Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OFFICIAL: Adam Blair, Joel Reddy and Matthew Bell

Dwyer won`t be playing next season, I think Fulton has earned a starting spot don`t you?
yep I fully agree.

All I want from fults is for him to add a bit more bulk. He gets dominated too easily when hitting the ball up.

He's playing almost like a centre at times (and brilliantly I might add) because he runs great lines and he hits the line and gaps at pace.

I'd like to see Fults requiring three men to get him down at least 60% of the time. That rarely happens.

But I'd definitely have him in the starting 13, I'd even propose moving him to Lock and putting Hino in the second row.

But I'd definitely have him in the starting 13, I'd even propose
moving him to Lock and putting Hino in the second row.

I think Fulton suits lock more than Heighno however Heighno goes hard all game. He is a top player.

Vicious

I think Fulton suits lock more than Heighno however Heighno goes hard all game. He is a top player.

The second rowers play wider of the ruck like old style inside centres therefore need to have plenty of mobility. The locks now play much tighter and as Fulton is much quicker than Heighington, but Heighington is much more effective making the hard yards up the middle, it makes perfect sense to play Heighington at lock and Fulton in the back row.

I think Fultons agility would be more useful tighter in, and hino would be better running wider.

Fults is a better ball player than Hino, and I think thats also a key trait for todays Locks

I'd still like to see them both Fulton and Heighno shipped out. Six wins on the trot and people soon forget that we have been so mediocre and carrying mediocre players that would not get a start at most other clubs.

Heighno never has and never will be anything more than a workmanlike backrower with a big heart and dependable when injuries hit. Doesn't make metres in the middle, gets dominated every tackle, solid in defence.

Fulton has hit a good patch of form for the first time since 2005 and he becomes a bit of a golden child again. He would be lucky to start in more than one or two other first grade sides. A good hole runner and good defender and nothing more. Dominated every time in attack, makes no metres and can't dominate in defence.

I haven't forgotten the mediocrity within this club and with these players because we've strung a few wins together and both players are playing good footy. Plenty of others seem to have.

Fulton's attack may have been ordinary at the start of the year, but his commitment to defence is unparalleled.

hybrid_tiger

While I think you're being a bit harsh, I tend to agree with the basis of your points.

IMO Sheens has earmarked Heighington to be a bench player next season, though I suspect this MAY have changed since Dwyer's injury. I think Sheens was aiming for a backrow of Blair, Ellis and Dwyer next year, which would have left Rhino as a bench player.

Tigers Tale

On the subject of Blair, since the announcement of his signing I have been taking some notice of him and while I am impressed with his work rate both in attack and defence, I can't say I have seen him really break the line and cause major problems for defenders.

He seems to me to be very much like Hino in that he works really well in defence, especially the wrestling but he is similar in attack too, just get to the line and doesn't break it. Occasionally he gets through but he isn't as damaging as I remember him. If you equate him to Hino he is pretty damn expensive.

Maybe he will come good working of Benji but when you think he has Cronk and Smith at the Storm, it is a bit concerning.

Any thoughts about his recent form?

Vicious

I'd still like to see them both Fulton and Heighno shipped out. Six wins on the trot and people soon forget that we have been so mediocre and carrying mediocre players that would not get a start at most other clubs.

Heighno never has and never will be anything more than a workmanlike backrower with a big heart and dependable when injuries hit. Doesn't make metres in the middle, gets dominated every tackle, solid in defence.

Fulton has hit a good patch of form for the first time since 2005 and he becomes a bit of a golden child again. He would be lucky to start in more than one or two other first grade sides. A good hole runner and good defender and nothing more. Dominated every time in attack, makes no metres and can't dominate in defence.

I haven't forgotten the mediocrity within this club and with these players because we've strung a few wins together and both players are playing good footy. Plenty of others seem to have.

Have you also forgotten there is a salary cap and we cannot fit 17 superstars in the one team?

Radical Rat

Fair dinkum mate, this has to be one of the most negative things I've ever read. You're obviously not a glass half full kind of guy. Fulton has been in our best 3 players the past couple of months. Yes he started the year slowly but we can only judge him on what he's producing now. His workrate is absolutely first class. He balances out our pack perfectly. In this form, he walks into any side in the competition.

Assuming he holds his form, a backrow of Ellis, Blair and Fulton will be the best in the comp next year.

tumblingdice

I went down to Melbourne to watch Saints play Storm with a Saints supporter mate. I sat in the dragons bay proudly wearing my old black and white Victa Wests jersey and took the opportunity to decide to have a good look at Adam Blair. Anyway i was pretty well roasted and toasted and i did forget to do so at times. While seemed to have a quiet night in offense and pretty much what you'd see on TV, pulled off some great defence that shut down the dragons a couple of times, and was always organising the defensive line and talking and pointing throughout the game, probably something that is not seen on TV, so hopeful he can add some starch and more organisation to our defence. He was given lots of attention very quickly by the dragons defenders i thought through beer goggles when he took the ball up, more so than some other storm forwards, i thought they were paying him some extra special attention which is a good sign.

Benji Magic

Geez, we've won 6 straight and you come up with this. If they go then who else comes in?
How can you knock Heighno for being workmanlike? Every side needs at least one player like him. I suppose you think Corey Parker, Dallas Johnson, Shaun Fensom etc are rubbish as well?

Why don't you follow Gibbs and Fifita and go follow the Sharks

Seven weeks ago at least half of this forum was happy to see both go when they were being shopped around and Simon Dwyer was fully fit. People came to that conclusion based on what they players offered, or lack of what they offered, over the past seven or eight years. Win a few games and both players in form and everyone wants them to stick around based on a six weeks of football rather than on what they have produced over eight years. Two or three times next year when they drop back to their usual form and we lose three on the trot and there will be calls for their heads again.

Tiger Hawk

:lol: Funny, I haven't really noticed anyone talking about wanting them to stick around, or going over the top with praise, just acknowledging how much better they've been playing compared to earlier in the year. But I suppose people see what they want to see.

tumblingdice

Does anyone know what Joel Reddy's injury is, hope we haven't bought another crock like Cayless???

Did a pectoral muscle...out for the season. Seems to happen more often these days. But apart from that, did not tend to be injury prone from my recolection. Guy at work who is a parra tragic rates him well.

N.C.

Did a pectoral muscle...out for the season. Seems to happen more often these days. But apart from that, did not tend to be injury prone from my recolection. Guy at work who is a parra tragic rates him well.
Reddy is a solid buy. I reckon he's one of those guys you love to hate, until he plays for your team...

Ron's_Mate

Reddy is a solid buy. I reckon he's one of those guys you love to hate, until he plays for your team...

Like Utai - I loathed him for the Doggies and was spewing when we signed him. He makes some dumb mistakes but he's also done some very good things. Anyway, I like him these days. (I've never hated Reddy, always thought he was pretty decent.)

tumblingdice

The bashing of Blair by Manly. Another special reason to hate Manly next year when we have Blair on baord and play them-something to look forward to?;-)

More importantly, if the tigers have to play Manly in the next few weeks, they may be without both Stewart brothers. What Glenn did was stupid but what Brett did, gee how dumb was that?