Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL's Tim Smith and cricket's Clarke 'clash'

Tim smith needs to be 19 th for at least a few weeks as does riddell, It would be unfair to put them into reserves as the boys there dont deserve to be dropped for someone elses misbehaviour...

19 and 20th man....

parra-all-the-way said:
Tim smith needs to be 19 th for at least a few weeks as does riddell, It would be unfair to put them into reserves as the boys there dont deserve to be dropped for someone elses misbehaviour...

19 and 20th man....

they wouldn't be dropped, they would be promoted to replace them

jayman

like i wrote in my a couple of posts b4 they got deleted.. ;-)

clarke gets smashed alot..

and he goes for the roosters not tigers.. even though hes a western suburbs player.. maybe timmy told him his team was sh*t

(this post might get deleted ... bye bye post... no idea why...:lol:)

http://www.smh.com.au/news/league/clarke-bats-off-nightclub-clash/2006/06/21/1150845214538.html

Clarke bats off nightclub clash

David Braithwaite
June 21, 2006 - 11:01AM
Cricket Australia has downplayed a reported scuffle between Parramatta rugby league player Tim Smith and star cricketer Michael Clarke as a "minor misunderstanding".

Smith is back in the news for off-field misadventures after reportedly pushing Clarke during a heated argument at a Cronulla nightspot about 10pm on Sunday.

Bouncers at the Northies hotel then ejected Smith from the pub, it was reported.

Reports quoted a witness to the incident who said the pair had to be separated by security.

"They were in each other's faces. Then Smith pushed Michael Clarke and he got kicked out," he said.

It is understood Smith, who was drinking with teammate Mark Riddell, then moved on to nearby nightclub Fusion.

A spokesman for Cricket Australia said Clarke described the blow-up as "something out of nothing", which normally would not have attracted a second glance.
"Clearly there was minor misunderstanding between the two of them and staff at the nightclub handled it at the time very well."

Tim Smith and, inset, Michael Clarke ... "Clearly there was minor misunderstanding between the two of them and staff at the nightclub handled it at the time very well."

Cricket Australia has downplayed a reported scuffle between Parramatta rugby league player Tim Smith and star cricketer Michael Clarke as a "minor misunderstanding".

Smith is back in the news for off-field misadventures after reportedly pushing Clarke during a heated argument at a Cronulla nightspot about 10pm on Sunday.

Bouncers at the Northies hotel then ejected Smith from the pub, it was reported.

Reports quoted a witness to the incident who said the pair had to be separated by security.

"They were in each other's faces. Then Smith pushed Michael Clarke and he got kicked out," he said.

It is understood Smith, who was drinking with teammate Mark Riddell, then moved on to nearby nightclub Fusion.

A spokesman for Cricket Australia said Clarke described the blow-up as "something out of nothing", which normally would not have attracted a second glance.

"Clearly there was minor misunderstanding between the two of them and staff at the nightclub handled it at the time very well," the spokesman said.

"Michael carried on with his evening and is back preparing for the coming summer.

"He said [the incident] was over extremely quickly - it was such a minor incident he didn't even speak to his management staff about it."

Smith's manager, David Rioli, was quoted as saying he understood it was not a major incident.

Just over a month ago the reigning Dally M Rookie of the year turned up drunk for Eels training along with Riddell and was stood down from first grade.

- with AAP.

shame on all of you for buying into this crap.

it is because of this discussion that the media keeps on dishing out unnecessary bs stories. if you all just ignored it, gave it a big 'meh' and went on about your lives, the number of these stories would eventually dry up.

and to those of you that want to drag pig into this and crucify him as well.... what is he guilty of association? look at the cayless incident - hindy was there as well, but he did the smoothing over with the casino staff and everything was fine. Perhaps ridell played a similar role - tried to break them up, talk to clarke, or bouncers - we are only privvy to what this 2nd rate journalist writes.

All Tim is guilty off is not being smart enough to know when to walk away to avoid these crap stories. he will learn this. doesnt need to be dropped, fined, or kicked from the club because you whingers cant handle defending him to your friends again. grow some balls, visit www.kleenex.com and stop crying about nothing.

didnt get to read that second article.

please people, dont blame in this instance TS, and in general RL players. The media are out to make a mountain out of a molehill in any instance re: RL players. They shouldnt have to live like saints because of this. it should be the media changing the way in how they report - equaltity for all sports.

all those people who mentioned appropriate punishments for TS. do you still think they're suitable for a minor incident.

30% pay cut. dropped for the year. not resigned. :lol:

i think the best course of action menioned would be alcohol counselling. because there is clearly a correlation here. and whoever suggested having a chat with sterlo :clap: that i feel would produce the best results.

Smartman

If there ever was a one hit wonder, its young Timmy :cool:

Wow 3 different fekking incidents within a year.

What next? stealing an old ladys handbag :lol:

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
eeelectroshooting? said:
all those people who mentioned appropriate punishments for TS. do you still think they're suitable for a minor incident.

30% pay cut. dropped for the year. not resigned. :lol:

i think the best course of action menioned would be alcohol counselling. because there is clearly a correlation here. and whoever suggested having a chat with sterlo :clap: that i feel would produce the best results.

Tom Simpson (or Sampson?) who is now the appointemnt alcohol person at the NRL should be put up at the Crowne Plaza Parra for the next week or so i reckon!

Always a pleasure to hear from you Smartman...considering you support the "headline" club.

Maybe they should be called the Canterbury Headlines.

JessEel said:
Tom Simpson (or Sampson?) who is now the appointemnt alcohol person at the NRL should be put up at the Crowne Plaza Parra for the next week or so i reckon!

Tommy Simpson is meeting with the whole club very soon.

Daneel

Belly in Brisvegas said:
Always a pleasure to hear from you Smartman...considering you support the "headline" club.

Maybe they should be called the Canterbury Headlines.

Maybe we could send Timmy to the Bulldogs so they can train him in all aspects of being a great footballer off the field. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I'm glad people can laugh. I am disappointed in a lot of players in the club at the present time.

You can tell me to lighten up or whatever but really this sort of behaviour is getting ridiculous.

Daneel

The Colonel said:
I'm glad people can laugh. I am disappointed in a lot of players in the club at the present time.

You can tell me to lighten up or whatever but really this sort of behaviour is getting ridiculous.

No need to lighten up colonel you are quite right. I woke up to this news this morning, after a day of defending tim on the forum and felt shattered. I to have had enough of the crap.

jayjayselmes said:
Finally its all coming into place keep going timmy i say!

And everyone reckons this kis is the sh*t. Instead of getting pissed he should be playing more ball and training hard.

If wa the coach id put a ferfue on tese players and if borken will be dropped form the team.

And Ridell hasne been as god as last year but is slowly coming good.

SACK HIM NOW

When did you stop drinking at Northies?:lol:

walker smith

Firstly, whether Smith was drunk or sober is irrelevant...the fact is it is yet another incident that has brought shame on the club.

Secondly, Clarke's activities are of no concern to me...as a parra supporter i am more concerned with the behaviour of the parramatta club and it's representatives. Arguing about Clarke's involvement or history is merely semantics designed to divert attention from Tim Smith.

Clarke does not play for Parramatta and Tim Smith does....and this being a Parra forum, i would say that Tim Smith's behaviour is the ONLY real concern at the moment.

Wobbygong

I can't believe these two blokes would put themselves in such a position again no matter how minor or not, it isn't fair to the coach the supporters and club generally. The club is really struggling and needs blokes committed to turning things around on and off the field. Smith needs to concentrate on footy not partying and Riddell what can you say, Saints supporters must crack up everytime they see him waddle onto the field for his 10 minute effort at 300k per season.

Wobbygong said:
I can't believe these two blokes would put themselves in such a position again no matter how minor or not, it isn't fair to the coach the supporters and club generally. The club is really struggling and needs blokes committed to turning things around on and off the field. Smith needs to concentrate on footy not partying and Riddell what can you say, Saints supporters must crack up everytime they see him waddle onto the field for his 10 minute effort at 300k per season.

That is the crux of the matter. The situation couldn't have happened if they weren't there.

I harbored different opinions to this a few weeks ago and was of the opinion the players should be allowed to go out and have a good time but the end of the matter is they don't seem to be able to behave responsibly in public.