Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread

Abbott is a dufus. No doubt. However would you seriously return Labor to power and put that backstabbing maggot, Shorten in? You realise Labor were an awful government who spilt plenty despite being in power during the mining boom?

I saw the interview last night and Abbott was a complete douche bag.
But.......all I can see coming out of it is more accusations from the right about ABC bias.

**sigh**

I saw the interview last night and Abbott was a complete douche bag.
But.......all I can see coming out of it is more accusations from the right about ABC bias.

**sigh**

All he had to do is explain that there is a different world landscape now and that our economy is playing under a different set of rules. However he is a person who cannot think on his feet. He has a rehearsed theme in his head ann just sticks to it and ends up looking stupid.

Abbott is a dufus. No doubt. However would you seriously return Labor to power and put that backstabbing maggot, Shorten in? You realise Labor were an awful government who spilt plenty despite being in power during the mining boom?

Perhaps you should re-think your "split plenty" line and address the fact that we had a GFC and spending was the way to avoid a recession ?

Do you recall how your life hardly changed notwithstanding how the rest of the world disintegrated ? The facts are that Howard had huge income because of the mining boom, he tossed it around year after year pre-election to get re-elected like every politician does.

When the GFC hit, Labor had to stimulate the economy and embarked on a spending campaign just as the LNP would have done if they had the keys during the GFC. So quit the party line will ya ?

Give me a PM who is not Abbott or Shorten and we can move forward IMHO.

At this stage I'll take Morrison, Turnbull if it has to be LNP. Shorton is a knob, Albo is a Bogan, so if a PM has to come from Labor then perhaps Plibersek however she comes across a little too left for me. If there is a better alternative in the LP, then I haven't met him/her yet.

AMAZINGLY, the LNP have/had an opportunity to govern for multiple terms, however the churchy conservatives are trying to shove their medieval ideologies down punters throats and clearly they are rebelling.

The LNP need a spill and need it straight after Canning if they want to survive.

Abbottt wont answer question because he has permanent foot in mouth disease, he is a very poor leader.

Shorten, unfortunately, is worse.

Its a pretty sad situation.

Twiz
Please don't give any credit to those two dysfunctional morons that stabbed each other to death. There are so many bullets I could fire it would be carnage. They f**king spilt plenty and you know where. Everyone knows.

It' has to be Liberal. Labor haven't had a great leader since Hawke.

Twiz
Please don't give any credit to those two dysfunctional morons that stabbed each other to death. There are so many bullets I could fire it would be carnage. They f**king spilt plenty and you know where. Everyone knows.

It' has to be Liberal. Labor haven't had a great leader since Hawke.

No it doesn't, thats just typical of people who follow political parties like they are football teams, completely blind to their policies.

I voted for this lying sack of shit based on his pre-election promises.

Biggest liar since Joh.

If you take a position that your PM has to come from a party because that's who i support, then you've lost me.

Give me an intelligent compasionate man who calls a spade a spade any day.

Keating was like that. If a man like him mark II comes from the LNP then id vote for him.

One eyed politics is a waste of time in modern times.

No it doesn't, thats just typical of people who follow political parties like they are football teams, completely blind to their policies.

I voted for this lying sack of shit based on his pre-election promises.

Biggest liar since Joh.

I'm not blind to policies. He has plenty. Stop the boats. He stopped them. he said it plenty of times. Your mob never had any real policies besides backstabbing and spilling plenty in order to avoid a technical recession. How were those Rudd and Gillard years again?

If you take a position that your PM has to come from a party because that's who i support, then you've lost me.

Give me an intelligent compassionate man who calls a spade a spade any day.

Keating was like that. If a man like him mark II comes from the LNP then id vote for him.

One eyed politics is a waste of time in modern times.

I agree Gronk. I would do the same. I even voted informal once because I couldn't stand Chikarovski. However Bob Carr was a self serving merkin so I just wrote "Stop the Bombing in Serbia" on the ballot paper. Worked for me.

I'm not blind to policies. Your mob never had any either. How were those Rudd and Gillard years again?

I agree Gronk. I would do the same. I even voted informal once because I couldn't stand Chikarovski. However Bob Carr was a self serving merkin so I just wrote "Stop the Bombing in Serbia" on the ballot paper. Worked for me.

my mob ? lol

you missed the bit where I said I voted for your mob

try and keep up

I don't have any mob

Apologies, Mr Swinger.

You say that in a derogatory manner. You should stop and think about that. Should your children vote for a person or party based on intelligent reasons or should they blindly vote for whoever they have pledged their life long alliance to ?

Tell them not be sheep mate.

You say that in a derogatory manner. You should stop and think about that. Should your children vote for a person or party based on intelligent reasons or should they blindly vote for whoever they have pledged their life long alliance to ?

Tell them not be sheep mate.

I said it in that manner because as always Twiz got personal and told me to try and keep up. I have a day off today and have some time for a change before I have to do something that I have been avoiding for months in the afternoon.

My kids are free to vote for whoever they like. Like I said before I really admired Hawke, he was a true reformist. I admired Keating the man, because he was intelligent but I thought he was a deflective type of leader with no real policies. GST scare campaign won him an election as did post 911 with Howard I suppose.

How's this for irony.

ALP wins the election, inherits a recession, record unemployment, a war, refugee crisis and blames the opposition for everything.

#onthecards

Kornstar

How's this for irony.

ALP wins the election, inherits a recession, record unemployment, a war, refugee crisis and blames the opposition for everything.

#onthecards

So pretty much what every politician has been doing since parliaments have been around?

I dislike them all I have no side as I have never actually voted for a politician/party ever. I get my name marked off and write Korn on the ballot paper.

I'm sure a majority of them start with good intentions but for whatever reason lose their way and become untrustworthy people. I'll vote for my first the day they reduce the amount of tax I pay and cut off every bludger and move the ones that aren't interested in working out to camps in the bush for them to fend for themselves. That will never happen so I will never vote for one.

So pretty much what every politician has been doing since parliaments have been around?

I dislike them all I have no side as I have never actually voted for a politician/party ever. I get my name marked off and write Korn on the ballot paper.

I'm sure a majority of them start with good intentions but for whatever reason lose their way and become untrustworthy people. I'll vote for my first the day they reduce the amount of tax I pay and cut off every bludger and move the ones that aren't interested in working out to camps in the bush for them to fend for themselves. That will never happen so I will never vote for one.

Imagine if everyone had your attitude? Just rely on others to make the decisions. That's why you will always be a sheep.

Kornstar

Imagine if everyone had your attitude? Just rely on others to make the decisions. That's why you will always be a sheep.

Sheep by not voting? Interesting look at it I guess.

Why choose a side when the sides that are selling have nothing I want to buy? If everyone stopped voting then no one would be elected.

Sheep by not voting? Interesting look at it I guess.

Why choose a side when the sides that are selling have nothing I want to buy? If everyone stopped voting then no one would be elected.

I'm shit stirring you bro. It is your democratic right to do what you want. Whoever is in power makes f**k all difference to most of us.

Now who's getting personal ?

Its traditionally been a Nat's seat up here in Northern Rivers, they win a lot of seats up here, and a vote for the Nats is a vote for uncle Tone.

I'm about 50/50 as it depends who promises what.

I got a lot of business mates who are staunt Libs/Nats and I give them shit for being so one eyed and loyal to their party despite how poorly they perform, its pretty stupid when you think of it. The Nats are like their local footy team, they just blindly support them.

i've given up on labor and liberal now i just look around for a decent independent candidate to vote for
if we get enough of them into the senate we might have a voice of reason instead of party sheep who vote whichever way the boss says