Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

norman

since77

Quite frankly, these self-righteous attacks on players has become tedious.

If the allegations are true, we are talking about sex and drugs and rock 'n roll. Big deal!

The kid is 25-years-old and talented enough to be a first grade footballer, that makes him a target. Now people are trying to make money out of this, on the basis of their own sense of morality.

Hands up... who has never muck up?

Paul Kent nails the answer to this today:

"The Eels are in this whole situation for that simple reason. They put winning above standards. It’s why the club officials cheated the salary cap"

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...t/news-story/e1e70d61dad4e91766fea15e6977e785

blacksafake

Josh Massoud on 7 news claims dragons tabled a 3 year 2.4 million & Norman has spoken to Mary by phone. I imagine the conversation went something along the lines of hey Mary i like to play attacking footy & what's in front of me. Mary: nah mate we play dragons footy, one out, get to a certain part of the field & then hope someting comes up on the last. Also our D is the main feature. Silence on other end of line "hello" corey are you there? Beep beep beep.

St Georgio

I watched a game of the Dragons against the Roosters where Offiah scored 3 tries. We also had Walford, Beattie, Mark Coyne and the very underrated Peter Coyne. The back- line speed and precision was scintillating.
If only our coaches could produce 50% of this fabulous play. Maybe more videos of great Dragons teams should be used to
motivate our teams.
Brian Smith!
Tony Smith would do the Same!

Mr Red

Josh Massoud on 7 news claims dragons tabled a 3 year 2.4 million & Norman has spoken to Mary by phone. I imagine the conversation went something along the lines of hey Mary i like to play attacking footy & what's in front of me. Mary: nah mate we play dragons footy, one out, get to a certain part of the field & then hope someting comes up on the last. Also our D is the main feature. Silence on other end of line "hello" corey are you there? Beep beep beep.
Where's possm? He's our man for recreating back room conversations...

nrlnrl

This has been mentioned by FSN, Telegraph & Triple M. Let's just sit back & see what punishment the Eels or the NRL hand out to Norman. His best move would be moving away from certain off-field acquaintances. Josh Dugan should be used as an example & possible mentor in the sales pitch. I doubt he'll end up playing in the red v though.

rainman44

This has been mentioned by FSN, Telegraph & Triple M. Let's just sit back & see what punishment the Eels or the NRL hand out to Norman. His best move would be moving away from certain off-field acquaintances. Josh Dugan should be used as an example & possible mentor in the sales pitch. I doubt he'll end up playing in the red v though.
If some how Norman comes the next move should be to move Dugan on if he still wants $750k and go hard for Ash Taylor and use Norman as our sales pitch. If we let him and Widdop leave there is big coin.

since77

Seriously, what top flight player would want to come and play under the current coach? Anyone like this (Norman or otherwise) is only going to be signing on for the paycheque. Hardly inspiring stuff.

Great player, we all know that, but with his baggage not worth the risk, his asking price is way way to much and shame on our club if the reported offer is true.

Forster Dragon

Fully agree with the Smith boys.Brian does have the proven ability to rebuild a damaged club as he has proven many times.Tony on all accounts is a quality coach.Both or either one would be an improvement.Will not happen with the current self protectionist mob in charge.

SaintHarry

Move on benji , creagh, farrel, marketo,and widdop bring in norman and ash taylor

1.dugan
6.norman
7.taylor
9.peats or cook

Sack mary bring on maguire

Fantasy land.

Norman to stay at the Els
Taylor going no where.
Peats same as Taylor.
Cook isn't anything flash.

Farrell is already gone and won't play again poor bastard.
Creagh will retire.
Marshall probably won't be kept.
Marketo is off contract and hasn't been offered a new one.
Widdop still has a year to run and will probably see it out.

nrlnrl

Corey Norman will have plenty of time to think abut his playing future. He's set to receive a ban from the NRL that'll mean he won't play again this season. It'll probably be announced later today (Thursday)

deansykes

Thu 21 Jul, 2016, 3:07pm
Official statement, NRL

The NRL said today that Parramatta Eels player, Corey Norman will be suspended for eight rounds of the 2016 Telstra Premiership.

The suspension will run from Round 19 (when Norman was stood down) through to the end of Round 26.

In addition, he will be fined $20,000.

NRL Head of Integrity, Nick Weeks said the penalty relates to the following matters involving Norman:
• His conviction for drug possession at The Star casino
• A police warning for consorting with known criminals at the casino
• Filming incidents involving apparent drug use and sexual activity
• Distributing video of those incidents to other NRL players

Mr Weeks said the Integrity Unit had interviewed Norman this week and had decided, with the support of the Parramatta club, to impose the penalties described above.

"The message is clear… players cannot put themselves in a position where they may damage their own reputations and that of the game," Mr Weeks said.

"We have been consistent this year in imposing strong penalties where players bring the game into disrepute through actions off the field.

"Whether it is drug possession, criminal associations or social media use, players understand the consequences that can flow from illegal or other unacceptable conduct.

"While it is a regrettable trend in society for people to look to sell footage of sports stars in their private lives there is an easy solution for our players – do not engage in activity which will damage their reputation or that of the game."

St Georgio

What a goose...another idiot who has no idea of how good he has it....
Go mix cement 6 days a week, starting at 6am and see what real work is...
Good Idea he should start now, rebuilding St George leagues!
Signing him up, ready to play for us next year!

What a goose...another idiot who has no idea of how good he has it....
Go mix cement 6 days a week, starting at 6am and see what real work is...
Well , I hope that you city folk don't mind me making a suggestion , but I was seriously thinking about extending the pig - pen , and I could sure use a extra pair of hands ? Hell , I will even take him out for a few beers on a Saturday night to meet the local riff-raff ! ( there the boys who go screaming around towns in their work utes that have a foxtail attached to the areil - fooking hoons ) .

Dragon Revival

Thu 21 Jul, 2016, 3:07pm
Official statement, NRL

The NRL said today that Parramatta Eels player, Corey Norman will be suspended for eight rounds of the 2016 Telstra Premiership.

The suspension will run from Round 19 (when Norman was stood down) through to the end of Round 26.

In addition, he will be fined $20,000.

NRL Head of Integrity, Nick Weeks said the penalty relates to the following matters involving Norman:
• His conviction for drug possession at The Star casino
• A police warning for consorting with known criminals at the casino
• Filming incidents involving apparent drug use and sexual activity
• Distributing video of those incidents to other NRL players

Mr Weeks said the Integrity Unit had interviewed Norman this week and had decided, with the support of the Parramatta club, to impose the penalties described above.

"The message is clear… players cannot put themselves in a position where they may damage their own reputations and that of the game," Mr Weeks said.

"We have been consistent this year in imposing strong penalties where players bring the game into disrepute through actions off the field.

"Whether it is drug possession, criminal associations or social media use, players understand the consequences that can flow from illegal or other unacceptable conduct.

"While it is a regrettable trend in society for people to look to sell footage of sports stars in their private lives there is an easy solution for our players – do not engage in activity which will damage their reputation or that of the game."

Where's possm? He's our man for recreating back room conversations...

Sorry don't have anything to offer on this one. Would love to see Norman come to the Dragons in place of Benji but am more concerned about the quality of our coaching staff. First priority should be to secure a decent coach who may just attract a few quality players for 2017.

This new format of the forum website looks great; only it will take me a little while to get used to it.

I've had some problems and been in and out of hospital lately, no need for concern as I'm sure all will go well and I’ll be back to my pesty best very soon!