issues that aren't critical whilst remaining true to your core beliefs. Tough balancing act.

I think our farcial political scene is just a side effect of the new way of life

people are complaining about it endlessly and soooo outraged by what happens, but its the public's behaviour that causes it

Its all just turned into a popularity contest feuled by social media and the main stream media is just swept up trying to get the public's attention to try and keep their flailing industry alive, so they just escalate everything so satisfy potential readers/viewers who are lapping it all up

Its the new way of life ... stop complaining about it cos we are all part of it

Eelogical

I think our farcial political scene is just a side effect of the new way of life

people are complaining about it endlessly and soooo outraged by what happens, but its the public's behaviour that causes it

Its all just turned into a popularity contest feuled by social media and the main stream media is just swept up trying to get the public's attention to try and keep their flailing industry alive, so they just escalate everything so satisfy potential readers/viewers who are lapping it all up

Whoosh!.................just like that and it's a new ball game.

Mate. You are a legend for saying this.

It is spot on. I didn't want to say it because people probably get sick of Gary getting on his high horse (aka Trevor).

Having the fortitude may mean losing your job and therefore failing to advance the cause you believe in.

Politics requires strong negotiation skills and the ability to prioritise. You also need to be able to concede on issues that aren't critical whilst remaining true to your core beliefs. Tough balancing act.
Exactly .... even if your intentions are awesome, you cant do anything without pandering to some other minority group now to try and get their support

People are voting for these alternate independants here and their claiming they have had it with the mainstream and want to keep em honest, but all that is doing is having a small group of mostly radicals putting a spanner in the works

f**k everyone .... we all suck

True.

But if it doesn't suit my interests as well I can vote the merkin, or more importantly these days, his party out.
In theory yes. But even if you succeed all you've done is put the other lot of merkins in charge. But anyway, my point is that they aren't necessarily making a sacrifice because they don't get paid heaps - it's just a trade off for power.

Sure. Agree entirely on that. Its a choice a lot of them have made.

The original point though was about 'feeding off the public purse', implying that it was a shit tonne of money. Compared to the private sector, they aren't heavily paid.

You and Trev better make Hay while the sun shines.
3d9106b78af6a824f64e14bc5f19388f.jpg