Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread

Who said Anh Do is the only Vietnamese-Australian comedian:

He's the man with a name so unfortunate that no one believes him.
But Phuc Dat Bich has set the record straight.
The 23-year-old Australian with Vietnamese heritage posted a photograph of his passport online after his Facebook account was shut down a number of times because the administrators did not believe he was using his real name

http://www.smh.com.au/national/phuc...ward-no-one-believes-him-20151120-gl4egu.html

Heading off to watch them smash Illawarra, who used to be called Wollongong, tonight.

why would they change the name from wollongong to illawarra? ... surely it doesn't make anyone not living in the actual city of wollongong any more attached to them .... I assume they are still the hawks

pretty massive fall for a sport - especially when there are actually several aussies playing bit parts in the NBA and europe .... they used to have sooo many different teams over the years

sydney kings*
west sydney razorbacks
(there was some other sydney united team before the kings came back too)
wollongong/illawarra hawks*
newcastle falcons
canberra canons
melbourne tigers
north melbourne giants
east melbourne spectres
south melbourne magic
melbourne united*
brisbane bullets
gold coast rollers
townsville suns*
cairns taipans*
adelaide 36ers*
perth wildcats*
nz breakers*

anyone I've forgotten?

why would they change the name from wollongong to illawarra? ... surely it doesn't make anyone not living in the actual city of wollongong any more attached to them .... I assume they are still the hawks

pretty massive fall for a sport - especially when there are actually several aussies playing bit parts in the NBA and europe .... they used to have sooo many different teams over the years

sydney kings*
west sydney razorbacks
(there was some other sydney united team before the kings came back too)
wollongong/illawarra hawks*
newcastle falcons
canberra canons
melbourne tigers
north melbourne giants
east melbourne spectres
south melbourne magic
melbourne united*
brisbane bullets
gold coast rollers
townsville suns*
cairns taipans*
adelaide 36ers*
perth wildcats*
nz breakers*

anyone I've forgotten?

Port Macquarie Gumnuts

Haynzy

It's weird, some clubs are powering along and making it work with minimal fta tv exposure and the same in the print media, yet others are a year to year proposition.

There is something dodgy about how the league is run, enough so that there is a concept similar to T20 cricket being worked on by some ex players that they plan to launch next year (I think).

West Sydney Westars pre-dated the Razorbacks, I think? And the Sydney Supersonics predated the Kings... There was a Geelong team once, and some Tassie team too?

Full court, 3-a-side, no time outs, 6 min halves, scoring as per normal.

Play triple headers (allow 15mins for each game, with 15 mins between games = 75mins). That'd just about do it?

T20 basketball sounds stupid, especially if it is still played by the same talentless niff nuffs from Australia.

Merkins from Reclaim Australia Anti-Muslim Rally.

Ban the burqa ya reckon mate ?

CUYfC11VAAENjTW.jpg:large

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/ne...nsive-to-muslims/story-fni0cx4q-1227617586616

Paris attacks and shit like this article drive the fear. Not saying merry Christmas and everything having to be halal certified for 1.7% of the population I can see why some people are not happy.

As long as there is no violence I don't see a problem with people having an opinion, even if I don't necessarily entirely agree with them.

I just bought some pork spare ribs at the IGA. I'm pretty sure they're not Halal. In fact, I can't think of anything of any circumstance in which Halal certification has affected anything I've ever eaten or molested. But, yeh, these blokes have every right to express their opinion peacefully. They do look a bit silly though.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/ne...nsive-to-muslims/story-fni0cx4q-1227617586616

Paris attacks and shit like this article drive the fear. Not saying merry Christmas and everything having to be halal certified for 1.7% of the population I can see why some people are not happy.

As long as there is no violence I don't see a problem with people having an opinion, even if I don't necessarily entirely agree with them.

Thing is that it's the Islamophobes that are spreading mis-information about Halal Certification.

"However, the Australian Crime Commission is not aware of any direct links between the legitimate halal certification industry and money laundering or the financing of terrorist groups," said the commission's chief executive Chris Dawson.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-04-14/fact-check-does-halal-certification-fund-terrorism/6383238

If I was Cadbury or Arnotts I'd sure want my food to be HC. Who wouldn't want some of the 1 billion person market in Asia / sub-continent ?

It does not change the product. After all, most the the products are vegan anyway. It's just a stamp that the food has been prepared in a certain manner. Companies do this to be heart foundation certified or organic.

One argument by anti HC campagner Kirralie Smith is that it increases the cost of a product. Cadbury pays $1,000 for HC on any product. That fee would not add $0.000001 to a family block.

Attachments

• islam-boycott-halal.jpg
    islam-boycott-halal.jpg
    18.7 KB · Views: 0

Kornstar

I just bought some pork spare ribs at the IGA. I'm pretty sure they're not Halal. In fact, I can't think of anything of any circumstance in which Halal certification has affected anything I've ever eaten or molested. But, yeh, these blokes have every right to express their opinion peacefully. They do look a bit silly though.

Not arguing with them looking silly, although equally imo the burqa, niqab or hijab are ridiculous (primitive) and unnecessary especially on a day like Friday. I am working at the children's hospital at the moment and I saw some ladies wearing the head to toe dressing and it just blows my mind that they would wear it.

You are right, halal certification doesn't affect me in any way either, I don't really care if my meat is certified or not but I do understand why people are upset when you couple it with all the other demands we are told about.

Whether those demands are fact or journalists making shit up or just embellishing I guess is open to debate but if it is reported in the media it will upset people. They're just being protective.

Not arguing with them looking silly, although equally imo the burqa, niqab or hijab are ridiculous (primitive) and unnecessary especially on a day like Friday. I am working at the children's hospital at the moment and I saw some ladies wearing the head to toe dressing and it just blows my mind that they would wear it..

Well, I guess when you think of it, all clothes are unnecessary on a day like Friday. We don't think twice about the social conventions that stop (some of) us from walking around starkers.

I think the Niqab / Burqa thing looks and is quite ridiculous. The Hijab.....I can take or leave.

yy_cheng

Muslims don't eat pork. Anyone like Chinese bbq pork?