Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Not the 80’s again

I’m honestly starting to get over this constant obsession with the 80’s when it comes to the Parramatta Eels. I get that the club leans on that era because all the success came in that short six-year window, but at some point it just becomes repetitive, stale, and—if we’re being honest—pretty nauseating. For younger fans especially, it’s borderline irrelevant.

Even the new coach couldn’t help himself, going on about that era and bringing the old legends back, despite half the current squad probably having no real connection to who they are. You can see the intention, but it just doesn’t land.

The TCT boys fall into the same trap—rolling out guests from that period who recycle the same old stories pre-game, talking about players most younger supporters have never even seen play.

Then you’ve got the marketing team pushing those cringe 1986 varsity jackets, and now we’re once again celebrating that ‘86 win against the Dogs this week like it just happened yesterday.

At some point, the club needs to stop living off nostalgia and start giving fans something new to actually get excited about.

We’ve been stuck in this dead mindset for years and it needs a complete reset—no more half measures. What we’re serving up now is bland, predictable, and painfully unoriginal. A couple of wins don’t change a thing—I’ve seen this exact cycle play out over and over again. It’s the same shit, different year, and I’m well and truly out of patience.

I’m honestly starting to get over this constant obsession with the 80’s when it comes to the Parramatta Eels. I get that the club leans on that era because all the success came in that short six-year window, but at some point it just becomes repetitive, stale, and—if we’re being honest—pretty nauseating. For younger fans especially, it’s borderline irrelevant.

Even the new coach couldn’t help himself, going on about that era and bringing the old legends back, despite half the current squad probably having no real connection to who they are. You can see the intention, but it just doesn’t land.

The TCT boys fall into the same trap—rolling out guests from that period who recycle the same old stories pre-game, talking about players most younger supporters have never even seen play.

Then you’ve got the marketing team pushing those cringe 1986 varsity jackets, and now we’re once again celebrating that ‘86 win against the Dogs this week like it just happened yesterday.

At some point, the club needs to stop living off nostalgia and start giving fans something new to actually get excited about.

We’ve been stuck in this dead mindset for years and it needs a complete reset—no more half measures. What we’re serving up now is bland, predictable, and painfully unoriginal. A couple of wins don’t change a thing—I’ve seen this exact cycle play out over and over again. It’s the same shit, different year, and I’m well and truly out of patience.

We kind of have to, though.

We've been in the league for 80 years, and outside of that short period in the 80's, we have been an irrelevant pimple on the arse of the league.

I am pretty sure that we hold more wooden spoons than any other team - meanwhile, Manly have never won a single spoon, even though they entered the comp the same year we did...

Our only claim to any sort of relevance, is that legendary team of the 1980's - without it, we would be an even bigger laughingstock than we currently are.

We kind of have to, though.

We've been in the league for 80 years, and outside of that short period in the 80's, we have been an irrelevant pimple on the arse of the league.

I am pretty sure that we hold more wooden spoons than any other team - meanwhile, Manly have never won a single spoon, even though they entered the comp the same year we did...

Our only claim to any sort of relevance, is that legendary team of the 1980's - without it, we would be an even bigger laughingstock than we currently are.
I lived through that era and I reckon we have flogged that dead horse for an eternity. We need something new.

Yes, because that's been said so many times and has got this club no where. People come up with ideas to go into a new era and unfortunately it hasn't worked

I get your point about living in the past but people won't stop going back there until things change here and start to look promising

King-Gutho94

I wasn't even around in the 1980s so it holds no meaning to me other then complete jealousy i wasn't around to witness our golden era of great players and probably never get to see a premiership let alone a dynasty.

Can you imagine them letting Ray Price in the sheds before the game this week after what we dished up yesterday.

He would tell the lot of them they were all not only a disgrace to the jersey but i reckon other names like gutless and cowards for the way they played would get mentioned because Pricey doesn't hold back and he would look them all in the eye and double down.

How would that go down with the group in this day and age where the new generation of soft cocks need to be moddy coddled.

I wasn't even around in the 1980s so it holds no meaning to me other then complete jealousy i wasn't around to witness our golden era of great players and probably never get to see a premiership let alone a dynasty.

Can you imagine them letting Ray Price in the sheds before the game this week after what we dished up yesterday.

He would tell the lot of them they were all not only a disgrace to the jersey but i reckon other names like gutless and cowards for the way they played would get mentioned because Pricey doesn't hold back and he would look them all in the eye and double down.

How would that go down with the group in this day and age where the new generation of soft cocks need to be moddy coddled.

Some of them probably wouldn't know who Ray Price and would be upset that some old man was insulting them.

eel01s

I tend to agree Avenger. Whilst the 1976-86 period are our golden years, and it is always important to respect and honour those players, it us time we moved on.

Our club needs to reassess its goals. Are we serious about winning NRL comps? Are we just a development club, content with being financially stable?

If we want to win NRL I keep saying we need to be ruthless. Look at Bellamy having a go at players in the sheds. The Roosters and Dogs getting rid of players when they need to.

We need better people managing the footy club. An example is our head of performance. We tried someone well credentialled last season and we excelled towards the end of the season. He leaves and we employ the guy from the wooden spooners. Can you believe it? Only at Parra. Why don't we pursue and get the best? Until we can do that we will just be making up the numbers.

Be ruthless! Should be the board's new mantra when it comes to football operations.

I don't disagree, mate.

But at our heart, we are a mediocre club, that is living off one short era of brilliance, and milking it for all it is worth, is all that is keeping us relevant.

Angry_eel

The game has changed, being ruthless is the only way forward. It could be argued it was always the way but I think moving on players, coaches, staff, quick and smart is the way now. Outside of head coaches, most staff find jobs again. Coaches don't because of the number of jobs available and their price tag.

Late 70s, early 80s. That's like last week compared to us Dragon's living off the 11 in a row from 60 years ago.
If you take away those 11 you guys are as mediocre as we are. And yes, I’ll give you all the comps as a single entity before the merge. Others don’t.

King-Gutho94

I take umbrage to that. I have always respected you guys when posting on your forum pages.
I have looked at your guys draw already anticipating its going to be a battle between us two for the spoon.

Gee its brutal stretch coming up.

I suppose you already had the easiest part of the draw already.

I struggle to see how you guys might have more then 2 wins by round 18. Unless you can cause some upsets

Your next 12 weeks is pretty brutal which includes two byes

Souths, Roosters, Penrith, Broncos, Raiders, Sharks, Knights all on the road/Magic Round

Home games against Knights, Warriors, Tigers

Trifili13

I have looked at your guys draw already anticipating its going to be a battle between us two for the spoon.

Gee its brutal stretch coming up.

I suppose you already had the easiest part of the draw already.

I struggle to see how you guys might have more then 2 wins by round 18. Unless you can cause some upsets

Your next 12 weeks is pretty brutal which includes two byes

Souths, Roosters, Penrith, Broncos, Raiders, Sharks, Knights all on the road/Magic Round

Home games against Knights, Warriors, Tigers
How much start are the bookies giving us against the byes? Asking for a friend.