Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

You should have hit the El Jannah at Penrith... $12.50 for a quarter chicken, chips and a drink. It's always good, you always know what you're getting. That's about as good value for money as you're going to find anywhere in Sydney I reckon

That's dirt cheap for sure!

You should have hit the El Jannah at Penrith... $12.50 for a quarter chicken, chips and a drink. It's always good, you always know what you're getting. That's about as good value for money as you're going to find anywhere in Sydney I reckon

It is great value. I love El Jannah. Far better then Frangos imo

I've waited 10 mins for fish and chips at a local.
Yes, 20 minutes might sound excessive, but if I know I'm going to get a truly good meal at the end for a reasonable price, I would generally wait.
I too take my lunch every day to work. I make it the night before.
These Bahn Mi days at Abbotsford were a treat twice in 6 months. And I only had to wait 5 mins.

10 mins is fine I think. All fish and chips I'd expect that or for a burger. My local does decent fish and chips. Hand cut chips as well which is rare.

I just eat a punnet of berries and a banana at work and a tuna and tomato paste wrap as well.

I'd never wait 20 mins for takeaway food.
There is a place in Melbourne called Lune that people queue at 5am for their croissants. It’s across the road from where we stay at the Grand Hyatt. The queue always goes up the hill all the way to gucci. They shut the doors when sold out.

No I haven’t. f**k that.

There is a place in Melbourne called Lune that people queue at 5am for their croissants. It’s across the road from where we stay at the Grand Hyatt. The queue always goes up the hill all the way to gucci. They shut the doors when sold out.

No I haven’t. f**k that.
Lune is opening a store soon at Martin Place Metro under the 1 Elizabeth st tower.
I've read many reviews that it's over rated.
Maybe you could give us a report once it opens.

King-Gutho94

I just saw dashcam footage of that accident on the Harbour bridge yesterday.

Anyone else seen it.

My brother said he was actually driving back over the bridge like 15 mins before that happened after looking at a job in the city.

Despite going over the Harbour Bridge about 1000 times I reckon i have personally driven over the Harbour Bridge like twice in my life i always get public transport or been a passenger so i must admit i have never paid attention to the actual lanes on there and how easy it is to drift the other side.

Incorrect

Anyone else seen it.

My brother said he was actually driving back over the bridge like 15 mins before that happened after looking at a job in the city.

Despite going over the Harbour Bridge about 1000 times I reckon i have personally driven over the Harbour Bridge like twice in my life i always get public transport or been a passenger so i must admit i have never paid attention to the actual lanes on there and how easy it is to drift the other side.
Haven't seen the footage but I'm a bit the same as you, I've traversed the bridge a heap of times over the years but usually by train or as a passenger. Whenever I've driven over it I've always been kind of edgy, not being overly familiar with that part of town and the different exits and funnels etc etc, conscious of not ending up somewhere completely opposite to where I'm trying to get to....

I can definitely understand how a person (particularly some elderly drivers or visitors from interstate or overseas) not familiar with the way the traffic controls change can end up confused and maybe drift in to the wrong lane... Are there no physical barriers/bollard-type things that get erected to indicate the direction of traffice changes from north->south and vice versa?? Been that long since I drove it as you can tell....

Anyone else seen it.

The lack of separation for oncoming traffic has always spooked me TBH. Yes I saw the vision. Was the merkin on his/her mobile phone ?

King-Gutho94

Haven't seen the footage but I'm a bit the same as you, I've traversed the bridge a heap of times over the years but usually by train or as a passenger. Whenever I've driven over it I've always been kind of edgy, not being overly familiar with that part of town and the different exits and funnels etc etc, conscious of not ending up somewhere completely opposite to where I'm trying to get to....

I can definitely understand how a person (particularly some elderly drivers or visitors from interstate or overseas) not familiar with the way the traffic controls change can end up confused and maybe drift in to the wrong lane... Are there no physical barriers/bollard-type things that get erected to indicate the direction of traffice changes from north->south and vice versa?? Been that long since I drove it as you can tell....
I am the same as you then i reckon its at least 10 years i have driven on it and that was to help my old man out when i was 20 years old on an urgent labouring job somewhere in wynyard and i had to drive in.

I couldn't drive in there now i wouldn't know where to go once i am over the bridge.

I can walk everywhere from Wynyard to Bangaroo/Circular Quay/Town Hall/Central and know where i am going.

But driving i wouldn't have a clue whats one lane and what's not. Throw in the tram its a mess to drive around.

In terms of the bridge no there isn't a barrier my brother reckons you cant put them there.

As they rotate the extra lanes north & sound bound depending on peak times.

So i assume in the morning south bound has an extra lane and northbound will get an extra lane due to traffic returning home to help the flow of traffic.

Incorrect

I am the same as you then i reckon its at least 10 years i have driven on it and that was to help my old man out when i was 20 years old on an urgent labouring job somewhere in wynyard and i had to drive in.

I couldn't drive in there now i wouldn't know where to go once i am over the bridge.

I can walk everywhere from Wynyard to Bangaroo/Circular Quay/Town Hall/Central and know where i am going.

But driving i wouldn't have a clue whats one lane and what's not. Throw in the tram its a mess to drive around.

In terms of the bridge no there isn't a barrier my brother reckons you cant put them there.

As they rotate the extra lanes north & sound bound depending on peak times.

So i assume in the morning south bound has an extra lane and northbound will get an extra lane due to traffic returning home to help the flow of traffic.
I was saying to the missus last night, and I'm sure plenty of others thought the same, it just goes to show you can be driving along, happily minding your own business and doing the right thing when all of a sudden a brain fart or lapse in concentration by someone else can ruin your life, if not end it... Really sad

King-Gutho94

The lack of separation for oncoming traffic has always spooked me TBH. Yes I saw the vision. Was the merkin on his/her mobile phone ?
Well looking at how they drifted i can only assume it was.

Unless they started snoozing. It was a good 2-3 seconds before the collision.

I just can't imagine being in that other lane and seeing a car go drifting towards you from the opposite direction at a fast speed and you have f**k all time to react with no space.

I was driving back from the Hunter Valley on GF day and i was merging into the middle lane from the left lane somewhere on the central coast part of the M2.

Lucky i was going 105-110kmh and was merging slowly this nutjob was going 120km/h and he merged at the same time from the right lane and he almost clipped me.

Lucky i was quick enough to react a couple of seconds quicker to keep half of my Hilux in both lanes and stopped merging once i realised this idiot was cutting across on a diagonal angle from the right lane. I just settled myself back into the left lane.

While the arsehole sped off and was moving between lanes until i lost sight of him.

There’s a growing trend among younger individuals and reckless drivers who are trying to join the 200 mph club and filming their exploits. Driving at such speeds, especially on Australia’s less-than-ideal roads, is incredibly dangerous and moronic.

Well looking at how they drifted i can only assume it was.

Unless they started snoozing. It was a good 2-3 seconds before the collision.

I just can't imagine being in that other lane and seeing a car go drifting towards you from the opposite direction at a fast speed and you have f**k all time to react with no space.

I was driving back from the Hunter Valley on GF day and i was merging into the middle lane from the left lane somewhere on the central coast part of the M2.

Lucky i was going 105-110kmh and was merging slowly this nutjob was going 120km/h and he merged at the same time from the right lane and he almost clipped me.

Lucky i was quick enough to react a couple of seconds quicker to keep half of my Hilux in both lanes and stopped merging once i realised this idiot was cutting across on a diagonal angle from the right lane. I just settled myself back into the left lane.

While the arsehole sped off and was moving between lanes until i lost sight of him.
Reminds me of that bus driver who was jailed last week or so after killing a bunch of people after a wedding in the Hunter Valley. He was pumping music and on the mic making the trip all about him. "watch me take this corner, woah" people were complaining he was driving way too fast. Then the fatal roundabout where he warned everyone to hang on LOL before it overturned. IIRC the f**ker was toasted on opioids.

Agree 100%

The new interchange near Anzac bridge is confusing as f**k. I've tried to get off and missed it. You have to do a U turn then go back over the Amzac bridge into the city amd wrap around to get back to the correct exit. UNSURE why they don't stripe the lanes so you know your in the right one or Mark them. I've seen this done at some spots amd it's very helpfull

There’s a growing trend among younger individuals and reckless drivers who are trying to join the 200 mph club and filming their exploits. Driving at such speeds, especially on Australia’s less-than-ideal roads, is incredibly dangerous and moronic.

I had a mate who would play a game called chicken. He would close his eyes and drive thru a cross intersection. One day he T boned a car. Nobody died but he f**ked his car and wasnt insured.
I thought what a f**ken idiot. He reckons it gave him a rush. I never heard of anything so dumb in my life.