Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread

Absolute horsecock

Some people boo him because he is such a precious wanker and I agree with them, although I dont see any point in booing him but that's just me.

Can't stand the bloke but no doubt some of the high and mighty want to make a racist issue out of the situation.

High and mighty. lol.

What exactly do you mean (serious question)?

Who is under-represented / over-represented.

71 Indigenous players in the senior squads doesn't seem far out of whack to me.

71 bullshit

There maybe 71 biracial players but most of them are white.

I get annoyed by white people claiming indigenous heritage when they are 1/8th, 1/16th or 1/32nd etc and they would not have a single clue about their so called heritage while ignoring their non indigenous heritage.

The band wagon seems to be getting bigger and its a bit of a slap in face to indigenous people imo.

Yes, and RL dealt with it in a big way.
Just look at the player lists of AFL clubs mate.
It's Australia's game.

TBH I've always thought AFL always had a very big involvement by aborignial players - the game is huge in NT, WA, SA .... and I've always thought they specifically celebrated indigenous players long before league ever did

it probably has a high bogan element - just like league does in places

71 bullshit

I get annoyed by white people claiming indigenous heritage when they are 1/8th, 1/16th or 1/32nd etc and they would not have a single clue about their so called heritage while ignoring their non indigenous heritage.

The band wagon seems to be getting bigger and its a bit of a slap in face to indigenous people imo.

Whatever, here is the list they provide:

http://www.aflcommunityclub.com.au/index.php?id=790

I'm not sure it's up to your or I to tell someone whether they identify as indigenous.

Whatever, here is the list they provide:

http://www.aflcommunityclub.com.au/index.php?id=790

I'm not sure it's up to your or I to tell someone whether they identify as indigenous.

Not telling anyone what to do, just expressing an opinion

Anyone can "identify" as indigenous as long as you are accepted into their community by an elder, you dont have to have any indigenous heritage in your breeding. I've spent may years living among the indigenous communities in SA and NT which is why I think its a slap in the face to real indigenous people.

emjaycee

Just heard on 2UE that a salary Cap breach as big as the Storm is pending. It's a team still in contention for this years semi finals.

That sounds like an unsubstantiated allegation there Suitman.
I am sure the mods will be onto this post and deleting it within minutes.

That sounds like an unsubstantiated allegation there Suitman.
I am sure the mods will be onto this post and deleting it within minutes.

No. They have explained the rules before.
Also, just wondering who may be negatively impacted from what I posted.
Hence, why I made that post without fear.

So I just opened a new packet of Montes - and the merkins don't fill the packet up anymore - they only put 3 in the end part of the packet - they can fit 4 ffs ..... its a travesty!!!

well I dunno - 5 is a real stretch - but 4 is definite .... they put 4 in every other compartment of the pack .... arnotts are diddling us I tell ya!

has anyone had a "fun sized" mars/snickers/picnic lately? .... I tell you what - its no "fun" - its like those bloody "favourites" boxes

Bought some the other day.
You're right.
They're no f**king fun at all.
I wuz robbed!!
Kids seriously weren't happy!!

ash411

71 bullshit

Are there "real" indigenous football players being denied spots in NRL team based solely on the fact that they are Indigenous?

I find it hard to believe that would happen.

I get annoyed when anyone calls racism for things that clearly aren't a case of racism. Don't get me wrong, I'm not denying that racism exists, cause, it really does, and it's horrible.

But I feel that sometimes (not all the time) the racism card gets played a little too easily, like let's say for example a person isn't picked for a spot because there were better candidates ahead of them, people more qualified, or whatever, the decision was based purely on the persons ability and nothing else.

The person then calls racism because they weren't picked, even though it had nothing to do with it, but it is forever tainted now as there is no way to prove it. And of course white knights jump on board and slam the selector, even though they just weren't as good as others who went out for the spot.

I feel that doing that is worse than someone actually being racist in the first place.

Everyone should be measured on their merits, and for the most case these days, that's what happens, just because people dislike a person that happens to be from a minority group, that isn't always the reason why, that guy might just be a jerk.

Agreed.

And today there is another heap of articles cluttering up Facebook with people and the AFL asking/demanding that the fans stop booing Goodes.

Yet its OK for Goodes to taunt the crowd with his little dance. He is a wanker and attention seeker of the highest order for mine, and I dont care what race he is, he is a wanker.

If he gets booed, he has himself to blame in my opinion.

Agreed.

And today there is another heap of articles cluttering up Facebook with people and the AFL asking/demanding that the fans stop booing Goodes.

Yet its OK for Goodes to taunt the crowd with his little dance. He is a wanker and attention seeker of the highest order for mine, and I dont care what race he is, he is a wanker.

If he gets booed, he has himself to blame in my opinion.

You really aren't very clever, are you? You could fit a dozen George Roses between the way you seem to think the world works, and the way it actually does.

You mean the way we are supposed to act and think according to the politically correct.