Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NSW Origin side 2010

jeff27

backline

1. Hayne
2. Morris
3. Morris
4. Tahu
5. Lawrence
6. Soward
7. Pearce

Hayne cos he's a freak.
the Morris brothers playing on the left wing. Solid and speed to burn. who wouldn't want to see that.
As long as Tahu gets his defensive reads in tack he'll be hard to miss. hard hitter and adds experience.
Lawrence because hes a solid defender and has great speed.
Soward only because he has a great kicking game which is a key for origin.
And pearce because he's in form.

typicalfan

I don't like the way Pearce starts his aimless kicking when things get tough, something he got off Anasta. Wouldn't mind perhaps Noddy and Carney so at least one has some experience and give Pearce another 12 months.

Lambretta

Everyone picking Carney in the halves for the origin team.... aint going to happen. Laurie Daley has said himself on fox that selectors wont consider choosing Carney in such an important position as half or 5/8 when he isn't even playing that position for the Roosters.

So he will either have to be picked at fullback ahead of Hayne or settle for a bench spot.

If Carney gets fullback ahead of Hayne, I will buy a f**king Queensland jersey and plant a cactus nursery up my arse. So that means Carney isnt going to be there. Fair enough, happy with that.

Personally I think that the NSW selectors will choose Kimmorley at half back and Greg Bird at five eighth.

They will talk about Greg Birds great footwork close to the line and his ferocious tackling and will hold up Kimmorleys experience and competative nature as his great assets.

Whereas we all know the reason they will choose them is because Greg Bird doesnt have a kicking or passing game and is as much a natural five eighth as Luke Lewis.

As for Kimmorley, this will be his last Origin season, so the opportunity to have a halves combination that they can definately change again next year, or preferably by game two of this series is far too tempting for the NSW selectors to turn down, so he's in for sure.

If Carney gets fullback ahead of Hayne, I will buy a f**king Queensland jersey and plant a cactus nursery up my arse. So that means Carney isnt going to be there. Fair enough, happy with that.

Personally I think that the NSW selectors will choose Kimmorley at half back and Greg Bird at five eighth.

They will talk about Greg Birds great footwork close to the line and his ferocious tackling and will hold up Kimmorleys experience and competative nature as his great assets.

Whereas we all know the reason they will choose them is because Greg Bird doesnt have a kicking or passing game and is as much a natural five eighth as Luke Lewis.

As for Kimmorley, this will be his last Origin season, so the opportunity to have a halves combination that they can definately change again next year, or preferably by game two of this series is far too tempting for the NSW selectors to turn down, so he's in for sure.

Perfect description of Daley's selection talents...

1 Eyed TEZZA

I agree, I think we can work with

1. Hayne
2. Morris
3. Morris
4. Tahu
5. Lawrence
6. Carney
7. Kimmorley

I think that backline has everything needed. Tahu there to groom Lawrence for the future and have them switch between center and wing. Kimmorley to mentor Carney and provide the solid head thats needed.

Springs

Picking Carney at fullback and hayne on the wing will be like picking Johns at Hooker so we could have kimmorley at half. Idiotic.
We cannot have lawrence in the team, at least not in the centres, if his defence is still as bad as it was against the roosters. He is one of the worst shirt grabbers in the NRL.

hybrid_tiger

Carney practically plays as a five-eighth in attack anyway, so the excuse of not picking him in the halves because he is playing fullback is f**king bullsh*t. Since when has that stopped them picking players in wrong positions anyway?

Greg Bird is not a five-eighth, we need to score points and he doesn't have enough creativity.

Springs, Lawrence is one of the best defence centres running around, though he was oddly poor against the Roosters. That's been his only bad defensive game for quite some time.

My team:

1. Hayne
2. B.Morris
3. J.Morris
4. Jennings or Tahu
5. Lawrence
6. Carney
7. Pearce
8. Galloway
9. Farah
10. Weyman
11. Watmough
12. Creagh
13. O'Donnell

14. Douglas
15. Learoyd-Larhs
16. G Stewart
17. Luke Lewis/Greg Bird

hendrix

3 rounds in, my revised team -

1. Jarryd Hayne
2. Brett Morris
3. Matt Cooper
4. Michael Jennings
5. Timana Tahu
6. Todd Carney (gk)
7. Mitchell Pearce
8. Brent Kite/Luke Bailey
9. Robbie Farah
10. Michael Weyman
11. Nathan Hindmarsh
12. Ben Creagh
13. Anthony Watmough

14. Justin Poore
15. Luke Lewis
16. Luke Douglas/Willie Mason
17. Anthony Laffranchi/Paul Gallen

RedVfaithful

backline

1. Hayne
2. Morris
3. Morris
4. Tahu
5. Lawrence
6. Soward
7. Pearce

Hayne cos he's a freak.
the Morris brothers playing on the left wing. Solid and speed to burn. who wouldn't want to see that.
As long as Tahu gets his defensive reads in tack he'll be hard to miss. hard hitter and adds experience.
Lawrence because hes a solid defender and has great speed.
Soward only because he has a great kicking game which is a key for origin.
And pearce because he's in form.

This is the backline i would choose but instead of tahu i would pick cooper. The three games that tahu has played he has not been that impressive and cooper looked very sharp on his first game back on friday.

1- Hayne
2- Morris
3- Morris
4- Cooper
5- Lawrence
6- Soward
7- Pearce

Fein

This is the backline i would choose but instead of tahu i would pick cooper. The three games that tahu has played he has not been that impressive and cooper looked very sharp on his first game back on friday.

1- Hayne
2- Morris
3- Morris
4- Cooper
5- Lawrence
6- Soward
7- Pearce

Carney for Soward and that is a dynamite backline.

You can't have non-tacklers in SOO.

Lambretta

Carney practically plays as a five-eighth in attack anyway, so the excuse of not picking him in the halves because he is playing fullback is f**king bullsh*t. Since when has that stopped them picking players in wrong positions anyway?

Greg Bird is not a five-eighth, we need to score points and he doesn't have enough creativity.

Springs, Lawrence is one of the best defence centres running around, though he was oddly poor against the Roosters. That's been his only bad defensive game for quite some time.

My team:

1. Hayne
2. B.Morris
3. J.Morris
4. Jennings or Tahu
5. Lawrence
6. Carney
7. Pearce
8. Galloway
9. Farah
10. Weyman
11. Watmough
12. Creagh
13. O'Donnell

14. Douglas
15. Learoyd-Larhs
16. G Stewart
17. Luke Lewis/Greg Bird

I like the look of that team. But it's not the one the selectors will go with.

Watching NRL on Fox, the single name that crops up week after week for five eighth is Greg Bird. I would bet my house they pick him to go alongside Brett Kimmorley. Always the eye on the game immediately in front of them and never on the long term, that's NSW. And its why Queensland have won four series in a row. Because they persevere and have experience in all the key positions.

If NSW DO go for Bird, with Kimmorley, they will make the other mistake of putting in Ennis instead of Farah at hooker. Now, dont get me wrong, I think given the right halves combination that Ennis is the better choice for Origin because of his nature, but if they are going for a non creative player like Bird at five eighth, then you can bet your bottom dollar they will focus on the club connection of Ennis and Kimmorley and ignore the creation factor of Farah for hooker. It makes perfect sense. Why have two good kicking options in Origin, where field position is all important, when you can make do with one and put untold pressure on Kimmorley and then blame him when we lose? Oh we love to do that dont we.

So the halves / hooker combo will be

Bird
Kimmorley
Ennis

I'm off to smash my head repeatedly into something solid in preperation for the Origin series.

Knightmare

I had another think about the team this evening and this is the line-up I would choose, current player availability notwithstanding. There are some positions (fullback, 5/8th) where there are a few options I'd be happy with, but the side I've picked is one which I think is a good blend of experience, new talent and a good ole' fashioned bit of mongrel in it!

1. Gidley (would love to see Mini here but will he do enough between now and the series to show he should definitely be here now that Stewart is gone?)

2. Hayne (has done just fine on the wing so far in Origin. I also like the fact that putting him on the flank takes some of the pressure off him, enabling him to be his explosive best in short, lethal doses).

3. Jennings (give him another Origin series and I reckon he'll go to another level with the big-game experience).

4. B. Morris

5. J. Morris (these two seem to have a great understanding of eachothers' game similar to what the Johns brothers had, even if they play for rival NRL teams).

6. Bird (I know, a lot of people don't particularly like the bastard but he did pretty well in Origin before. Other possibles would be Campese or Carney, provided he keeps his early-season form up and stays out of trouble. Even Barrett has a bit of muscle in the number 6. But please please please don't pick Anasta! I know he plays for the Roosters but so f**king WHAT? He's had enough chances at Origin level but never risen to the occasion).

7. Kimmorley (experience is valuable, esp. if they blood a younger player like Campese or Carney as his 5/8th partner).

8. Cross

9. Ennis (like Benny Elias, has that dirty grub wanker mentality that is perfect for tight matches in Origin. Farah is supremely talented, but in last years' series he wore a dinner suit to a gang-fight. He needs to roughen up a bit before being put into the hooking position).

10. Bailey

11. Hindmarsh (c). (Hindy is the epitome of "workhorse". He has the advantage of being an 80 minute player which is very handy in the forwards, and I think he'd be hugely inspirational as captain, particularly to the younger blokes in the team).

12. Watmough (the new 'Mr Perpetual Motion'?)

13. Gallen (see the description for Ennis).

14. Weyman (I think he's got the potential to become a great NSW forward).

15. Laffranchi

16. Waterhouse

17. Depending on who gets the nod as 5/8th, I'd give this spot to one of the young blokes like Carney or Campese. Give them the chance to come on for 20 minutes or so during the game and get that experience under their belt. For Campese this would help him avoid the scarring that a bloke like Mullen received after he was shamefully hung out to dry after a single match! Thank f**k the NSW selectors didn't take the same approach with Laurie Daley!

hasn't Campo already been scarred?

Knightmare

Haha, f**king twins!

If Bailey's gone there's a number of other options for starting prop. As for Campese, he should get a chance in all 3 games this season, availability permitting. It'll be worth it in the long run.

The team I picked doesn't have as much flair as some other suggestions doing the rounds, but it's nothing short on grit and spirit. As somebody here said, being pretty doesn't win you Origins.