Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL good news

No. You live in dreamland. A wet dream over the welsh banker like the rest of his fanbois. Shareholders are morons so it's no surprise they engage in the same comparisons as the smith circle jerk society. But but but hes better than gallop. So is the turd I just flushed.

oikee

In what could be a massive kick in the guts to rugby league, the A-league could beat Brisbane to a second team.
Gallop understands the importance of big city derbies, as do the AFL.

A long time ago i said however gets a second team into Brisbane first, will win the code war.
Well it looks like the NRL have left the gate wide open and it might never recover from having to battle all the codes in Brisbane along with not having two teams in NZ and Melbourne and a team in Perth.

It just makes it that little bit harder for fans to loyal to the code when all around them other codes are progressing, expanding, while the NRL has stayed stagnet, limp, festering like a rotten kangaroo carcuss caught on the dingo fence.

The horse has bolted, dont bother to shut the gate now. We will be another 10 years behind other codes.

There is now only one way for the NRL to put things right in Brisbane, that is to bring in the Brisbane Brothers as the next expansion team.
It would have a similar effect as the Wanderers had in Sydney.
The support base for brothers is huge and would be a instant success and bring a huge amount of support and faith back into the game.
Any other team would just be hard slog and a totem gesture.
The NRL have to get this right, if they fail soccer and AFL will walk into Brisbane unchallenged.

The Great Dane

In what could be a massive kick in the guts to rugby league, the A-league could beat Brisbane to a second team.
Gallop understands the importance of big city derbies, as do the AFL.

I'm not convinced that a second A-league team in Brisbane wouldn't just cannibalize the Roar, and anybody suggesting a second AFL team in Brisbane must be insane.

A long time ago i said however gets a second team into Brisbane first, will win the code war.

Considering that the only way that you could possibly measure a "code war" is though market share, no a second team in Brisbane wouldn't "win" any company the 'war' as having control of the Brisbane market wouldn't necessarily mean you have the majority share of the Australian sports market (or NZs for that matter) .

And besides it's impossible for the code war to have an out right 'winner', but that's for another time.

Well it looks like the NRL have left the gate wide open and it might never recover from having to battle all the codes in Brisbane along with not having two teams in NZ and Melbourne and a team in Perth.

The Monopoly that RL had on Brisbane was never going to last forever, it might have lasted longer had a second NRL club been established but you've got no one to blame but the Broncos for that not happening sooner.

It just makes it that little bit harder for fans to loyal to the code when all around them other codes are progressing, expanding, while the NRL has stayed stagnet, limp, festering like a rotten kangaroo carcuss caught on the dingo fence.

At the moment the NRL is being cautious when it comes to expansion and that's not a bad thing.

The last thing we want to do is over extend our reach and have a bunch of expansion clubs fall over, which I think the A-league is in danger of doing again with their plans for two more clubs in the A-league, a second tier national competition to run alongside the A-league and promotion and regulation between the two tiers, hopefully all to be implemented for their next broadcast deal (so before 2020).

The horse has bolted, dont bother to shut the gate now. We will be another 10 years behind other codes.

Considering the A-leagues time frame for expansion wouldn't their second Brisbane team be entering the competition at roughly the same time (2017-18) as a second Brisbane NRL team (if the get the go ahead)!?

So no the horse hasn't bolted and even if it had I doubt it would have made it to far.

maccattack

25 minute quarters with 8 interchanges? Sounds bizarre and quite f**ked up on paper. But it's almost crazy enough to work

I dont like this idea for the simple reason that team rosters will increase. More players means the money is spread more thinly. With players leaving for more money. This aint gonna help.

taipan

No. You live in dreamland. A wet dream over the welsh banker like the rest of his fanbois. Shareholders are morons so it's no surprise they engage in the same comparisons as the smith circle jerk society. But but but hes better than gallop. So is the turd I just flushed.

OK champ you nominate yourself when Smith's tenure is up,as his replacement.You have all the answers apparently.Then again,so did Allan Bond and Christopher Skase.

But but but we now got live Sunday arvo game,better deal for kids who play rl,money in the bank,power to influence Govt to spend on stadiums,promotion of International league and more money being spent on grassroots than you suggest.Yep he is an out and out failure ,written and authorised by ECT.;-)

The turd you supposedly just flushed is stuck in the U bend.

So now you have to compare to bond and skase as well. The smith mutual masturbation alliance is branching out.

They've done nothing for grassroots football. Not a thing. Everything they do is completely focused on the elite level and especially Sydney. When you compile a list of achievements and not one of them equates to actual growth or improvement of the sport its a pretty pathetic list. Especially when it has to be exaggerated by pure fabrications like increased spending at the grassroots and international promotion. There is zero real growth in grassroots funding and their international promotion is nothing more than an attempt to supply NRL clubs with players and promote the NRL to the islands. It has nothing to do with actual internationals. The pacific policy includes NO games. What a way to promote international footy. And on top of that these corporate geniuses failed to find any sponsors for the four nations. Thank god we have such capable business people at the helm.

Go back to gallop comparisons as your main smith argument. As pathetic and irrelevant as it is, its still more compelling than trying to compile lists of his achievements.

oikee

3 main issues to be resolved by 2018. Next TV deal.

1/ Stadiums.
2/ Expansion.
3/ Membership growth.

Sydney has got to sort out their stadium issues. Townsville have to build the new stadium. New Zealand have to get Mt Smart sorted out. All this needs to be sorted by 2018.

Expansion has to be announced. Perth, Brisbane, NZ and Central QLD.

Also Central nsw coast and Melbourne also a second team need to be put on notice that they will be looked at with-in 10 years for a team. So 2025.
Weather that involves merger's or relocation, or just plain expansion. They need to be pout on notice when announcing expansion teams.
Stop leaving the code in the dark.

Membership growth has got to be improved. Teams outside Sydney need to improve their away memberships for Sydney as Well as Melbourne. We have fans in these areas and i would say that clubs could combine memberships so fans can attend other games to other teams.
Example, if your a Cowboys fan in Melbourne, your away membership could include entry to Broncos and Titans games against the Storm as well. ?

We need to get smarted with memberships.

After the 2018 deal is signed and sealed, we need to pump 100 to 200 million into Melbourne Adelaide and Perth grass-roots.
And any other little piss-fart area in between. Like Bendigo, Ballerat, Tassie, Geelong and any other pimple that raises it ugly head.
By doing that you draw attention to our code.
We need to start making waves, not ripples.

oikee

So now you have to compare to bond and skase as well. The smith mutual masturbation alliance is branching out.

They've done nothing for grassroots football. Not a thing. Everything they do is completely focused on the elite level and especially Sydney. When you compile a list of achievements and not one of them equates to actual growth or improvement of the sport its a pretty pathetic list. Especially when it has to be exaggerated by pure fabrications like increased spending at the grassroots and international promotion. There is zero real growth in grassroots funding and their international promotion is nothing more than an attempt to supply NRL clubs with players and promote the NRL to the islands. It has nothing to do with actual internationals. The pacific policy includes NO games. What a way to promote international footy. And on top of that these corporate geniuses failed to find any sponsors for the four nations. Thank god we have such capable business people at the helm.

Go back to gallop comparisons as your main smith argument. As pathetic and irrelevant as it is, its still more compelling than trying to compile lists of his achievements.

Look, banging your head against a brick wall if your trying to convince anyone Gallop was in the same ballpark as Smith.
I mean NSW bush footy was a basketcase and nearly dead under Gallop's watch.

Smith has to turn all that around, and just throwing faking millions at them is not the answer.
You need to take baby steps, or they will be like baby birds with their faking beaks out every year.

Have you noticed any whigning coming from the QRL. ?

No, they are getting on with things and still have to struggle, but their doing it with a smile on their face.
Maybe you need to try that, Smiling.
Your faking bitterness is drowning out common sense.

Cockadoodledoo

I dont like this idea for the simple reason that team rosters will increase. More players means the money is spread more thinly. With players leaving for more money. This aint gonna help.

Not to mention the massive increase in soft tissue injuries that will occur as players fatigue. Forcing players in positions like the halves, fullbacks etc to play 100 minutes will lead to an increase in injuries. It will basically be a different sport, not rugby league. Each team will need a first grade squad of 35 players. Where all these players will come from is any bodies guess.
It will also mean 7.30 matches finishing close to 10pm, too late for young children. In theory to people who don't understand much about the game, it may seem exciting but in reality it would be a farce that I couldn't see lasting.

taipan

Look, banging your head against a brick wall if your trying to convince anyone Gallop was in the same ballpark as Smith.
I mean NSW bush footy was a basketcase and nearly dead under Gallop's watch.

Smith has to turn all that around, and just throwing faking millions at them is not the answer.
You need to take baby steps, or they will be like baby birds with their faking beaks out every year.

Have you noticed any whigning coming from the QRL. ?

No, they are getting on with things and still have to struggle, but their doing it with a smile on their face.

Maybe you need to try that, Smiling.
Your faking bitterness is drowning out common sense.

taipan

I could nominate anyone for comparisons ,the point is people in CEO positions make mistakes every day.
.The point is he is doing what he is paid to do,taking the crap on the chin and getting jobs done..
The Titans are not complaining,nor the Tigers,nor Newcastle,nor the Cowboys,nor the Sharks either assited with management problems or getting assistance re upgraded stadiums.

Unless you can provide overall proof to show the NRL has done nothing for grassroots ,I call your comment BS.You have NFI what they have or have not done in NSW.

What a load of crapola,the NRL was behind the 4 nations and assisted financially .Any development in Samoa/Fiji/PNG is for International growth FFS.Even Lassie the wonder dog could see that.
The fact the 4 nations was deemed a success gives better sponsorship opportunities down the line.

Yes the list does upset you and that's my argument.As Jack Gibson one suggested "this mob would boo Santa Claus"."
I repeat you offer nothing but bitterness not solutions( except via your hand ).Figures, just a whingeing banabender.

I'm not a queenslander.

And that entirely incorrect assertion was still the smartest thing you said.

Basically you're saying we have to accept mediocrity. They're pumping cash into NRL clubs that could be going elsewhere. You're the one claiming they are doing a great job at grassroots level so YOU prove it. You want me to prove something that has happened. You prove it has.

They're supposed to be corporate geniuses these people and they couldn't even find a sponsor for the four nations. Not one. Not even on the refs shirt. They treated the whole event like an after thought and once again it was only the product that made it work. That certainly hasn't changed. The game succeeding on the field despite shit admin.

I have listed a whole range of ideas and solutions on here before. Many of them easily and cheaply achievable. Guess what the long of the circle jerk society said in response. 'They're already doing most of that'. It was without doubt one of the most ignorant posts ever. The circle jerkers have nfi what is happening outside Sydney and the NRL in general. They're as clueless as the chumps they worship.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

I posted this in the other place, but i feel like it still holds true here...

Do+not+feed+the+trolls_5381eb_3248877.jpg

(perhaps a new avatar, ECT....)

taipan

I'm not a queenslander.

And that entirely incorrect assertion was still the smartest thing you said.

Basically you're saying we have to accept mediocrity. They're pumping cash into NRL clubs that could be going elsewhere. You're the one claiming they are doing a great job at grassroots level so YOU prove it. You want me to prove something that has happened. You prove it has.

They're supposed to be corporate geniuses these people and they couldn't even find a sponsor for the four nations. Not one. Not even on the refs shirt. They treated the whole event like an after thought and once again it was only the product that made it work. That certainly hasn't changed. The game succeeding on the field despite shit admin.

I have listed a whole range of ideas and solutions on here before. Many of them easily and cheaply achievable. Guess what the long of the circle jerk society said in response. 'They're already doing most of that'. It was without doubt one of the most ignorant posts ever. The circle jerkers have nfi what is happening outside Sydney and the NRL in general. They're as clueless as the chumps they worship.

Basically what I am stating is:You are a graduate of Troll central.
I give you a C- for effort. And that is basically it.

I see.

I thought you were scraping the bottom of the barrel when you had to use a gallop comparison.

I was wrong. I hadn't considered the troll name calling.

I suppose its a last resort when you have such a poor argument.

Eddie Lab

don't bother with ECT. he has had a bee in his bonnet about the commission and Smith since day one.

And I've been proven right.

We have an admin with the wrong attitude and the wrong priorities, not to mention a lack of understanding of the games culture, history and needs. Its an admin high on talk and spin and superficial actions but not on delivering real action across the sport. Its obsessed with brand building, not growth of the sport. They're not the same thing.

kbw

A couple of days ago we had someone post about the NRL taking junior passes off the kids.
The premature ejaculation on this site is classical.
80 mil banked, that takes the total to about 120 million, less the outlay for Sydney stadiums if the whole thing goes pair-shaped, which it could with Abbott and Co in charge.

How good is Smith and Grant going,.
Faking Loydd's exec.
Like winning the Lotto landing him.

That would have been me and I have recently seen the detail on the "new" method of getting kids to the game and its BS.

If the kid hasn't registered to go to the game, they can't just make a last minute decision to go.

The problem with the current clowns is that the talk is all great. If you read those articles you would be impressed. But when you know the detail and try and match the actions to the words (almost impossible) you realise that its all crap and they are only interested in the $s.

I will say that after speaking to someone involved, the proposed changes to the game are not necessarily aligned with those in the articles, but are good and there is a lot of sensible thought. But thats not coming from the games administration, its coming from the coaches and clubs.

kbw

I would guess that East Coast Tiger has some involvement in a junior RL club. Because its there and not in the media or internet forums that the truth about the BS spin from the NRL is being seen for what it is.

I would be interested in hearing from anyone involved in administering a junior regarding whether they like the detail of the new junior ticket scheme and if they think the current NRL admin is actually helping grass roots RL