Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OFFICIAL: Adam Blair, Joel Reddy and Matthew Bell

TrigaTheTiger

FFS -

Ever since day one - Sheens and Humphreys have both said that they were seeing Blair as a prop.

He is listed as a prop for his position in the official release.

Guess where he is playing guys?????

He WONT be playing in the back row.

They have made it abundantly clear.

Titanic

I rate Bell who has made as much as he can from limited chances behind three pretty good props ... I would have taken him at the Coast ... but then again I would have taken Goofy, Donald, Micky and even Walt Disney instead of the clowns we have at the moment.

Ausguy

Reddy is crap... im glad he didnt go to cronulla, i reckon he is a bludger of the highest order.

Fordy20

I will reserve my judgement too. Just saw some stats from the last two games:

M Bell vs. Bulldogs
29 minutes for 11 hitups, 105 metres, 2 tackle breaks, 19 tackles

M Bell vs. Souths
36 minutes for 16 hitups, 117 metres, 1 tackle break, 1 offload, 25 tackles

---

B Gibbs vs. Parramatta
50 minutes for 9 hitups, 67 metres, 1 offload, 28 tackles

A Fifita vs. Parramatta
27 minutes for 7 hitups, 35 metres, 0 tackle breaks, 1 offload, 15 tackles

B Gibbs vs. Bulldogs
42 minutes for 9 hitups, 77 metres, 3 tackle breaks, 33 tackles

A Fifita vs. Bulldogs
38 minutes for 10 hitups, 82 metres, 3 tackle breaks, 1 offload, 29 tackles

---

So Bell has made more metres in the past two weeks than Gibbs and Fifita combined and has played less minutes.

Liking the look of that yardage from Bell. Still can't get over the fact we've signed a specialist prop. Is it wrong that I'm more excited about signing Bell than Blair?

Borat.

I reckon its Folkes input- Sheens has said they are going for size and strength - in the past they have been bullied by bigger sides-

Imagine Benji and Robbie behind a pack that actually gets the team on the other foot....starting to get wood

b.bear

]I reckon its Folkes input[/B]- Sheens has said they are going for size and strength - in the past they have been bullied by bigger sides-

Imagine Benji and Robbie behind a pack that actually gets the team on the other foot....starting to get wood

Of course it is,sheens' perfect prototype forward is, you know ,12 stone 165cm tall and dopey...

I'm happy enough with this announcement. If those three play to their potential & the current first graders who are being retained stay healthy next year, and some of the junior talent is brought through, we should do OK.
A few things I'm looking forward to - a second row combination of Ellis & Blair
A genuine brick shithouse prop in Bell doing some line busting in combination with Galloway.
Benji being happy to have a Kiwi mate in the team.

The key items still to be sorted are half and fullback.
I agree, when all said & done, we were ravaged by injury this year, so we will never know what our potential was & a cleanout was long overdue IMO, I do think both these have killed off our season.
But along with the good juniors we seem to have, next year is looking pretty promising, providing we stay reasonably healthy.
New players bring new hope & ideas to the club, Blair is obviously not here to just train & play, I would expect he will offer input in a lot of areas.

I will reserve my judgement too. Just saw some stats from the last two games:

M Bell vs. Bulldogs
29 minutes for 11 hitups, 105 metres, 2 tackle breaks, 19 tackles

M Bell vs. Souths
36 minutes for 16 hitups, 117 metres, 1 tackle break, 1 offload, 25 tackles

---

B Gibbs vs. Parramatta
50 minutes for 9 hitups, 67 metres, 1 offload, 28 tackles

A Fifita vs. Parramatta
27 minutes for 7 hitups, 35 metres, 0 tackle breaks, 1 offload, 15 tackles

B Gibbs vs. Bulldogs
42 minutes for 9 hitups, 77 metres, 3 tackle breaks, 33 tackles

A Fifita vs. Bulldogs
38 minutes for 10 hitups, 82 metres, 3 tackle breaks, 1 offload, 29 tackles

---

So Bell has made more metres in the past two weeks than Gibbs and Fifita combined and has played less minutes.
Not trying to defend anyone here, But Bell, when on the field, always runs the ball back from the kick off. I can't ever recall Gibbs or Fifita doing the same all that often at all, its usually Galloway.

Furthermore, Gibbs has never been used as an attacking option, he's a defensive unit and f**king good one at that.

You'll struggle to find any props in the world that can defend as well as Gibbs.

Fifita though, well he's certainly stopped trying.

FFS -

Ever since day one - Sheens and Humphreys have both said that they were seeing Blair as a prop.

He is listed as a prop for his position in the official release.

Guess where he is playing guys?????

He WONT be playing in the back row.

They have made it abundantly clear.
Blair will start games at prop and then move to back row for the latter stages of the games while the bench looks after the front row.

Radical Rat

Blair will start games at prop and then move to back row for the latter stages of the games while the bench looks after the front row.

Also widely recognised as the best wrestler in the comp. Something that we've never come close to having.

I'm almost as excited about Bell as I am Blair. Can't put a price on how good it's going to be to have a genuine prop that regularly busts out 100+ metres. The way I see it Galloway and Bell will be starting.

Bell on the bench

I see our forwards being
13 - Heighington
12 - Dwyer
11 - Ellis
10 - Galloway
9 - Farah
8 - Blair

14 - Woods
15 - Bell
16 - Murdoch-Masila

When Dwyer and Galloway come off, two props will go on, Blair will shift to the back row, where he will play the majority of games

TrigaTheTiger

Spot on MU -

And super coach will have a back on the bench.

Im mostly worried about the depth issue, but lets just hope we have had two seasons worth of injuries this year.

In the commentary, Sterlo mentioned something along the lines that the Eels were bemoaning the fact that Reddy wasn't playing?
The inference was they may have put more of a show on for there fans with him in the team?
May be an astute buy for us?

Looking pretty good for next year?

Vicious

Bell on the bench

I see our forwards being
13 - Heighington
12 - Dwyer
11 - Ellis
10 - Galloway
9 - Farah
8 - Blair

14 - Woods
15 - Bell
16 - Murdoch-Masila

When Dwyer and Galloway come off, two props will go on, Blair will shift to the back row, where he will play the majority of games

Dwyer won`t be playing next season, I think Fulton has earned a starting spot don`t you?

Fulton has not earned a starting spot. For this year in this form, yes, not a problem. But fulltime for next year? Not after 8 years of indifferent performances. He should be lucky he's got a contract at all. But, yes, he's in good form at the moment.

Vicious

Fulton has not earned a starting spot. For this year in this form, yes, not a problem. But fulltime for next year? Not after 8 years of indifferent performances. He should be lucky he's got a contract at all. But, yes, he's in good form at the moment.

When you play like Fulton has for the past 6 weeks, you demand a starting spot for as long as you keep playing that way!