Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

There was no referendum to see if indigenous people wanted a voice and certainly no referendum to see if they adopted the constitution.

It should be grass roots thing asking these two questions at least to all indigenous people to see what they want.

From Noel Pearson to the guys wandering around Alice Springs late at night.

Once a government is elected, they don’t quite listen anyways. They go ahead with their proposals and we all have to suck eggs.

All we can do is annoy them and vote them out.

Maybe we need a proper indigenous congress, fund it and let them make decisions about where the resources should go.

We shift money around to groups like there’s no tomorrow as it is.

Not socialism, just a fair go.

Not interested in overseas corps who don’t pay tax. They can go.

We are happy to give overseas companies tax breaks but “pat the indigenous people on the head” and tell them to suck it up with no actual power.

“ you’ve had your say, too bad, Utah Coal is going to start mining your sacred lands tomorrow.”

“ But…”

“ Nah, it’s all fair, you’ve had your say”

It’s not sounding in line with the propaganda.
Even outcome from a Yes vote and the Voice is better than the status quo...

Case in point:

But @the phantom menace, the yes vote has a few dogs in the fight.

Karl on TV, the LNP and Murdoch. That’s a couple of million votes for free.
I'm aware the LNP (well at least their leadership - not Julian Leeser MP and others) and Murdoch are on the No side... is Karl the clown on the No side now too?

I have faith that the vast majority of people under say age 35 don't watch Karl, listen to the LNP or watch/read Murdoch... and will just look at a question like this and say "Stupid Boomers, why wouldn't you vote Yes?".

Yes to constitutional recognition and the Voice just makes a lot of sense, from a basic fairness and equity perspective.

Bandwagon

There was no referendum to see if indigenous people wanted a voice and certainly no referendum to see if they adopted the constitution.

It should be grass roots thing asking these two questions at least to all indigenous people to see what they want.

The Uluru statement was pretty much exactly that mate, it's the result of many years of work by indegenous folks the country over.

I read up on it, they seem to have met with
1,200 out of 820,000 people who identify as being indigenous.

So not the more widespread and massive indigenous referendum I thought would put more issues on the table.

But they say it’s big and comprehensive as far as they could manage.

sources:

and

As for truth, let’s be straight up, the truth is that we have a capitalist system that rewards greed, cheating and worships personal wealth.

All bets are off with respect to indigenous, poor people etc. The big end of town pays the lip service only.

You can have a voice, but you can’t have any actual power. You can’t actually change anything. I think thats how it works.

All the fat profits the banks, qantas , retailers, petrol companies and insurance companies are making …is simply obscene.

Truth!

For example ? What new policies do the LNP have that are being opposed by the left ?

The IPA is a think tank funded by Gina and they hammer home policies to pollies and the Murdoch press and sky by supplying quotes and interviews. To keep the commentary on track.

Essentially they want to undo everything climate change. Undo everything which regulates the workplace including min wage. Undo free speech parameters. Dilute the ABC to childrens programs and docos so they don’t compete with paywalls. Abolish (employer) compulsory superannuation contributions.

So other than nuclear, they are really proposing to undo rather than introduce. Do you have any examples of new policy from the right that the left won’t support ?

View attachment 79523
Rolling back failed ideas is what conservatism is all about ffs

I was thinking if the voice gets up, we should probably ask them about a proposed site for a nuclear waste dump.

That could generate a lot of extra income to help run indigenous programs and raise the standard of living for poor and needy people.

My indigenous friends are pretty generous, they wouldn’t mind sharing stuff.

And we may as well build a few power plants to help with affordability and the global warming.

Then we can better transition to less dangerous sources. Spend more time on better solutions.

Power all the evs and stuff, help clean up the grubbiness.

Cheap power is good for the economy, take pressure off our oil imports etc.

We have all this electricity infrastructure in place. If it gets too expensive, we can’t survive.

I was thinking if the voice gets up, we should probably ask them about a proposed site for a nuclear waste dump.

That could generate a lot of extra income to help run indigenous programs and raise the standard of living for poor and needy people.

My indigenous friends are pretty generous, they wouldn’t mind sharing stuff.

And we may as well build a few power plants to help with affordability and the global warming.

Then we can better transition to less dangerous sources. Spend more time on better solutions.

Power all the evs and stuff, help clean up the grubbiness.

Cheap power is good for the economy, take pressure off our oil imports etc.

We have all this electricity infrastructure in place. If it gets too expensive, we can’t survive.
I was thinking we could keep it at your house.

Bandwagon

This way he can show he isn’t motivated by racism while simultaneously highlighting Albanese’s incompetence.

It's pretty clear Spud's motivation has nothing ( or at least very little ) to do with racism.

It's all about party politics.

But honestly, if you want to talk about incompetence, there's a whole nine years of nothingness to refer to from the previous coalition government.

It’s a non footy thread, lots of interesting points of view.

Im happy to consider and argue all sides of the voice.

I liked the ad when the Aunty said “we’ve been here for 65,000 years!”

But Albo swaying and clapping out of time to Blue Sky Mine doesn’t cut it. Mouthing the wrong words and humming along. Nup.

But I understand @Poupou Escobar when he says, treat people as you find them.

Say veterans, people who have faced death and terrible pain and suffering defending our constitution, that is so we can all vote and join a party or whatever, are they not worthy of extra political rights?

Do we allocate them an extra quarter vote (say) in recognition of their service?

Theoretically, they risk life and limb for everyone. Greens, Protestors, Marxists, Fascists, you name it.

Should they get a special say on defence issues?

We are supposed to be buying those expensive nuclear subs aren’t we?

Maybe some special political status will help them. Too many sign out early.

Eelogical

It’s a non footy thread, lots of interesting points of view.

Im happy to consider and argue all sides of the voice.

I liked the ad when the Aunty said “we’ve been here for 65,000 years!”

But Albo swaying and clapping out of time to Blue Sky Mine doesn’t cut it. Mouthing the wrong words and humming along. Nup.

But I understand @Poupou Escobar when he says, treat people as you find them.

Say veterans, people who have faced death and terrible pain and suffering defending our constitution, that is so we can all vote and join a party or whatever, are they not worthy of extra political rights?

Do we allocate them an extra quarter vote (say) in recognition of their service?

Theoretically, they risk life and limb for everyone. Greens, Protestors, Marxists, Fascists, you name it.

Should they get a special say on defence issues?

We are supposed to be buying those expensive nuclear subs aren’t we?

Maybe some special political status will help them. Too many sign out early.
Maybe you should go look see in the direction that I suggested. You will find your nirvana.

nirvana GIF