Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News NRL leaked video scandals: Napa, May, Lane

SpaceMonkey

Just saw the video (blokes at work move in those circles). Gotta say this pretty much comes down to the alleged identity of the female.. if she was anonymous I doubt it’d be a big deal at all.

franklin2323

You take out the top flight footballer part and you’re describing about 80 percent of males aged 18-30.

The only difference between them and football players is that footy players get recognised and hassled by people way more.

Most females would of got dick pics etc on twitter, Insta and stuff...Some may even send boobs themselves. 99% of these people are anon problem is NRL players are known so becomes an issue when they do similar and gets out.

Tiger5150

I guess we see what court says

There is no need to see what the court says. The court isnt going to rule on whether this is a big deal or not for these girls, they will judge whether May videoed them and/or distributed the video without their consent.

It is clearly already a big deal for these girls based on the fact that they have gone to the police and police have pressed charges.

franklin2323

There is no need to see what the court says. The court isnt going to rule on whether this is a big deal or not for these girls, they will judge whether May videoed them and/or distributed the video without their consent.

It is clearly already a big deal for these girls based on the fact that they have gone to the police and police have pressed charges.

Yes but nothing came from the Napa issue. Nor from when the AFL players passed around pictures of the stripper with the medal on their neck.

So yes in this case it is an issue for the girls but that isn't always the case. May also hasn't commented so it is hard to comment on it until he does

Tiger5150

Yes but nothing came from the Napa issue. Nor from when the AFL players passed around pictures of the stripper with the medal on their neck.

So yes in this case it is an issue for the girls but that isn't always the case. May also hasn't commented so it is hard to comment on it until he does

In the Napa case he appears to be the "victim". The stripper is a professional stripper, who gets paid to get her gear off in the company of others and is probably pretty used to getting her picture taken in the nude. If you cant see the difference I cant help you.

My point above was simply that it doesnt matter who these girls dads are, it doesnt matter that May is a professional footballer and it doesnt matter what the courts say, its clearly a big deal for these girls and I can totally understand it. It amazes me the see guys here wave it off as nothing just because it involves their favourite sport or team. Maybe this kind of behaviour truly is reflective of the sport and its fans. If it is, then League is a walking corpse and it will deserve it.

TheFrog

My question is, where are their family and friends that have a brain between their ears to give them a f**king dose of reality?
Friends are on a whats app group. One of them not much of a friend it would appear. Family...who listens to them?

Seriously, what is happening to Tyrone May should serve as a wake-up call for all NRL players.

Tiger5150

Friends are on a whats app group. One of them not much of a friend it would appear. Family...who listens to them?

Seriously, what is happening to Tyrone May should serve as a wake-up call for all NRL players.

For all young people generally.

franklin2323

That is the good thing to come from this. It is unlikely he will do jail time but just going through it all is enough to hopefully get the message across

TheFrog

For all young people generally.
Young nobodies are less likely to be identified on social media and so less likely to be busted for this sort of thing. There is far less incentive to spread the material if it's a nuffie. These things are being made public because they are NRL players.

SpaceMonkey

If it was filmed and/or distributed without her consent, I reckon it would be a big deal for the "female" regardless of who her dad is.

Agreed from a legal point of view... but realistically if she’s nobody of note her identity isn’t going to be of much interest to anybody. May would still be in trouble for it but it’s not going to make him powerful enemies. But if she’s closely connected to people high up in NRL circles, then the powers that be won’t be happy.

Tiger5150

Young nobodies are less likely to be identified on social media and so less likely to be busted for this sort of thing. There is far less incentive to spread the material if it's a nuffie. These things are being made public because they are NRL players.

So it would have been OK if this girl was filmed without her consent and it was just shared amongst his mates? So at what point would this be a big deal for the girl? If without her consent 5 people saw her getting rooted? 10? 100? 1000? 2? What is your number?

Tiger5150

Agreed from a legal point of view... but realistically if she’s nobody of note her identity isn’t going to be of much interest to anybody. May would still be in trouble for it but it’s not going to make him powerful enemies. But if she’s closely connected to people high up in NRL circles, then the powers that be won’t be happy.

NO NO NO NO NO!

Not from a legal point of view. From a personal point of view. From the girls point of view! This chick is probably badly traumatised and it doesnt matter if she is nobody of note.

gordsy

I think it reflects badly on all of these "friends". A real friend would say "hey man, dont share this shit. Think of the chick"
Think of the privacy of the woman whose privacy I am violating in the first place by showing you this ??
Makes sense..

unforgiven

Rubbish, if any girl made these reports to the police May would be in the same situation he is now.

TheFrog

So it would have been OK if this girl was filmed without her consent and it was just shared amongst his mates?
Obviously not, since that is what seems to have happened and the cops have charged him. You only have to send it to one person. You don't think Tyrone May would have put pornographic images of himself in the public domain two weeks before the start of the season, do you?

Last edited by a moderator:

Tiger5150

Think of the privacy of the woman whose privacy I am violating in the first place by showing you this ??
Makes sense..

Nah what I meant was one of the "friends" in the whatsapp group that was receiving the video should have pulled him up for sharing it if he was a real mate.