Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread

Um Netherlands flag mofos. French flag -->
French-flag_tiny.jpg

CTvO2dMVEAA6KNs.jpg

I saw The Equalizer last night.

Aka - If Ray Donovan worked at Bunnings.

Great movie.

:thumb

Stephen King ‏@StephenKing 5h5 hours ago
Hating all Muslims for what happened in Paris is like hating all Christians because of the gay-hating Westboro Baptist Church.

http://i100.independent.co.uk/artic...source=indy&utm_medium=top5&utm_campaign=i100

When Charlie Hebdo and a Jewish supermarket in Paris were attacked at the beginning of this year by al-Qaeda, the world mourned for the dead - but many were quick to assign blame in the wrong places.

Every time a jihadist terror group carries out an atrocity, there are demands for the Muslim community at large to apologise for the actions of a few deranged individuals.

Sadly, in the wake of the Isis attack in Paris on Friday, there has been mounting xenophobic sentiment directed at Europe's Muslims and the incoming flux of refugees - who are fleeing the same barbarians in their home countries.

To people blaming refugees for attacks in Paris tonight. Do you not realise these are the people the refugees are trying to run away from..?

— Dan Holloway (@RFCdan) November 13, 2015

Time and time again, we seem to come down to the same question.

Reza Aslan, an academic at the University of California, was asked 'Does Islam promote violence?' when he was interviewed on CNN last September about female genital mutilation in "Muslim countries".

And luckily for everyone, he nailed exactly why making generalisations about Muslims is so impossible:

"Does Islam promote violence?" pic.twitter.com/3e2dQVeSxg
— Hulk (@Aaafiiqqq) May 27, 2015
"This is the problem. These conversations that we’re having aren’t really being had in any kind of legitimate way. We’re not talking about women in the Muslim world, we’re using two or three examples to justify a generalisation. That’s actually the definition of bigotry.

The problem is that you’re talking about a religion of one and a half billion people... and certainly it becomes very easy to just simply paint them all with a single brush by saying, ‘Well in Saudi Arabia women can’t drive,’ and saying that’s representative of Islam. That’s representative of Saudi Arabia."

There does seem to be a fair amount of ignorance and knee-jerking in this thread (as well as everywhere else in the world).

For starters, Islam is not a religion of peace. Read the Quran and the associated texts, it is definitely a religion of violence.

However, the vast majority of Muslims are nothing to worry about, but that's just because they're not real Muslims. You see, here's the thing...Fundamentalism is the only true form of religion. There is no "extremism", because extremism is only an unblemished interpretation of the holy doctrines. What we consider "moderate" Muslims are those that have gone away from the basics tenants of their faith (e.g. Sharia Law) and accepted our western liberalism, and so they are false.

Now, I'm cool with that. I don't like fundamentalist Islam so I'll take the false moderate any day of the week.

Still, the point is valid - Islam is a religion of violence and those that come from its home (the Middle East) come from a place that knows no peace. All they know is violence. They won't magically turn into Liberal westerners once they settle in Europe, the US or Australia. By and large, even if their intentions are pure, they will bring their violence with them.

What happened in Paris is only the beginning. Get used to it. It won't be going away any time soon. Even with Russia's help Daesh are going nowhere. They have too many sectarian allies (Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Turkey) to disappear into the night.

Yes, the vast majority of western Muslims are false moderates and, from our point of view, are cool. But as the concert hall showed, it only takes 2 or 3 guys with guns and scores die.

There is a problem and it is f**king massive.

The lefty viewpoint on the world is the biggest danger to us. Don't say anything or you're racist! Just let them all come here and don't do anything about it! How dare you say or do anything, you bigot!

This is the future the frothing left has constructed for us. We're lucky because we have geography on our side, and we're generally a pretty chilled nation so there's no historical, ingrained violence in our culture to assist "radicalisation", so the threat is less than exists in Europe, but it's still here. It's not constructed by the government and the media to further their own political ends. It is real.

This is our future, people.

The lefty viewpoint on the world is the biggest danger to us. Don't say anything or you're racist! Just let them all come here and don't do anything about it! How dare you say or do anything, you bigot!

This is the future the frothing left has constructed for us. We're lucky because we have geography on our side, and we're generally a pretty chilled nation so there's no historical, ingrained violence in our culture to assist "radicalisation", so the threat is less than exists in Europe, but it's still here. It's not constructed by the government and the media to further their own political ends. It is real.
And I call... bullshit.

The biggest danger is obviously the 2-3 guys with guns - the extremists/fundamentalists, of any religion or other sets of beliefs (e.g. white supremacy Norway guy, and many other examples).

People generalising/scarmeongering about entire religions and forgetting the harmless majority, or attempting to turn an event into a weakly generalised left-right divide, are not part of any practical solution for the world going forward.

Our whole attitude to invading other countries, and contuining military presence in other countries needs to looked at. It is these factors that play into a victim memntality that, when fed with extremist beliefs, creates the risk of action such as that taken by the terrorists in Paris.

There does seem to be a fair amount of ignorance and knee-jerking in this thread (as well as everywhere else in the world).

For starters, Islam is not a religion of peace. Read the Quran and the associated texts, it is definitely a religion of violence.

Mate your religion is full of hate as well. It may well be Islams turn ATM, but your religion has a horrific track record.

Read the Quran ? Read the bible

Psalm 109:
1 a psalm of David. O God whom I praise, do not ignore me!
2 For they say cruel and deceptive things to me; they lie to me.
3 They surround me and say hateful things; they attack me for no reason.
4 They repay my love with accusations, but I continue to pray.
5 They repay me evil for good, and hate for love.
6 Appoint an evil man to testify against him! May an accuser stand at his right side!
7 When he is judged, he will be found guilty! Then his prayer will be regarded as sinful.
8 May his days be few! May another take his job!
9 May his children be fatherless, and his wife a widow!
10 May his children roam around begging, asking for handouts as they leave their ruined home!
11 May the creditor seize all he owns! May strangers loot his property!
12 May no one show him kindness! May no one have compassion on his fatherless children!
13 May his descendants be cut off! May the memory of them be wiped out by the time the next generation arrives!
14 May his ancestors’ sins be remembered by the Lord! May his mother’s sin not be forgotten!
15 May the Lord be constantly aware of them, and cut off the memory of his children from the earth!
16 For he never bothered to show kindness; he harassed the oppressed and needy, and killed the disheartened.
17 He loved to curse others, so those curses have come upon him. He had no desire to bless anyone, so he has experienced no blessings.
18 He made cursing a way of life, so curses poured into his stomach like water and seeped into his bones like oil.
19 May a curse attach itself to him, like a garment one puts on, or a belt one wears continually!
20 May the Lord repay my accusers in this way, those who say evil things about me!
21 O sovereign Lord, intervene on my behalf for the sake of your reputation! Because your loyal love is good, deliver me!
22 For I am oppressed and needy, and my heart beats violently within me.
23 I am fading away like a shadow at the end of the day; I am shaken off like a locust.
24 I am so starved my knees shake; I have turned into skin and bones.
25 I am disdained by them. When they see me, they shake their heads.
26 Help me, O Lord my God! Because you are faithful to me, deliver me!
27 Then they will realize this is your work, and that you, Lord, have accomplished it.
28 They curse, but you will bless. When they attack, they will be humiliated, but your servant will rejoice.
29 My accusers will be covered with shame, and draped in humiliation as if it were a robe.
30 I will thank the Lord profusely, in the middle of a crowd I will praise him,
31 because he stands at the right hand of the needy, to deliver him from those who threaten his life.

Read the Quran and the associated texts, it is definitely a religion of violence...
Try your bible..

Estimated number of merkins killed by God in the Bible ? 24,994,828 -- LINK

Some notable gems are..

The Flood of Noah Gen 7:23 20,000,000 killed
A seven year worldwide famine Gen 41:25-54 70,000 killed
The seventh plague: hail Ex 9:25 300,000 killed
Firstborn Egyptian children Ex 12:29-30 500,000 killed
Who is on the Lord's side?: Forcing friends and family to kill each other Ex 32:27-28 3,000 killed
While the flesh was still between their teeth, the Lord smote them will a very great plague Num 11:33 10,000 killed
God burns 250 people to death for burning incense Num 16:35 250 killed
God kills 14,700 for complaining about God's killings Num 16:49 14,700 :lol: killed
The Midianite massacre: Have ye saved all the women alive? Num 31:1-35 200,000 killed
God slowly killed the Israelite army Dt 2:14-16 500,000 killed
Og and all the men women, and children in 60 cities Dt 3:6 60,000 killed
God stops the sun so Joshua can get his killing done in the daylight Jos 10:10-11 5,000 killed
Joshua utterly destroyed all that breathed as the Lord commanded Jos 10:28-42 7,000 killed
The genocide of twenty cities: There was not any left to breathe Jos 11:8-12 20,000 killed
The Lord delivered the Canaanites and Perizzites Jg 1:4 10,000 killed
God delivers 10,000 lusty Moabites Jg 3:28-29 10,000 killed
Gideon's story: The Lord set every man's sword against his fellow Jg 7:22 120,000 killed
42,000 die for failing the "shibboleth" test Jg 12:4-7 42,000 killed
Samson killed 1000 men with the jawbone of an ass Jg 15:14-15 1,000 killed
A holy civil war (it had something to do with rotting concubine body part messages) Jg 20:35-37 65,100 killed
God killed Eli's sons and 34,000 Israelite soldiers 1 Sam 2:25, 4:11 34,002 killed
50,070 killed for looking into the ark of the Lord 1 Sam 6:19 50,070 killed
David buys a wife with 200 Philistine foreskins 1 Sam 18:27 200 :? killed
The Lord said to David, Go and smite the Philistines 1 Sam 23:2-5 10,000 killed
David commits random acts of genocide for the Philistines 1 Sam 27:8-11 60,000 killed
David killed every male in Edom 2 Sam 8:13-14, 1 Kg 11:15-16, 1 Chr 18:12, Ps 60:1 15,000 killed
God killed 70,000 because of David had a census that God (or Satan) told him to do 2 Sam 24:15,1 Chr 21:14 70,000 killed
The first God-assisted slaughter of the Syrians 1 Kg 20:20-21 10,000 killed
God killed 27,000 Syrians by making a wall fall on them 1 Kg 20:30 27,000
Jehu assembled the followers of Baal and then slaughtered them all 2 Kg 10:18-25 1,000 killed
An angel killed 185,000 sleeping soldiers 2 Kg 19:34,37:36 185,000 killed
God killed a half million Israelite soldiers 2 Chr 13:17-18 500,000 killed
God killed a million Ethiopians 2 Chr 14:9-14 1,000,000 killed
God killed 120,000 valiant men for forsaking him 2 Chr 28:6 120,000 killed
The Purim killings: God hath done these things Esther 2 - 9,10:4 75,813 killed
Nicanor's army: The Almighty being their helper, they slew above nine thousand men 1 Mac 7:32-47, 2 Mac 8:24, 15:27 147,002 killed
John burns to death 2000 in the tower of Azotus 1 Mac 16:10 2,000 killed

I think that's all first testament. Christians follow the New Testament where God is a little more chilled out.

Sadly, in the wake of the Isis attack in Paris on Friday, there has been mounting xenophobic sentiment directed at Europe's Muslims and the incoming flux of refugees - who are fleeing the same barbarians in their home countries.

To people blaming refugees for attacks in Paris tonight. Do you not realise these are the people the refugees are trying to run away from..?
? Dan Holloway (@RFCdan) November 13, 2015

http://i100.independent.co.uk/artic...source=indy&utm_medium=top5&utm_campaign=i100

Rather unfortunate that Mr Holoway got it wrong there as the Scotish press and the ABC this morning both reported that 2 of the 7 terrorists were actually refugees from Syria that were recruited by ISIS French nationalists. They had only been in the country less than 2 months.

Bigfella

So what's your point?

This clearly wasn't organised by refugees.

This is a major international organisation.

They are recruiting from every ethnic group in all countries.

They aren't representative of all of Islam.

The type of thinking that people like hj and ram and Pauline Hanson are demonstrating in response to this is incredibly dangerous. It's also extremely ignorant and based on a series of dangerous generalisations.

If that takes over the real damage will be done.

I think these actions may end up being massively counterproductive to IS. It's tipped too far from shock value and publicity and become too indiscriminate and it is producing enormous solidarity in response. That will be their undoing - not divisiveness, blame, bigotry, and politicising. That will be our undoing.

The point should be rather obvious to most, being the fact that these 2 were not people that they were fleeing from.

So it didn't happen ? Fiction ?

no - it means the christian faith in general is going - well that was all a bit f**ked up, we won't stick with that anymore, lets go down this path instead

I'm no religious person - probably an atheist if anything, but I think its pretty clear the "christian" religions are fairly progressive compared to alot of other religions - it takes a while but they are constantly changing their ways