Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NSW Organised Crime Squad Investigating alleged NRL Match-Fixing

well fill me in the sponsorship deals

You Thi k its coincidence most big boxing matches take place in the worlds gambling capital?

Re journos, because they can. Until the NRL grows balls and holds them to account they will always spin negative stories, if it bleeds it leads.

You Thi k its coincidence most big boxing matches take place in the worlds gambling capital?

Re journos, because they can. Until the NRL grows balls and holds them to account they will always spin negative stories, if it bleeds it leads.

so you have nothing

just what i expected

You asked for a link between boxing and gambling, if you can't see that boxing is one of the most bet on sports in the world, that betting is inter woven with the fabric of the sport, that RL is heading the same way and that RL runs the same risk as boxing of major corruption because of this then I can do little else, or I could get out the crayons and draw you a picture if it will help?

There is clear correlation between betting on a sport and increase chances of corruption. Over last 5 years the amount of links ups with gambling that has proliferated NRL is massive increased to the point where the NRL is getting 10% of its revenue from encouraging more gambling on it.

taipan

You asked for a link between boxing and gambling, if you can't see that boxing is one of the most bet on sports in the world, that betting is inter woven with the fabric of the sport, that RL is heading the same way and that RL runs the same risk as boxing of major corruption because of this then I can do little else, or I could get out the crayons and draw you a picture if it will help?

There is clear correlation between betting on a sport and increase chances of corruption. Over last 5 years the amount of links ups with gambling that has proliferated NRL is massive increased to the point where the NRL is getting 10% of its revenue from encouraging more gambling on it.

If the code from 2018 is getting $1.9bn over 5 years that's $380m pa for Tv rights,plus merchandise revenue at record levels plus gate monies NRL and SOO,and you compare $20m pa from 2017 ($60m over 3 years) is 10% of its revenue.Seriously mate you need a refresher course in maths.
Ever heard of the huge sums bet on cricket particularly in the sub continent and soccer.You want a picture drawn in texta colour FFS?
The ARU has 23 accredited betting agencies.It's a matter of codes getting on top of it before damage happens.

Cockadoodledoo

Irrespetive of whether there is truth in the story, anyone who thinks that the NRL is 100% clean is living in fairyland.

alien

Eddie Hayson and his links to Kieran Foran, Brett Stewart, Anthony Watmough and Andrew Johns
June 5, 2016 - 12:15AM

1465036503059.jpg

Kieran Foran, in blue T-shirt, cap and sunglasses, directly in front of Eddie Hasyon, at the Gosford Races on Anzac Day this year. Photo: Supplied

It was the white shoes adorned with little devil's horns that caught the punter's attention at the Gosford races on Anzac Day.

1465036503059.jpg

Allegations: Flamboyant punter and former brothel owner Eddie Hayson denies being involved in match fixing. Photo: Kate Geraghty

But it was even more of a surprise when he recognised the wearer was the huge gambler and one-time brothel owner Eddie Hayson, and that his companions in the betting ring were none other than rugby league star Kieran Foran and Foran's brother Liam.

For years, club officials at Manly have been concerned about Mr Hayson's close friendship with key players such as Brett Stewart and Foran, who switched from Manly to Parramatta this season.

In January last year, Mr Hayson, Stewart and two other men were spotted holidaying in Las Vegas at the Aria Resort and Casino, a luxurious five-star hotel.

Apart from their overseas jaunt, "Eddie Everywhere", as Mr Hayson is referred to by club officials, was frequently spotted at various Manly hotels enjoying a punt with Foran, Stewart, recently retired player Anthony Watmough and former league great Andrew Johns.

Johns had been on Manly's coaching staff for several years but his contract was not renewed this year after new coach Trent Barrett, a former Australian player, decided to go in a different direction.

This may not have been of concern to officials except that Hayson is no small-time punter. The chronic gambler has been banned from Star casino and, in February, was banned from betting with the TAB.

Mr Hayson was also seen with Foran in Brisbane last month, the day after Foran's TAB account registered $75,000 worth of bets in a two-hour period.

One person previously involved with Mr Hayson said it was easy to be drawn into betting beyond your means. "You might start off with $5 bets but you ended up making $5000 bets on information Eddie claimed to have received from this trainer or that jockey," he claimed.
Manly officials were more concerned about what information Mr Hayson's friendships with the players might produce. "He liked to put himself in the position of having inside information about what's taking place," said a former club official.

The former official said a feud developed between then coach Geoff Toovey and the Foran/Stewart group of players after Stewart's brother Glenn did not have his contract renewed.

The official speculated that Mr Hayson might have used knowledge of the players' discontent with Toovey to his own advantage.

In 2006, Mr Hayson and fellow punter Steve Fletcher won an estimated $2 million on a betting plunge after allegedly receiving inside information that then Newcastle Knights star Andrew Johns would not be playing due to injury.

At the time, Mr Hayson owned racehorses with Johns and his brother Matthew. A subsequent NRL investigation found nothing amiss.

Fairfax Media is not suggesting that any of the players mentioned above have been involved in any wrongdoing.

Inside information is everything when it comes to gambling. Senior police officers, while not referring to Mr Hayson, have expressed concern about the risks of organised crime figures infiltrating sport through associations with players.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...atmough-and-andrew-johns-20160603-gpbcob.html

T-Boon

I actually like the idea that people make a fortune off of insider information on sports betting. So long as it isn't match fixing I say suffer in your jocks Mr Booky - have a cry.

Perce

Interesting that between the tele and SMH they have basically named four players who were at Manly recently (plus the brother of one of the biggest stars now in the Hunter region) and both papers have stories hinting that the influence of special coach Joey may not have been positive. How much closer can they go before they get into defamation territory? Or is their info THAT good?

the DT stole the story off the SMH when they recently poached one of their journos who gave them all the info the SMH had

Card Shark

Joey seems to love a punt.

He bets on games he commentates on I reckon.

Explains his passion for ref calls / results going certain ways.

Bit funny really.

phantom eel

Joey seems to love a punt.

He bets on games he commentates on I reckon.

Explains his passion for ref calls / results going certain ways.

Bit funny really.
He wouldn't be the only one I reckon.

Gee he looked uncomfortable/upset post Origin on Wed night too... just before all these stories broke.

ram raid

You know I can shrug off most of the scandals..mostly I just laugh... but if it turns out that clubs are tanking games, that would make me seriously consider stopping following NRL. And I am the biggest NRL fan in the universe. Even though I don't have a team, don't go to games, don't give to the game in any meaningful way (the opposite actually), I am truly the most loyal fan the game has ever had. Oh what an artist dies in me.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/spo...g/news-story/231711dd01b689c19e2cb24e4dff45c9

Ex-racing steward John Schreck raises doubts on NRL match-fixing

The Australian
12:00AM June 7, 2016

Brent Read
Senior sports writer
Sydney

Sydney’s former chief racing steward John Schreck has raised serious doubts over the veracity of match-fixing allegations in the NRL, insisting the accusations defy logic and claiming he would be staggered if anybody is ever convicted.

Schreck, who also had high-level stints as a steward in Macau and Hong Kong, has been at the forefront of the fight against rorting in the racing industry for most of his adult life.

Known as “The Sheriff” during his five decades in the racing industry, Schreck was responsible for censuring the parties involved in the Fine Cotton scandal and the “Jockey Tapes’’ affair.

He has been stunned by the allegations in the NRL, which surround two games involving Manly last season. It has been suggested as much as $500,000 was outlayed on the result of one of the games and up to six players were given $50,000 each to affect the outcome.

“Over many years in racing control I found unfounded allegations levelled against people time after time after time,” Schreck said

“It’s very easy to do that of course. Let’s think about this for a minute. So far there have been no squeals from any bookies that they have been stitched up.

“Bookmakers, if they get caught, are the best integrity controllers I know because if they think there is a rort on, they will squeal to the high heavens.

“It just defies logic. The theories that have been out forward at this stage in my mind do defy logic.

“I would be staggered if anyone is ever convicted over these allegations and I would be surprised if anyone is ever charged over these allegations.”

Schreck pointed to the absence of a money trail as an indication that nothing untoward had taken place. He also said Manly should focus on clearing the name of the players who have been at the centre of the allegations rather than talking about the protection of their “brand”.

“Wherever there is gambling, people will look for a start,” Schreck said. “That’s what gambling is all about — getting an edge over someone else. Wherever there is gambling involved, you can’t expect everything to be lily white.

“But if you are going to destroy people’s reputations, please, please do it in a fair way. I don’t know how the integrity unit is structured at rugby league headquarters. I would think the only way you would be able to do anything is to follow the money trail. If there is $500,000 bet on a rugby league game it would stick out like the proverbial dog’s balls wouldn’t it? I might be proven wrong. But on the face of it, with what is happening to the players so far, I personally think it is most unsatisfactory. Mr Kelly, the chief executive of Manly, he was saying how much this is affecting their brand. I wouldn’t have said something like that. Stuff the brand, what about the innocence of the people involved? What about the people making these accusations with no foundation at all?”