Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Hit 40 batting 7 in a miserable score of 120...spend the rest of the night with your brain telling you it's 100% your fault for the inevitable loss because you're a miserable failure of a captain and you got out.

This mental illness thing is a bit shit sometimes

Your mentally ill? What grade cricket?

Hit 40 batting 7 in a miserable score of 120...spend the rest of the night with your brain telling you it's 100% your fault for the inevitable loss because you're a miserable failure of a captain and you got out.

This mental illness thing is a bit shit sometimes
Losing is good for them anyway. It’ll build character.

@Hollywood Jesus and @Gary Gutful, you guys need to listen to Jordan B Peterson’s podcast. Interesting stuff that focuses on what you guys are talking about. He can be a bit of a snippy merkin too which makes him even more interesting.

Been a fan of Peterson for quite a while, now. Posted a link to his series on the Psychology underlying the Bible not too long ago. I'm half way through the 12 part lecture series. He would easily be my favourite modern thinker.

I don't think you're crazy, but I have a different take on the 'consciously manufactured' argument (at least not in the sense of a coordinated effort). To me what you observe results from lots of single acts of opportunism (on behalf of lots of organisations / people) that has been facilitated by technology and the slow march of time. Encouraging the cult of the narcissist helps sell shit. The 'dividing us' part is a byproduct.

And to that I'll just reply with one of my crazy conspiracy answers and say...sit back and watch, Baz. The last week alone has seen significant moves against the Deep State and that war is only going to heat up from here on in.

Like in the never ending story. He has the chance to rebuild fantasia and create his new world and reality after going through the darkness of nothingness.
Instead of bringing back his dead mother who he misses he choses revenge and scares the bullies who haunted him.

People are only a reflection of what they see right? So if you see selfish people then well your falling into the trap of darkness or nothingness.
You get too see and view the world how you want. Create your own fantasia. Has the world created selfish people, Or have you created them in your own mind?

I am sure your smart enough to see where I am going with this. But your calling out people with wealth f**kwits and selfish.Why was it their fault that was the seed put into there head. I am sure they also go through nothingness and wonder wtf is the point of it all while realizing we are all the same. I bet they have as many ups and downs with the added stress of a reputation,ego and status to keep up..
There life is no more important then yours. They end up as nothing as well but probably struggle with the thought more once they realise what they have become.

Anyhows your blaming someone else for from what I can see is your own problems with society. And it is kind of sounding like a Never ending Story

Probably the best post I have seen you write, hindy.

However, I think you're wrong on two fronts, mate.

Firstly, my above comment illustrates how I think we have all been manipulated into a state of social balkanisation. This is a state of which I am consciously aware but which the vast majority of people are not only blind to, but have been willingly led into.

Secondly, putting that perspective aside, I'll risk being an arrogant wanker and say that I see the selfishness of the world while others don't. People have become stupid and self-serving at an alarmingly rapid pace, and your comment above can often aptly be applied to them but not so much to me (although I doubt I am entirely free of it).

Nevertheless, I don't think you're wrong with your post. Just wrong in applying it to me, as arrogant as that sounds.

Been a fan of Peterson for quite a while, now. Posted a link to his series on the Psychology underlying the Bible not too long ago. I'm half way through the 12 part lecture series. He would easily be my favourite modern thinker.

And to that I'll just reply with one of my crazy conspiracy answers and say...sit back and watch, Baz. The last week alone has seen significant moves against the Deep State and that war is only going to heat up from here on in.

Probably the best post I have seen you write, hindy.

However, I think you're wrong on two fronts, mate.

Firstly, my above comment illustrates how I think we have all been manipulated into a state of social balkanisation. This is a state of which I am consciously aware but which the vast majority of people are not only blind to, but have been willingly led into.

Secondly, putting that perspective aside, I'll risk being an arrogant wanker and say that I see the selfishness of the world while others don't. People have become stupid and self-serving at an alarmingly rapid pace, and your comment above can often aptly be applied to them but not so much to me (although I doubt I am entirely free of it).

Nevertheless, I don't think you're wrong with your post. Just wrong in applying it to me, as arrogant as that sounds.

My point is more the fact it would be their own demon. Selfishness breeds greed and means they would always be chasing happiness. Kinda like chasing a rainbow, never get it. A false dream or illusion that yes was created by society and beaten into you as a kid.

I reckon an issue that will rise with the new generwtion is nothingness setting in at a younger age leading too mass depression. People unable to find any self worth.

I will be honest. My view of things changed after experimenting with mushrooms I used too pick in Katoomba. I become more earthy and helped me put things into perspective. What is and what is not important. Feel more connected as a whole rather then an individual. And made me a better person.

Your mentally ill? What grade cricket?

Depression/anxiety disorder.

Second grade cricket. Stupid thing to get stressed out over, but that's how it works I suppose. Good to vent semi-anonymously but. It's underrated just being able to have a therapeutic whinge

And I would say to that, hindy, that the nihilism you talk about, the emptiness, the lack of self-worth, has been deliberately manufactured into us over the last 50 years.

All the things that give us self-worth - responsibility, family, community, spirituality - have been systematically dismantled and replaced with a degenerate individuality, seen on the left as self-anointed victimisation and on the right as greed.

And we've eaten that spoonful of shit with the biggest grin we could display, and begged for more. We've become braindead sheep and we have no one to blame but ourselves.

It's underrated just being able to have a therapeutic whinge

Articulating your thoughts is incredibly powerful.

When they're in your head they are still not completely formed and semi-chaotic, and that makes them hard to manage or conquer. But, putting them into words, either orally or in written form, helps you to distill the chaos down to a kind of manageable order.

Once you have done that the problem lays itself out a little easier. Once that happens, it seems surmountable, or even perfectly logical, and that makes it easier for you to understand and overcome.

And I would say to that, hindy, that the nihilism you talk about, the emptiness, the lack of self-worth, has been deliberately manufactured into us over the last 50 years.

All the things that give us self-worth - responsibility, family, community, spirituality - have been systematically dismantled and replaced with a degenerate individuality, seen on the left as self-anointed victimisation and on the right as greed.

And we've eaten that spoonful of shit with the biggest grin we could display, and begged for more. We've become braindead sheep and we have no one to blame but ourselves.

Can Mushrooms awaken people ? Ive wondered this but then I think it will only help people who thoughts or mind was seeking that to begin with. So probabbly not.

Depression/anxiety disorder.

Second grade cricket. Stupid thing to get stressed out over, but that's how it works I suppose. Good to vent semi-anonymously but. It's underrated just being able to have a therapeutic whinge

Second grades a decent level.