Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

phantom eel

100% agree with that too. Only issue is if you take out the source (whoever/wherever that is) there is very high chance a new group will arise.
A new/different group will arise eventually. The middle east has long been unstable, and they always do.

But do a good job of taking out the source (likely at that Deir ez-Zor place in eastern Syria) and the neighbouring four factions will re-claim the IS controlled land, and we've bought some time before the next bunch of nutter rise up for their cause and start recruiting loners in the west.

You are so painfully naive. You remind me of those aid workers who go over there and try and help only to be later beheaded on tv.
Please dont lecture me about being naive. Let's face it, this shit fight is all about your collective imaginary friends.
Did Waleed tell you that? Waleed also believes in a false prophet that married and later raped a 9 year old girl. Don't you realise these merkins reckon that after they defeats us in Syria they will take over Rome where the ped returns on a golden horse ?

We must crush them.
I have never watched that teenie magazine show thanks.

We can post stuff about your Old Testament God too you know. Get a grip. Your God and their God have centuries of blood on their hands. As I said earlier. It's Islam this decade. The decade before it was white christian lunatics blowing up family planning clinics. Decades before that it was the Catholics and Prodestants. FMD put a line through religious based dramas in history and we'd all be pretty peaceful.

Please dont lecture me about being naive. Let's face it, this shit fight is all about your collective imaginary friends.

We can post stuff about your Old Testament God too you know. Get a grip. Your God and their God have centuries of blood on their hands. As I said earlier. It's Islam this decade. The decade before it was white christian lunatics blowing up family planning clinics. Decades before that it was the Catholics and Prodestants. FMD put a line through religious based dramas in history and we'd all be pretty peaceful.

It's a different discussion entirely I suppose but humanity is not meant to be peaceful. It's an unfortunate truth. I am not religious myself, but I am also not a militant atheist like so many people these days are. We evolved through conflict and that would be the case with or without religion tbh.

Old Testament is The Jewish belief. New Testament is where it's at. Serbian Orthodox, remember ?

On a completely different matter again, watching Cricket Legends with Henry Olonga. Really eye opening stuff

It's a different discussion entirely I suppose but humanity is not meant to be peaceful. It's an unfortunate truth. I am not religious myself, but I am also not a militant atheist like so many people these days are. We evolved through conflict and that would be the case with or without religion tbh.

Love to be given an example of who or what is a militant athiest. Sounds like a term invented by those who are offended by those who question their faith.

Strange because philosophy figures greatly in religious writtings and craves such investigative thinking.

Love to be given an example of who or what is a militant athiest. Sounds like a term invented by those who are offended by those who question their faith.

Strange because philosophy figures greatly in religious writtings and craves such investigative thinking.

Militant is my own hyperbole. Sorry, slipped into habit. I have a friend who is an aggressive atheist and it shits him so I call him a militant atheist. Comes from that stupid skit show ages ago with the "Militant Black Guy"

This is exactly what political groups like IS want you to think. Target the religion and ignore the root cause, which in turn allows them to play the religious persecution card and continue to recruit poor saps who buy it hook line and sinker.

This is about power in the middle east. Religion is just the weapon and you've fallen for it.

And people from the right saw no issue with conservatives portraying the lynching of Barack Obama. Both sides are precious, one eyed idiots, plain and simple

Spot on with both comments. Pity your marine biologising isn't as impressive.

This is all just going around in circles. It's quite ridiculous really.
If any of us had the real answers, the world would be at peace with itself, because smarter people than ourselves on a RL forum would have already solved the problem. The discussion I've seen so far here has just been a dick measuring contest.

All I know is that any war against terrorism is impossible to win.
I went to Castle Towers today. I could very well have been a lunatic, walked into the food court wearing a backpack and killed 100 people. Terrorism is in itself, almost impossible to prevent. We can suggest blowing up the Syrian headquarters of these nutters or whatever. The fact is it'll be a war that can never be won.
I'm actually very aware and extremely vigilant when I go out in public these days, particularly when I'm with my kids.

Gronk, perhaps you can illustrate where the soft liberal lefty approach you seem to advocate has in any way diminished the savage attacks by the militant Muslims

As Avenger suggests , the Islamic religion and even the majority of their followers seem reluctant to take any sort of action, their condemnations always seem a little muted

Then again if people lfrom the left like Kathy Griffin see no wrong in holding up the severed head of the President, I guess that underlines the difficulty the left have is seeing this radical religion as evil. I am in the States at the moment and the majority of people are appalled at people like her and their insensitivity
Bad comparison. Kathy Griffin was royally f**ken roasted by everyone for that stupid stunt (including the left)...and so she f**ken should have been.

Kornstar

If any of us had the real answers, the world would be at peace with itself, because smarter people than ourselves on a RL forum would have already solved the problem. The discussion I've seen so far here has just been a dick measuring contest.

I went to Castle Towers today. I could very well have been a lunatic, walked into the food court wearing a backpack and killed 100 people. Terrorism is in itself, almost impossible to prevent. We can suggest blowing up the Syrian headquarters of these nutters or whatever. The fact is it'll be a war that can never be won.
I'm actually very aware and extremely vigilant when I go out in public these days, particularly when I'm with my kids.

The war was lost long ago when anyone decided to get into bed with anyone in the Middle East region.......

phantom eel

I note that didn't prevent you from submitting your own sub-par entry, complete with prefacing (shrinakge?) excuse...

Ohhhh as if there are smarter people than us on this forum ... you're dreamin' mate

But seriously, i kinda agree ... i cant see any way this sort of stuff can be stopped - sad but true ... just have to hope you are not in the wrong place at the wrong time

It's not ridiculous. It's stimulating. Nothing better than a good high octane discussion about serious matters to break up the nonsense we usually carry on with in here, lol. Yeah, we're not going to solve the worlds problems, but we're all learning and learning is never a bad thing IMO.

I truly believe that the world won't be at peace until we evolve further. Terrorism is just a larger expression of cultural, political, or economic conflicts within a given region that in many cases have existed for thousands of years.It's been going on forever and will continue in various forms, you are absolutely spot on there. We, like other intelligent animals, are born from conflict. I always laugh at the flowery "only humans fight wars" garbage that a lot of people seem to genuinely believe.

Ultimately, people need to understand that we are still animals. In many ways, being smarter than other animals is more of a curse than a blessing.