Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Rd 22 2025 - General Non-Warriors Thread

JJ

An interesting question on ABC Radio: who was the last toe-poker goal-kicker in first grade? Mal Meninga stands out, Mark 'Piggy' Riddell had the ball pointed that way but kicked around the corner. The 'Big O' Filipaina was another. I heard the answer.

Remember, toe-poking went out of vogue in the very early '90s. Even the late-'80s.
Did Kurt Sherlock kick that way?

Bizarre that Meninga was still doing it, he was awful

Blair

Did Kurt Sherlock kick that way?

Bizarre that Meninga was still doing it, he was awful.
Good one re Kurt. However, I wouldn't think so, as he came from NZ union, and they stopped 'torpedoeing' in the 1970s.

Welshman, Phil 'Twinkle Toes' Bennett, showed us the 'round the corner' style on the '77 Lions tour, with the ball sitting upright.

Reactions: JJ

Blair

'Lodge in trouble in back play'.

Beave, your weekend might get even better.

...he stays on. This one feels like a final. Great intensity, great crowd involvement. Awful weather!

I’ve seen worse passes than the one they called forward for the Garrick try let go

Will be interesting to see how Tom goes at 1 for the next 15mins with Hopoate knee’d in the head.

Cmon Atkins, a little 5/8 nailed a big front rower, let them celebrate a bit, the contact was stuff all

Jazz got read the riot act earlier for pushing Tedesco after he got Hopoate in the head with his knee, “any more you sit down” Bla bla bla

Sam Walker jumps out of dummy half to push Waddell, no words spoken

Was looking forward to the footy tonight but the NSW weather has produced a couple of bludgers

Blair

Roosters 20, Manly 4.

A dud result for the Bookvale faithful but they're still on the cusp of the eight, Chooks are tenth.

Izz

Sunday, upset, upset, upset, puh-lease...Benji's boys! But it won't happen, the Dogs are clicking (and let's not have them angry for next week).
Second half will be interesting. If the Dogs don't find a way to win, they'll definitely be out to make amends next week!