Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Incorrect

When I was in primary school, I remember hearing the term Mediterranean Descendant regularly in the playground, usually in a derogatory way if memory serves... I'm certain I never used that term - I always thought it was a rude/hateful word and you'd get in to trouble for saying it. I knew it was directed at mainly the kids of maltese, greek or italian background... I had friends then, and do to this day, from all of those ethnicities, plus many others.

Just no nig-nogs. Period.

Jokes!! :p

When I was a kid (7 or 8 yrs old) I used to live about 10kms from Woolgoolga (which has a large Indian population), and I'd travel 30 minutes on the bus each day. I'd often sit with my friend Boota Something, whose family grew bananas. Most of the Indian families on the bus were also banana farmers, and if you've ever spent time in a banana shed, you'll know that they stink to buggery. I used to have quite calm debates with Boota about whether all Indians stank. I was convinced that they did. He very calmly refuted my claims, arguing that no Indians stank. This was the daily bus conversation for weeks, until one day a teacher was on the bus and heard what I was saying. I got quite a lecture when I got to school.

Ive had run ins with quite a few over years. Agreeing to a price and not wanting to pay once done. Sure not every Indian are like this.
And of course i know this but its a general issue lot of other people i know have had same drama. Just the other week had an indian guy buy something of ebay. Put in car then wouldnt leave till gave a discount .Had to Throw 50 at him to leave.....
So im racist#hindy111

My dad grew up in the country (macksville area) ... and he often said poor things about indigenous people ... it really irked me as a kid ... i later found out one of his best mates when he was young was actually aborignal .... i came to understand that he had had bad experiences and seen some pretty poor behaviour when he was growing up and that was why he said the things he said

Anyways my point here is from your last sentence, you are 100% right.

And that, I am hoping is what is going to carry us into the future.

What saddens me is my sister. She lives in the Shire, after having grown up in the West, and SHE has been what I believe to be corrupted by her husband and her friends.
They are aghast that the Chinese at buying into the area.
Their comments disgust me.

Incorrect

What saddens me is my sister. She lives in the Shire, after having grown up in the West, and SHE has been what I believe to be corrupted by her husband and her friends.
Is there a "Australia - Love it or Leave it" or "f**k off we're full" sticker on your brother-in-law's car??

lol.
There's not.
But they make their views abundantly clear.
It really makes me cranky considering half of the partnership is generally ok. Then they get talking about this sort of stuff and I lose it with them.

I recall seeing a SBS Insight show once upon a time on immigration, not long after the Cronulla rights.

Merkins were against anyone who looked different to them and were unashamedly vocal about it.

A TripleJ/SBS presenter Annette Shun Wah was there and was defending the immigrant side of the argument. One skippy merkin was trying to suggest that he had more rights than her because he was 3rd or 4th generation aussie. Annette Shun Wah cheerfully informed him that her family had been in Australia since the Victorian Gold Rush in 1850's. Merkin had to pick his jaw up from the ground. The point is that we are all immigrants and to suggest that you are better or have more rights than anyone else is laughable.

upload_2017-4-13_12-32-46.jpeg

I recall seeing a SBS Insight show once upon a time on immigration, not long after the Cronulla rights.

Merkins were against anyone who looked different to them and were unashamedly vocal about it.

A TripleJ/SBS presenter Annette Shun Wah was there and was defending the immigrant side of the argument. One skippy merkin was trying to suggest that he had more rights than her because he was 3rd or 4th generation aussie. Annette Shun Wah cheerfully informed him that her family had been in Australia since the Victorian Gold Rush in 1850's. Merkin had to pick his jaw up from the ground. The point is that we are all immigrants and to suggest that you are better or have more rights than anyone else is laughable.

View attachment 12426
What a dopey merkin. Doesn't even know any basic history about the country he lives in.

He is lucky he doesn't have to sit an immigration test. He is probably too stupid to pass it.

Incorrect

What a dopey merkin. Doesn't even know any basic history about the country he lives in.

He is lucky he doesn't have to sit an immigration test. He is probably too stupid to pass it.
Yeah but you know, he's got that southern cross tattoo on his calf so what could be more Strayan than that ya drongo?!

When were our schools ever not multi cultural ? There were heaps of Mediterraneans at my old school, Marist Bros Parramatta, now days they are just from a different part of Mediterrania.

I dont get a lot of this us and them stuff, we are all people, end of.

I got a good mate whom I played cricket with for about 20 years and he is very dark skinned and one of the nicest people I have ever met. I dont see him as an indigenous mate, he is a mate. The fact that he is indigenous means absolutely nothing. He is a mate and thats all there is to it.

I think sometimes we make too much of a big deal about the us. We are all us.

I dont think the shire is as bad as you merkins make out ... theres quite a mix in most parts of it these days ... the actual beach suburbs are probably still home to many southern cross tatts etc tho

I grew up (yes many moons ago) in the hills and there was barely any foreigners

84 Baby

It's not just the SHIRE (f**king stupid name as it is), northern beaches are the f**king same. And the ones I know from both areas, none of them grew up in those areas, they're all former westies. One of the guys I know and his useless missus, both of their sets of parents are Euro immigrants (PARENTS FFS!), both were raised and lived until recently in Parra/Ryde area and both complain constantly about the Chinese invasion on the beaches. When I asked them how many Asians actually lived near them, they didn't have any

The place that is really starting to BOOM is Penrith. It will be the new Parramatta. Money is being spent. And properties are increasing.

I have never understood why people are so fascinated with the beach. Is it really that exciting? I'm happy to go a few times a year but people wank on over it - I got to live near the beach... Oh the salt water is so good for my skin. Oh I eat organic and healthy. I don't touch sugar. The AIR is much better here. I couldn't live anywhere else.
I like being a westie bogun

Eelogical

Question 1. How quick did it take Bob Hawke to skull a yard glass of beer to become the new world record holder?

I'd like some advice from you sage forum members.

I got engaged on Thursday, and my fiancee insists we should move to Queensland.

I've given it much thought, and I decided she's right - but I've no idea in which order to do things.

I don't really liley job, so that's easy.

I'm selling my apartment.

But what does one do first?