Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

There are some merkins out there. I had a builder at my house and his sparkie was a Balkan chap called Drago. The builder's offsider referred to him as Dago when he was not around.

I actually had to create an unwanted and awkward moment when I asked that he does not refer to him in a derogatory manner in my house and in earshot of my kids. The old merkin looked as me as if I was a nut-job and laughed/mumbled under his breath.

I am sure that when I turned my back I became the new put down. What a jerk.

There are some merkins out there. I had a builder at my house and his sparkie was a Balkan chap called Drago. The builder's offsider referred to him as Dago when he was not around.

I actually had to create an unwanted and awkward moment when I asked that he does not refer to him in a derogatory manner in my house and in earshot of my kids. The old merkin looked as me as if I was a nut-job and laughed/mumbled under his breath.

I am sure that when I turned my back I became the new put down. What a jerk.
I would have torn the old merkin a new arse.

There certainly are. I had a mate (may he RIP) whose dad described the various nationalities who staffed his IT desk as being 'varying shades of nig-nog'. He couldn't believe it when one of them complained.

Did she call ALL the crows players monkeys? .... if she only called one/some then why?

PS: I honestly dont know what she said, havent read all the details

She called Eddie Bets an ape and it was because he did something good and plays for the opposition and was within earshot and he heard it.

According to her its not racist because she is also part indigenous and she is not offended by being called an ape herself.

Make of that what you will, she has since done a back flip because of all the shit she copped on social media and pressure from the AFL.

There certainly are. I had a mate (may he RIP) whose dad described the various nationalities who staffed his IT desk as being 'varying shades of nig-nog'. He couldn't believe it when one of them complained.

Yes I am sure that he reminisces like Pauline about the days when she fondly recalled a time when Greeks and Italians were called “Mediterranean Descendants” and they “simply got on with it".

Times have changed however some people haven't.

http://www.sbs.com.au/comedy/articl...racist-she-could-try-not-saying-racist-things

In this country, this also seems to be a particular issue in the closed world of AFL and its fans.
f**king disgraceful sport.
When similar comments come from people like Eddy McGuire and Kevin Sheedy, the sport has a serious cultural problem.
I thought the white Australia policy was ditched in the 60's?
Not in the AFL world, apparently.

She called Eddie Bets an ape and it was because he did something good and plays for the opposition and was within earshot and he heard it.

According to her its not racist because she is also part indigenous and she is not offended by being called an ape herself.

Make of that what you will, she has since done a back flip because of all the shit she copped on social media and pressure from the AFL.

She has (apparently) some aboriginal genetic heritage. That doesn't mean that she is a member of an indigenous community (she may be...I dunno), or suffers the same treatment as people who are more obviously of indigenous descent. My great grandfather was Jewish. I don't consider that license to get stuck into the Jews.

Eelogical

Just taking this opportunity to wish everyone on here a safe and happy EASTER. I'm doing the seafood BBQ thing on Friday with friends and family then we are all going to the Blue Mountains on sunday for beers, pizza and talk shit. Station Bar at Katoomba wants to take my money. If you're on the road, take care and have a DD available at all times.

hybrideel

Why not re-read your post but remove "2 mates" and insert "2 people on the bus".
That's kind of the question i was asking.It just seems odd that you can say the same thing to 2 different people but the colour of their skin determines if it's ok or not. I suppose noone really knows what someone has been through in their life and people just need to think before they speak

Ron Jeremy

Work at parramatta now, ducking awsime place. Chicks are awesome - spend my lunch time accidentally bumping into tits.

For anyone who is interested it was not at the game but it was a Facebook rant

AFL fan behind racist Facebook rant wants to apologise to Eddie Betts
7News Published 2 hrs, 55 mins ago
SHARE TWEET EMAIL
The AFL fan behind a series of racial slurs aimed at Crows star Eddie Betts said she wants to issue an apology.

Maxine Spratt told 7 News that she had received death threats after labelling Betts as an ape after her beloved Port Adelaide lost to the Crows in Showdown 42 on Saturday night.

Now the 31-year-old wants to apologise and say sorry to Betts in person.

The mother now says she deeply regrets her comments and she "shouldn't have put it (abusive comments) on there".

Crows skipper Taylor Walker said he and Betts had been left shattered by the comments.

Ms Spratt's abusive rants were one of four racist incidents that marred the packed Showdown at Adelaide Oval.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/video/wat...rant-wants-to-apologise-to-eddie-betts/#page1

Happy MEel

Just taking this opportunity to wish everyone on here a safe and happy EASTER. I'm doing the seafood BBQ thing on Friday with friends and family then we are all going to the Blue Mountains on sunday for beers, pizza and talk shit. Station Bar at Katoomba wants to take my money. If you're on the road, take care and have a DD available at all times.
Mate, I'm just up the road in Blackheath for the weekend. Should be a cracker of a long weekend. The Ivanhoe is beckoning for my hard earned.