Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread

https://twitter.com/Adam_Creighton

Adam Creighton, economics editor of The Australian loves coal, hates wind turbines. Wants the GST raised but no the Medicare levy. Wants negative gearing and super for high income earners untouched. Does not believe in climate change. Wants the ABC privatised. Etc, etc.

A coincidence that it fits snugly with the Abbott platform ? Would Uncle Rupert dare interfere with editorial independence ?

https://twitter.com/Adam_Creighton

Adam Creighton, economics editor of The Australian loves coal, hates wind turbines. Wants the GST raised but no the Medicare levy. Wants negative gearing and super for high income earners untouched. Does not believe in climate change. Wants the ABC privatised. Etc, etc.

A coincidence that it fits snugly with the Abbott platform ? Would Uncle Rupert dare interfere with editorial independence ?

you've got it backwards gronk this is what Rupert wants so naturally it becomes liberal policy :D

Shorten's about face on the refugee issue is a disgrace.
Nothing more than an attempt to eliminate one issue from an election campaign, and worse still, just vote grabbing.
Funny how this comes out a day after his latest polling figures were appalling.
He's a grub.

Haynzy

Nothing more than an attempt to eliminate one issue from an election campaign, and worse still, just vote grabbing.
He's a grub.

Agreed, cheap popularity grab, much like most of Abbott's posturing in the media.
It'd be so nice to have politicians that actually give a shit about people and not just their own profiles.

Agreed, cheap popularity grab, much like most of Abbott's posturing in the media.
It'd be so nice to have politicians that actually give a shit about people and not just their own profiles.

Those days appear to be long gone, sadly.
Surprisingly, Mike Baird appears to be a lone gun.

Haynzy

We have/had a couple of good local pollies here but they either retire or don't get ahead because they don't suck up to the right people and they tend not to compromise on their beliefs.

From what I hear over here Mike Baird seems pretty good but I'd only hear snippets.

Agree on Shorten. He's a dope and he's gotta go.

Don't agree with Baird. Abbott pulled $80B from the budget to the states and told them that if they want more cash then they will need to make a decision about the GST. So by stealth he is raising taxes but will blame others. Tool.

Baird now is "courageous" and Abbott is getting his way. Baird is not courageous, he's towing the party line.

I'm open to raising the GST, however the decision needs to be made holistically. On one hand Abbott is saying this week that he is pleased that the Premiers are putting politics aside to talk openly about revenue issues, yet he has already ruled out tweeking negative gearing, super contribution tax incentives (to high income earners), raising the medicare levy etc. So we can put politics aside and talk about reform provided that it concurs with Tony's agenda !

Don't get me started on the multinationals like his mate Murdoch who pay bugger all tax.

He's already got the Henry Review, however is cherry picking what he likes instead of pulling the system apart and starting from scratch.

Nick Xenophon is the best pollie in the federal parliament.

I'm quite impressed with di Natali so far, too. Best leader the Greens have ever had. I have high hopes for him as someone who can achieve things with the balance of power.

Interestingly Dr Andrew Leigh has been appointed as official spokesman for the ALP Conference.

He's a good man, highly knowledgeable and well spoken.

Perhaps a future leader ?

bu8.jpg

http://www.aph.gov.au/Senators_and_Members/Parliamentarian?MPID=BU8

Andrew is a very good bloke, and exceptionally capable. Possibly not well enough connected with the right unions to lead the party, and the fact that he is from Canberra will create an opportunity for puerile but effective campaigning against him should he ever lead the party.

Kornstar

Andrew is a very good bloke, and exceptionally capable. Possibly not well enough connected with the right unions to lead the party, and the fact that he is from Canberra will create an opportunity for puerile but effective campaigning against him should he ever lead the party.

Seriously, f**king politics, what about you lead it because you're the best qualified, not the person who can have the least amount of shit thrown at you!

Joshuatheeel

He's a grub.

They had labour leading 53 to 47, Abbott's figures are just as bad.

Joshuatheeel

Abbott has been way behind in every 2 party preferred poll post election.

The by-election for the recently deceased WA MP will be interesting.

That's the interesting thing with the current media reporting, they keep on talking about Shortens ratings like he is the PM, have a small mention of Abbott's similar figures like he is the opposition leader, then in the fine print BTW labour have a election winning lead.

Seriously the focus on Shortern's rating is unbelievable.

Haynzy

Nick Xenophon is the best pollie in the federal parliament.

I'm quite impressed with di Natali so far, too. Best leader the Greens have ever had. I have high hopes for him as someone who can achieve things with the balance of power.

I don't agree with everything Xenaphon says but I tend to agree that he is at least one of the better ones.
His backdown on the children in detention saga at the end of last year surprised and disappointed me.

I don't agree with everything he says, either. I do, however, believe that he is honest and willing to use parliament as means to achieving ends, through compromise where necessary, instead of blindly pushing an agenda even when it is blindingly obvious that the agenda is not practicable.

On the Labor side, I'm a fan of Ed Husic. He always speaks well, seems to put thought into his words and appears measured and reasonable on most counts. I've always thought of him as a potential future leader but wondered whether being Muslim will hinder him.