Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

It’s safe to say that the mental health of children is excellent these days and nobody is bullied or ostracised any more. Good job progressives!
Well considering that the progressives haven't had the keys to the bus for a decade or more in this country, I think you're talking out of your coit.

More like Shartman Ammirite???
More like the clash of personal and political values and the smug are calling out others as smug.

Spider-Man Reaction GIF

Is it me or is Albanese avoiding the media? Maybe the others were just fixated on it more but our new PM seems to be less on the media than past PM’s.

No matter who is in the top job this current economic situation in the world is difficult to address. Inflation at over 7%, some saying it’s more likely over 10%. Dollar plummeting. Rising interest rates. Falling house prices (which I don’t mind because Sydney is crazy). Lack of rentals. It’s crazy.

A lady economist said this morning that inflation will peak around Xmas. Good news if true.

It's a weird environment at the moment that hasn't been experienced in this country for a long time. Rising costs of living, stagnant growth and static wages. Unfortunately the only tool the Reserve Bank has to slow down inflation is to tighten monetary policy (increase interest rates). Ironically I know the merkin from the fed, cos our boys are friends. I will ask him WTF next time I see him in the hood. I like to have a light at the end of the tunnel, no matter how far away it is.

1666828291161.png

It's Russia's and La Nina's fault BTW that we are having this inflationary environment, but more fool Putin cos ...

Column: Australia sees longer commodity boost from Russia's Ukraine war
By Clyde Russell

LAUNCESTON, Australia, Oct 4 (Reuters) - Australia expects a boost to its commodity export earnings caused by Russia's invasion of Ukraine to last into 2024, upping its forecasts for both the current and following year.

The Australian government's commodity forecaster said in its latest quarterly report released on Tuesday that export earnings would rise to a record A$450 billion ($293 billion) in the 2022-23 fiscal year that started on July 1.

From my uni days, I think we are approaching stagflation. However we have low unemployment which may avert this situation.

Wow I haven't heard that word since Yr9 Economics. So I'll have to trust you on that one.

Petrol,food, electricity,dining,building materials,flights,accommodation,shipping.

All those have risen far more then 10%. Some closer to 50%
Shipping overseas has literaly doubled.
What's gone up by only 7%

A lady economist said this morning that inflation will peak around Xmas. Good news if true.

It's a weird environment at the moment that hasn't been experienced in this country for a long time. Rising costs of living, stagnant growth and static wages. Unfortunately the only tool the Reserve Bank has to slow down inflation is to tighten monetary policy (increase interest rates). Ironically I know the merkin from the fed, cos our boys are friends. I will ask him WTF next time I see him in the hood. I like to have a light at the end of the tunnel, no matter how far away it is.

View attachment 67688

It's Russia's and La Nina's fault BTW that we are having this inflationary environment, but more fool Putin cos ...

Column: Australia sees longer commodity boost from Russia's Ukraine war
By Clyde Russell

LAUNCESTON, Australia, Oct 4 (Reuters) - Australia expects a boost to its commodity export earnings caused by Russia's invasion of Ukraine to last into 2024, upping its forecasts for both the current and following year.

The Australian government's commodity forecaster said in its latest quarterly report released on Tuesday that export earnings would rise to a record A$450 billion ($293 billion) in the 2022-23 fiscal year that started on July 1.

Russia and La Nina fault?

More like the world shut down for almost 2yrs on and off over some flu.
That's the main driver here. But let's ignore that and blame Putin and some rain. I'm sure they contributed but don't forget lockdowns. That's what we are paying for.

Next year you'll see heaps of businesses go tits up. By mid next year unemployment will reach 5.5%
This is just the beginning mate.
THE GREAT RESET.