Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

My old man had a Tiguan, one of the first models released in Australia.... It was a piece of junk. I know a guy who bought an Amorok and couldn't get rid of it fast enough when the lease was up, he said he'd never go near another VW... Just unlucky probably but it does leave a bad taste when it happens to you...
I never keep cars that are not under warranty but I agree the inconvenience of having a lemon is awful.

So my car lease is up and I call Audi for a quote on a Q5 TFSI Sport petrol turbo and they give me this ridiculous quote. Well over $90k.

I speak nicely but in my own unique way and tell them that it’s too much and I’m happy to get the VW Tiguan R Line. They come back and basically say it’s the recommended retail suckers quote and offer me the car for $69k drive away. I’m going there tomorrow and offering $65k take it or leave it.

Anyone had these cars? They have a deal with 5 years manufacturers warranty and 5 years free servicing until June 30. I’m covered but still wouldn’t mind a bit of reliability. I reckon it’s an appropriate wankers car that will suit my personality.

Nice car. What colour are you thinking?

I'd go the V6 not the 2.0. I don't trust a lot of these newer small motors making huge amounts of power. A 2.0l making 185Kw is under a lot of compression and strain. In saying that th V6 is a diesel and I lso dont trust the new diesel motors.

So these are a Mexican made car?

I was in at Sandersons Mercedes on Monday and they were almost begging me to upgrade.

You can't go wrong with german cars.

Except 95% of people can't afford one.

I know a few people with new BMW that had been nothing but piles of shit.

I never keep cars that are not under warranty but I agree the inconvenience of having a lemon is awful.

The problem is cars like your planing to purchase is if things go wrong it can cost 5k for a repair. I reckon best once warranty is up sell and replace.

It's not like my Hiace. They go forever. I had a new SS ute prior. I found having to keep it clean a task and the amount of people who opened doors on it at shopping centres. I was sitting in it one day as a guy rested conduit on my bonnets while opening his van at Bunnings. After the amount of rings and scratches it copped I said never again to a new car.

Are they still manufactured in Japan?
It will be interesting to see how Avengers Mexican Audi holds up.
No

Hqrdly any of the cars we buy are made in the countries they are engineered in ... its not economical for the companies

Eelogical

Are they still manufactured in Japan?
It will be interesting to see how Avengers Mexican Audi holds up.
The first digit of your car's VIN# determines the actual country that the car was built in. For instance, if your 17 digit VIN# starts with a J, your car was built in Japan.

Bandwagon

I'd go the V6 not the 2.0. I don't trust a lot of these newer small motors making huge amounts of power. A 2.0l making 185Kw is under a lot of compression and strain. In saying that th V6 is a diesel and I lso dont trust the new diesel motors.

The 2 litre in my C250 puts out around 155kw and 350NM of torque , the same engine in CLA 45 AmG spec puts out 280kw and 475nm of Torque.

185KW out of a 2:0l isn't a problem reliability wise, nor is it even "huge" for a 2.0 litre.

Value for money, Mercedes shit all over Audi.
There’s no value in either of them. The secret is to get the best discounted deal as they both depreciate more than a Japanese/Korean car.

We still pay way too much for Euro cars here despite us not protecting anything local anymore. It’s a farce.

There is this Dark blue that they come in which is quite nice. I’ll check out the colours today. Yes they are made in Mexico as is the Allspace VW Tiguan. The normal 5 seat Tiguan is still made in Germany and most people report from forums that the difference in finish is identical. It’s all robotics these days anyway. There is bugger all true human workmanship. Hopefully the one I get wasn’t supervised by some tequila drinking Mexican on the production line.

The 2 litre in my C250 puts out around 155kw and 350NM of torque , the same engine in CLA 45 AmG spec puts out 280kw and 475nm of Torque.

185KW out of a 2:0l isn't a problem reliability wise, nor is it even "huge" for a 2.0 litre.

It's irrelevant he flips after warranty is done.
I know plenty of those big 4wd utes that people are getting around in with turbo diesels that have troubles and once do its 4k+ to replace a turbo or injector pump etc.
It's not like the old turbo diesels that ran small psi and had 4 litres engines making them indestructible

Bandwagon

It's irrelevant he flips after warranty is done.
I know plenty of those big 4wd utes that people are getting around in with turbo diesels that have troubles and once do its 4k+ to replace a turbo or injector pump etc.
It's not like the old turbo diesels that ran small psi and had 4 litres engines making them indestructible

I've a 2007 Ranger, 4 cylinder Turbo diesel, bought new 2008, 220,000 odd K's and the only item outside of normal wear and tear has been the AC compressor, bearing failure at around 190,000 k's.

You'll find anecdotal evidence of failures everywhere, that doesn't prove much at all though.

I've a 2007 Ranger, 4 cylinder Turbo diesel, bought new 2008, 220,000 odd K's and the only item outside of normal wear and tear has been the AC compressor, bearing failure at around 190,000 k's.

You'll find anecdotal evidence of failures everywhere, that doesn't prove much at all though.

I'm using facts.
Parts on those new powerfull turbo diesels are $$$ And if you think achieving 200kw from a 2l engine is not putting it under strain your delusional.

Parts and repairs on a standard 2l petrol not so much. Very basic engine.

Even the Hilux are not what they where. Plenty of those new ones end up lemons. Nothing like those ones built in 90s and early 2000s.

There’s no value in either of them. The secret is to get the best discounted deal as they both depreciate more than a Japanese/Korean car.

We still pay way too much for Euro cars here despite us not protecting anything local anymore. It’s a farce.

A 10 year old Mercedes still drives looks and feels new. No rattles, no breakdowns. Just keeps going.

I'd like to see a Kia/Hyundai compare.

Even the Hilux are not what they where.

TopGear merkins dropped a Hilux out of a building (or was it out of a plane?) and it f**king started !

03a2e1b29adc3aae56a30a6324590339.jpg