@Reflector laughing at my post about Greater Sydney not producing the bulk of the game's best players during the late 70s/80s and 2000s/10s sums up the delusion that runs through the veins of NSWRL fans. Queensland dominated Origin in the 80s with players who were produced in the late 70s. Queensland dominated Origin from 2006 until a few years ago. It's embarrassing how New South Welshmen dispute these irrefutable facts. Peter Sterling was a Queenslander from TOOWOOMBA and a mainstay of the 80s Blues.
NSW had only ever managed to win three series in a row. Queensland won eight straight.
Settle down mate, I was laughing at your assumption that NSW could never win 8 series in a row. Likewise, you claimed (a while back) that the 1986 Wynnum team would definitely have beaten the likes of Canterbury, Souths or Parramatta in a combined competition that season. While I agree they would've been up there in a combined comp in '86, imagine somebody stating "Yeah nah, Wynnum would've been no match for the top NSWRL teams that year". Sounds a bit...arrogant?
Qld had great teams in the 80's, and I would actually put their 88-89 squad above any of the 2006-2013 sides based on the quality of the NSW teams they beat.
Then in the 90's the tables turned and (had it not been for the disruption of the SL war, of which Gus was heavily involved in) NSW most likely would've won 6 in a row between 1992 and 97, possibly 98 too if injuries hadn't hobbled their line-up going into the decider.
Then in the mid 2000's the likes of JT, Slater, Cronk, Smith, Inglis all hit their strides as players and were the driving force between the Maroons' streak.
We now see signs of a (still) relatively young NSW crop of players with a big future ahead of them. Whose to say NSW couldn't win 8 series in a row?
That is, of course, if the NRL allowed it. One-sided blowouts would kill ratings, especially north of the border. As a purist, I've seen more than a few matches over the years that felt scripted, and both sides have benefited at different times, depending upon the narrative.
But in a fair dinkum contest where it's genuinely "let the best side win"? No reason whatsoever, based on the odds, to think the Blues couldn't win 8 in a row. My hope is if it happens, they clinch #8 in Townsville. Would have a glorious symmetry to it.