Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread

How is it any less multi-cultural than rugby league?

There are 70 odd indigenous players in the main AFL squads. There are heaps and heaps of Mediterranean_Decendants and blokes from around where Avenger's lot are from. They even have a couple of chaps of Chinese/Vietnamese descent.

I don't think they're missing out on much by not having the Burgess brothers.

For a start, just look at the amount of racist issues they have had in the past 24 months.
Just look at comments made by Sheedy and McGuire about the Wanderers.
Look at McGuire's comments about King Kong and Goodes last season, and the ramifications about those comments.
Look at the uproar about Goodes' dance after his goal.
They are far from a perfect example of racial acceptance.
It's Australia's game.

Just heard on 2UE that a salary Cap breach as big as the Storm is pending. It's a team still in contention for this years semi finals.

For a start, just look at the amount of racist issues they have had in the past 24 months.
Just look at comments made by Sheedy and McGuire about the Wanderers.
Look at McGuire's comments about King Kong and Goodes last season, and the ramifications about those comments.
Look at the uproar about Goodes' dance after his goal.
They are far from a perfect example of racial acceptance.
It's Australia's game.

I didn't say there weren't any racists in the game or its followers. This country has its fair share of them. Was referring to the ethnic/cultural diversity of the AFL players....they ain't all skinny white boys.

The NRL has certainly cleaned up its act somewhat, but you don't have to look to far back to find some pretty distasteful stuff (Johns / Tahu, Mundine v the world, the Barba thing with the country footballer, Fletch v Widders).

I didn't say there weren't any racists in the game or its followers. This country has its fair share of them. Was referring to the ethnic/cultural diversity of the AFL players....they ain't all skinny white boys.

The NRL has certainly cleaned up its act somewhat, but you don't have to look to far back to find some pretty distasteful stuff (Johns / Tahu, Mundine v the world, the Barba thing with the country footballer, Fletch v Widders).

Yes, and RL dealt with it in a big way.
Just look at the player lists of AFL clubs mate.
It's Australia's game.

Bigfella

Elsewhere it has been suggested that Eddie o'beid is a Souths fan and had links with the club.

Given that mcclymont has become a one trick pony lately (at least since her campaign against Margaret Cunneen failed so dismally) I know which club I'd put money on.

Elsewhere it has been suggested that Eddie o'beid is a Souths fan and had links with the club.

Given that mcclymont has become a one trick pony lately (at least since her campaign against Margaret Cunneen failed so dismally) I know which club I'd put money on.

Russell wouldn't cheat. :sarcasm:

Incorrect

Imagine if Inglis was stripped of another premiership!!! :lol:

I would love for the 43 year year drought to start up again!!! :lol:

Not sure about Souths, but yes Kate has been getting the good oil from the ICAC phone taps.

May 31, 2014
The NRL has other problems. The whispers in the corridor of power at ICAC suggest phone taps will reveal another club is cheating the salary cap, with the taps a chance to become public when more evidence is tendered against Eddie O?Beid.
This club also recently let go a staffer involved in recruitment.
While there is nothing criminal about the actitivies from an ICAC perspective, the cap rorting will amount to a large headache for the NRL.
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...uffering-illness/story-fni3fh9n-1226937561257

Yes, and RL dealt with it in a big way.
Just look at the player lists of AFL clubs mate.
It's Australia's game.

What exactly do you mean (serious question)?

Who is under-represented / over-represented.

71 Indigenous players in the senior squads doesn't seem far out of whack to me.

What exactly do you mean (serious question)?

Who is under-represented / over-represented.

71 Indigenous players in the senior squads doesn't seem far out of whack to me.

Do they have one white parent or two?
If they are so accepting of (Indigenous) culture, why did so many get so upset at a war dance celebration, using the word intimidating?

Do they have one white parent or two?
If they are so accepting of (Indigenous) culture, why did so many get so upset at a war dance celebration, using the word intimidating?

Some might find that a not so great question in itself.

I'm not arguing about the treatment of Goodes.....it's ridiculous (from both the racist section and those who give them cover without stopping to think what they are doing). I was just trying to work out what you were inferring in terms of who plays the game at the top level. I think they have as broad a mix as any sport. Hasn't always been the case, of course.

Good grief, this will be entertaining. Cory Bernardi is the merkin who linked same sex marriage with bestiality.

CK5g4zxUMAASYQG.jpg

Some might find that a not so great question in itself.

I'm not arguing about the treatment of Goodes.....it's ridiculous (from both the racist section and those who give them cover without stopping to think what they are doing). I was just trying to work out what you were inferring in terms of who plays the game at the top level. I think they have as broad a mix as any sport. Hasn't always been the case, of course.

With regards the first question, I was being facetious.
Second one though, you may claim the indigenous involvement, but yet, it is those very indigenous players that are being targeted.

For Barry.

http://www.smh.com.au/comment/adam-goodes-footy-has-become-a-redneck-wonderland-20150727-gil6e2.html

Adam Goodes: AFL has become a redneck wonderland

Date
July 27, 2015 - 12:28PM

Francis Leach

The gutless drongos who boo Adam Goodes should have the courage to admit they're a bunch of ugly racists.

What a redneck wonderland footy has become.

Hey, bigots, don't get me wrong.

I defend your right to express your unfathomable sense of outrage and injustice. It must burn long and deep. Probably over the spiralling price of a pie at the footy or the quality of the rubbish beer your force yourself to drink whilst acting like obnoxious school kids.

Your worries and concerns must weigh heavily on your poor benighted souls. So knock yourselves out. Boo away. At least have the courage though to admit what it is.

Racism.

Naked, loud, contemptible, pathetic and unashamed.

None of this crap about Goodes staging for free kicks, being a "sniper" or sweet talking the umpires is the reason for the booing.

Don't use football as shield for your prejudice.

Adam Goodes has made it quite clear he hears those boos as a statement on his race and culture.

Blokes like Goodes tend to have a finely tuned radar for racism. When you have been living with it all your life you learn to speak it's many ugly languages.

So when he tells you what it means to him and you choose to boo, you're confirming to him and every other indigenous footballer what you're really about.

What you don't like and can't abide is that Adam Goodes won't be the Aboriginal footballer you want him to be.

He refuses to simply be the smiling face of AFL Indigenous Round where the game's self congratulation goes into over drive and Aboriginal people are celebrated in a set of proscribed rituals that say nothing about the true state of affairs and everything about our need to be absolved from responsibility.

A smoking ceremony here. A ceremonial dance there. A welcome to country and then goodbye, onto the next costume party.

No, Goodes wants to look you in the eye and talk about who we really are and where we're really at. Goodes wants to confront racism and its uncomfortable truths. In the stands you sit in, the mines you work in, the boardrooms you meet in, the homes you live in.

He won't simply be the Aboriginal man you want him to be.

And with your symphony of boos you've made it quite clear where you stand.

The fact that you fuel your own sense of outrage at Goodes and Lewis Jetta's "war dance" shows how feeble minded and self righteous you are.

Where's your sense of outrage at the appalling gap in life expectancy for indigenous people?

The massive over representation of indigenous people in jail?

The continuing scourge of deaths in custody?

Your silence is deafening on those issues. Your outrage reserved for a man who dances on the footy field.

And whilst you're booing ever louder and ever longer you can try drown out the truth of these things.

You can't. And you won't.

Because Adam Goodes' legacy will endure long after your hollow howls ring out.

And that must hurt the most.

SMH Sport ‏@SMHsport 42s42 seconds ago
Swans boss: "If you're booing Adam Goodes, I've got bad news for you - You're a racist" http://bit.ly/1JoRQJz

Absolute horsecock

Some people boo him because he is such a precious wanker and I agree with them, although I dont see any point in booing him but that's just me.

Can't stand the bloke but no doubt some of the high and mighty want to make a racist issue out of the situation.