Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread

Fanbase

Listening to local ABC radio today and the female hosts turned the whole race and racing industry into a femenist rant today. Boring. Female jockey who won a race at Kembla Grange yesterday said in a few years there will be no male riders in racing. Is that sexist? what crap lol.

1ff12e6e28a412e12c00eab72ecc30d0.jpg

monkey-jockeys.jpg

Google News AU ‏@GgNewsAU 19m19 minutes ago
Jamestown man caught drunk driving on homemade motorised esky to face court -

This wins the internet today.

Seems to be a copycat crime (from March 2014):

A Queensland man allegedly caught riding a motorised esky, containing 10 tallies of beer, two bags of cask wine, and up to six cans of bourbon, found himself in trouble after blowing more than six times the alcohol limit.
The 38-year-old man from Scarness was spotted by police who were conducting a Drink-Rite information night at the Torquay Hotel, allegedly riding the esky down the Charlton Esplanade bike path about 4.45pm on Friday.
The man has been issued with a notice to face the Hervey Bay Magistrates Court for offences including driving while under the influence of liquor, driving while unlicensed and driving an unregistered and uninsured motor vehicle.
Officer-in-charge Sergeant Darryn Morris said the case was unusual.
"[But] it is a serious issue due to one, the amount of alcohol he had on him at the time and two, in relation to those using these motorised devices that can cause serious injury to themselves or other people," he said.

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/queensland/queensland-man-riding-a-motorised-esky-charged-with-drink-driving-20140325-35ff8.html

What words did you put into Google to come up with that one Barry?

I'm thinking "drunken motorised esky bogan".

There is a driver-less car conference in Adelaide ATM. I heard a professor interviewed on the ABC saying that it will be decades before we say OK google and the car drives us to the weekender whilst you read a book.

Looking at what the latest mercedes offers (and throw in that reverse park assist that they have now), they must be pretty much at the limit of what can be achieved bar taking your hands off the wheel.

Standard assistance systems include collision prevention, crosswind assist and attention assist, while optional assistance systems include Distronic Plus adaptive cruise control, pedestrian detection, Blind-Spot Assist and Active Lane Keeping Assist.

The safety features extend further. Automatic emergency call, accident recovery and breakdown assistance come as standard, as do Remote Online services (which are free of charge for the first three years) that provide users with vehicle info from anywhere at anytime via an Internet platform.
http://www.gizmag.com/mercedes-benz-gls/40236/

I think there are some better uses of the technology. If the kids (dog, drunk friend) are getting a bit lippy, put em in the car and tell the car to go to Cobar or somewhere.

Haha. Growing up in the Northwest of Sydney. My brother was running amok in the streets with his 14yo mates, knocking over letter boxes etc. Skylarking you'd prolly call it.

The cops stopped them near Kingsdine Oval (Carlingford) and threw them in the paddy wagon. They drove out to Round Corner Dural and told them to get out. :lol: