Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread

Tonight's pork spare ribs are currently resting in a dry rub made from coriander seeds, cumin seeds, onion powder, garlic powder, bay leaves and allspice. Then I'm gunna cook em in the bbq with hickory chips soaked in white wine. Then I'm gonna eat them.

story about my work ... they have these small rooms next to the toilets that at one point had showers and a basin in them - but they removed the shower heads and said it was unsafe (slippery floor) - so it ended up just a change room really with a small basin in it.

I always use it to change my clothes when i get to work

anyway, recently they put signs on them saying they were under construction - but didn't say how ..... then the other day I walk in and the tiles are covered by carpet - nothing else different - wtf? ... when i walk out and look at the door it says ... "Multi Faith Room"

Doesn't faze me at all ... but if any merkin comes and tells me I can no longer use it to get changed in the morning, I'll tell em to go f**k themselves ... my worship of the sweaty tshirt should be allowed too

Tonight's pork spare ribs are currently resting in a dry rub made from coriander seeds, cumin seeds, onion powder, garlic powder, bay leaves and allspice. Then I'm gunna cook em in the bbq with hickory chips soaked in white wine. Then I'm gonna eat them.

I reckon you'd be better eating the ribs than the hickory chips mate

Kornstar

Thing is that it's the Islamophobes that are spreading mis-information about Halal Certification.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-04-14/fact-check-does-halal-certification-fund-terrorism/6383238

If I was Cadbury or Arnotts I'd sure want my food to be HC. Who wouldn't want some of the 1 billion person market in Asia / sub-continent ?

It does not change the product. After all, most the the products are vegan anyway. It's just a stamp that the food has been prepared in a certain manner. Companies do this to be heart foundation certified or organic.

One argument by anti HC campagner Kirralie Smith is that it increases the cost of a product. Cadbury pays $1,000 for HC on any product. That fee would not add $0.000001 to a family block.

Like I said, I don't personally care it makes no difference to me. You are right about the 1.5 billion Muslims and those companies wanting their product available to everyone possible.

In Australia though they make up 1.7% of the population so to the majority they hear that Muslims want 100% halal certification or not celebrating Christmas, decorating for fear of offending them or introducing sharia law, I can see why some would get upset.

I will forever be confused that you can leave a country because it is a shit hole and then the country that takes you in and accepts you is not good enough so you try and change everything in the country to be like the shit hole you came from but for the most part it doesn't affect me and I no longer live anywhere near where they tend to live so my life is generally unaffected.

When I lived in Fairfield and Smithfield though, I had a different opinion because I saw first hand how the young men acted. You couldn't walk down the street without being threatened with violence or women threatened with rape (because they were asking for it apparently), it was just the way it was. I experienced it, my female friends experienced it.

I think some people who have never had to live in certain areas and grew up with silver spoons will never understand and probably be a lot more tolerant of the situation.

Look, there's certainly some truth in that proposition (both with respect to the issue we are talking about and others). But it works both ways, other people (regardless of silver spoons etc) might not only have avoided the bad side of things, but may have actually directly experienced much more positive (or just plain normal) interactions with people from group X. We're all 'victims' of what we are directly exposed to.

*I was born in Fairfield, but never lived there as an adult. I have, however, lived in parts of Paris that are 80% Muslim / Nth African Jewish, and for about 3 months in a flat about 80m from where the shit kicked off last week. You see every end of things in places like that.

oldmancraigy

Thing is that it's the Islamophobes that are spreading mis-information about Halal Certification.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-04-14/fact-check-does-halal-certification-fund-terrorism/6383238

If I was Cadbury or Arnotts I'd sure want my food to be HC. Who wouldn't want some of the 1 billion person market in Asia / sub-continent ?

It does not change the product. After all, most the the products are vegan anyway. It's just a stamp that the food has been prepared in a certain manner. Companies do this to be heart foundation certified or organic.

One argument by anti HC campagner Kirralie Smith is that it increases the cost of a product. Cadbury pays $1,000 for HC on any product. That fee would not add $0.000001 to a family block.

Completely off topic question: but don't Cadbury make diffrent chocolate for SE asian countries? Like with extra vegetable fats or something so it doesn't melt? I am pretty sure it doesn't taste the same...

Quite off topic, which is fitting I suppose

yy_cheng

I know that there are Asian versions of equestrian helmet, made by a German company.

It is rounder and fits better.

Regular helmets are narrower and elongated.

So next time you're in Asia and looking at buying an equestrian helmet, remember what i did.

Raybans also have Asian versions, e.G wayfarers due to the flat bridge of most Asians noses

In Hong Kong, they probably won't know about Asian chocolates as all they buy are the expensive stuff from Belgium

Completely off topic question: but don't Cadbury make diffrent chocolate for SE asian countries? Like with extra vegetable fats or something so it doesn't melt? I am pretty sure it doesn't taste the same...

Quite off topic, which is fitting I suppose

And what about those ice creams that have chocolate sauce inside that stays runny at -10c. What does it have added to it, antifreeze ?

TETBSA001_3_200x200.jpg

Back to work after doing a work related course facilitated by people that big note more than myself. It was so boring. 4 weeks and counting prior to taking a 5 week break over Christmas and new year.

PS Bought a kayak/canoe. If you hear about a muscular Balkan man rowing along the Hacking River to the Rocky IV soundtrack that would be me.

eels81236

Hey Avenger...I watched the 30 for 30 "Once Were Brothers" episode on ESPN on the weekend. Davic and Petrovic, Yugoslavia, Croatia and Serbia. It was quite sad, really.

eels81236

Back to work after doing a work related course facilitated by people that big note more than myself. It was so boring. 4 weeks and counting prior to taking a 5 week break over Christmas and new year.

PS Bought a kayak/canoe. If you hear about a muscular Balkan man rowing along the Hacking River to the Rocky IV soundtrack that would be me.

I've had a fishing kayak for a few years now. A Hobie the same as the ones on the new "Pacific Warriors" show on Discovery. They chase 100kg Tuna in them. Too ballsy for me. I'll stick to flathead in the lake thanks very much.

Yes saw that last week. Good show.

yy_cheng

I went to South Africa for hols right after 9/11.

I flew emirates from malaysia to joburg.

On the plane, there were 2 rows of muslims in the middle seats.

Every so often, they would get up, lay a small carpet on the aisle of the plane and face, i guess mecca, and pray.

It scared the crap out of me. 8 muslims praying on the plane. I kept on thinking, was this their last prayer before they do something?

I have flown international many, many times, and it was the only time I have seen this.

They could have been chanting 'Allah, please save us from this scary looking Chinese chap who keeps looking at us strangely'. Or maybe it was Ramadan.

I saw a report regarding the woman who blew (herself) up. They said that they found her spine on the roof of a cop car parked outside.

#eeeww