Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Noyce has resigned as CEO

hybrid_tiger

You're talking with hindsight right know which makes me realise that you know f*ck all about nothing. If O'Hara had have kept his form and played Origin again you'd be raving at how good a signing he was but fortunately for you he didn't and it gives f*ckwits like you, MOTH and Eddie fuel to rave on how f*cken stupid the club is for signing him. When Scott Prince left how many quality half backs were available, f*uck all and none, thats how many. Instead of standing around saying "what the f*uck do we do know" Tim Sheens tried something. Sure it wasn't a great success the fact is he tried, didn't work so he signs the first quality half in Mathew Head.

If you and any other genius think you can do better, there's a job available at the club now, go hand in your resumé and see how far you get.

So you would have paid 400k for O'Hara as well, despite not playing for a whole year? Idiot.

There weren't very many halfbacks available when Prince left, but everyone knew he was leaving before he did and we didn't properly plan for it. And there may have been a lack of halfbacks but that doesn't excuse buying a f**king hooker/utility to fill the most important position on the field. Thats just DUMB.

Almost ANY HALFBACK would have been a better option than John Morris.

smeghead

Oh well. Farewell Steve Noyce. Certainly left the club in a better position than when he took over. I do think he had achieved his potential as a CEO though and for the club to move on to the next tier a change was required.

Sign someone in a Frank Loewe (spelling?) mould with experience in high finance and a knack for sports mangement

Callan Pk

Benny polarises others way too much, half the clubs and managers wouldnt deal with him whatsoever.
Not saying he wouldnt do a good job, but his lack of tact now and in the past would hold us back big time.
People have long memories.
We dont need a grub as CEO

and no, HT, I dont think Macca is the man for the job either.
I'd like someone neutral, fresh, dynamic, vibrant and with it.

What some view as lack of tact others view as honesty. I think that approach would actually work wonders with regards dealing with peoples whose egos are far greater than their abilities (coach shines) and as such it would make him a very good negotiator.

I could see O'hara negotiating with ronald and asking for 300k and ronald say mate that ain't enough, have 400k .. you're the next Glenn Lazarus.

Either way I want someone who will speak out on things like the underselling of TV rights, refereeing and someone who will think `plenty of others are paying players outside the cap .. f**k it .. if you can't beat em join em'. Whilst Noyce was noble in doing everything by the book and in an ideal world everyone would be, I'd like some creative, who can think outside the square.

In 50 yrs no one will remember Canterbury rorted the cap to get the quality side they had in 04. And let's be honest the 2 clubs that have been caught were given up by sacked employees. The NRL has not had one pinch in 10 yrs

I wouldn't want Benny running the show, or any other former Wests or Balmain player.

Too much bias to one side of the merger could cause an absolute sh*tfight.

Get someone new from elsewhere.

Wrighty79

I used to attend matches every week. I qould make 1-2 iterstate trips to watch the lads play also. Last year when that fat sack of crap re-signed his son for 3 years, I gave up supporting the Tigers. I couldn't cop it.

Over the off-season I've caved and I still watch the Tigers run around. But I haven't and I will not attend matches this year, or for the next 2 for that matter. I did not renew my Season Ticket for this year. I did not buy my Jersey from the club this year I, bought it from Rebel.

I am doing all I can to avoid Fat Mac and I think I am voing with my feet, sure I am only one person, but if there were 100 like minded souls out there, surely they would feel the pinch.

If he were to be CEO that would be it. There would be no jerseys. There would be no supporting the club in any way. The relationshp will cease to exist. If he were to be appointed then I tell you what I can't wait until the Western Sydney Rams get admitted into the AFL, I'd finally have a team that I can support again - because the Tigers will have done there dash for me.

simon says

Fair dinkum....if ur support rests on who the CEO is then good riddance and enjoy fumble ball.

TBH I go to the footy to enjoy good times with my tiger mates and support the 17 blokes that are representing where I come from and to a large extent who I am.

I couldnt care less if Osama Bin Laden came out of hiding and became CEO,I would still love the Tigers,and frankly anyone who wouldnt is second rate.....

Dont let the door hit you on the way out.

Wrighty79

Fair dinkum....if ur support rests on who the CEO is then good riddance and enjoy fumble ball.

TBH I go to the footy to enjoy good times with my tiger mates and support the 17 blokes that are representing where I come from and to a large extent who I am.

I couldnt care less if Osama Bin Laden came out of hiding and became CEO,I would still love the Tigers,and frankly anyone who wouldnt is second rate.....

Dont let the door hit you on the way out.

I already do enjoy AFL it's only our national code, and Leaguey's only put s..t on it because it is a massive threat to a relatively insignificant game in the context of things.

Be blinded by black and gold glasses - don't question the satus quo, just roll with it... With ignorant fans like you, who needs Fat Mac?

hybrid_tiger

The ABC aren't boring if you want to listen and learn about the game. The Wok in particular is a great analyst.

I agree that 2GB are for the bogan masses and do a pathetic job. I also agree that in an administrative and marketing sense, AFL wins hands down.

Doesn't mean we should like it though. It's a f**king horrible sport.

The smartest football brain probably of all time. I have no doubt that if someone offered him a coaching job he could do it with his eyes closed .... of course the only one that could outcoach him would be the sizzler who as we all know `could outcoach them all ... believe you me'

Has Sizzler been in talks with Tommy Raudonikis?

Their coaching styles are very similar.

super_coach

If you not happy with wok and thirsty on the abc than you have a problem. Compared to what they have to compete against its no race. Wok is like talking to your grandfather,calls a spade a spade and has years of experience to call on and isnt the ring master of a circus like the other bloke on 2gb

N.C.

Grandstand is where its at. AFL is where it aint. If you want to market your sport to a discerning audience who knows that the difference between the teams runs deeper than the colours they turn out in, then don't follow the lead of the AFL. Sure they might get bums on seats, but seriously does anyone who follows the sport know what the f**k those guys on the park are actually doing? At least with league the doubters admit that they don't know the rules and then either find out what they are missing or move the f**k over and let someone else have a look. Funnily enough it only ever seems to be the Storm supporters who buy the shirt before they stop to ask who's in the team...

I like the ABC coverage .. talks football nd the wok is a great thinker. The alternative on Sunday was Raaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyy talking to ethel who races Jack Russells. Talkin Sport is no longer on a Sunday. Perhaps if we had a CEO with balls who questioned the granting of exclusive commercial radio rights to a station that does nothing to promote the game (and isn't critical of its administration) and underselling of TV rights due to a NEw Ltd interest on both the buying and selling parties ... well you get my drift

N.C.

Yeah the ABC is crackers and thank god for their coverage. Saves me around $40 a month at last count...

simon says

I wanna know what kind of fan gives it away cos he doent like a particular signing.

Sounds like a gee up to me.

TBH i did the same this yr from the point of view of no merchandise, no ST renewal etc and I'm not alone on that count. The membership packages stunk, were overpriced and gave no incentive whatsoever to pay up front when it is cheaper to pay on the gate. Of course my theory places no monetary value on heirlooms like fridge magnets and posters etc