Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OFFICIAL New South Wales team, Game 2

MacDougall

Beau Scott is a great defensive centre. There are better options though, if they wanted a defensive centre they could have had Lawrence who also actually offers attack.

I wonder how Ennis is going to look without any Bulldogs in the side though. Might be interesting.

hybrid_tiger

You start off by picking a side that is defensively sound then you worry about scoring points.

This has worked so well for the past five years.

Scott is top shelf as a defender and is a powerful runner who can offload.

Sounds like a back rower to me.

This is the same Beau Scott that will be moved back to the back row when Gasnier returns to the Dragons. Gasnier, a classy attacking player who is dangerous with ball in hand, the complete opposite to Scott.

MacDougall

I reckon, once they have the final 17 names. That we could pick a team of players that would beat them. Here's a haphazard guess.

1. Lachlan Coote
2. Aku Uate
3. Chris Lawrence
4. Josh Morris
5. Michael Jennings
6. John Sutton
7. Brett Kimmorley
8. Kade Snowden
9. Robbie Farah
10. Aiden Tolman
11. Willie Mason
12. Anthony Laffranchi
13. Chris Heighington

14. Mitchell Aubusson
15. Cory Paterson
16. Luke Douglas
17. Tim Mannah

Boom. That team rolls the current NSW team imo. Agree/disagree?

typicalfan

Beau Scott is a good option, not only can he secure that side of the field but he can also give a bit back in terms of physicality and not have to worry about defending for his halves.

Springs

I reckon, once they have the final 17 names. That we could pick a team of players that would beat them. Here's a haphazard guess.

1. Lachlan Coote
2. Aku Uate
3. Chris Lawrence
4. Josh Morris
5. Michael Jennings
6. John Sutton
7. Brett Kimmorley
8. Kade Snowden
9. Robbie Farah
10. Aiden Tolman
11. Willie Mason
12. Anthony Laffranchi
13. Chris Heighington

14. Mitchell Aubusson
15. Cory Paterson
16. Luke Douglas
17. Tim Mannah

Boom. That team rolls the current NSW team imo. Agree/disagree?

Disagree. By a hell of a lot.

lockyno1

Is Uate available? If so, NSW have rocks in their head not picking him. This ridiculous thing going on that a winger has to be a great defender is so stupid it aint funny! Uate scores 2-3 tries per week through pure speed.

Jason Maher

Barrett will be captain. Gidley will play off the bench unless both Hayne and Dugan are injured.

On Beau Scott, I would not have picked him myself, because as has been pointed out (with liberal doses of hyperbole from sooking Tigers fans) he is a converted second rower, not a centre. I would have gone for Lawrence (ironically) or Morris. But there's no way Beau will let the team down. He will certainly shore up our pathetic right side defence from game 1, and he'll get the ball to Tahu, who I presume will be outside him. Perhaps wouldn't have been a bad idea to pick him in the second row.

As for the rest of the side, Barrett + Pearce is miles ahead of Lyon + Kimmorley; King is the better Manly prop if we must have one; Gallen, Hindmarsh, and O'Donnell add plenty of starch to our pack; and the inclusion of Dugan to me indicates Hayne is the intended fullback, which further indicates Gidley will be coming off the bench, which is where he has had the most impact in the past. If it was up to me, fromt he 21 players named, this would be our best side:

1. Jarryd Hayne (Josh Dugan)
2. Brett Morris
3. Matt Cooper
4. Beau Scott
5. Timana Tahu
6. Trent Barrett (c)
7. Mitchell Pearce
13. Paul Gallen
12. Nathan Hindmarsh
11. Luke O'Donnell
10. Michael Weyman
9. Michael Ennis
8. Tom Learoyd-Lahrs

14. Kurt Gidley
15. Luke Lewis (Trent Waterhouse)
16. Ben Creagh
17. Jason King

If the 4 players under a cloud are all out, that leaves us with:

1. Kurt Gidley (c)
2. Brett Morris
3. Matt Cooper
4. Beau Scott
5. Timana Tahu
6. Trent Barrett
7. Mitchell Pearce
13. Paul Gallen
12. Nathan Hindmarsh
11. Luke O'Donnell
10. Jason King
9. Michael Ennis
8. Tom Learoyd-Lahrs

14. Jamal Idris
15. Trent Waterhouse
16. Ben Creagh
17. Brett White

chrisD

They should have just picked the Dragons team because what do we know compared to messiah Bennett? Soward would have to be dropped obviously, because he can't play rep footy, so we'll go for an ex Dragon in Barrett. Gidley for Boyd. Waterhouse for Costigan. Tahu for Nightingale. TLL for Smith. Easy win.

typicalfan

Knowing the selectors I reckon Beau Scott is picked to replace Luke Lewis on the bench and they will pick Dugan on the bench to come on and "move" Gidley from fullback to hooker during the game.

It will be a stupid idea but an idea they would come up with nonetheless.

Ladmate

Barrett will be captain. Gidley will play off the bench unless both Hayne and Dugan are injured.

On Beau Scott, I would not have picked him myself, because as has been pointed out (with liberal doses of hyperbole from sooking Tigers fans) he is a converted second rower, not a centre. I would have gone for Lawrence (ironically) or Morris. But there's no way Beau will let the team down. He will certainly shore up our pathetic right side defence from game 1, and he'll get the ball to Tahu, who I presume will be outside him. Perhaps wouldn't have been a bad idea to pick him in the second row.

As for the rest of the side, Barrett + Pearce is miles ahead of Lyon + Kimmorley; King is the better Manly prop if we must have one; Gallen, Hindmarsh, and O'Donnell add plenty of starch to our pack; and the inclusion of Dugan to me indicates Hayne is the intended fullback, which further indicates Gidley will be coming off the bench, which is where he has had the most impact in the past. If it was up to me, fromt he 21 players named, this would be our best side:

1. Jarryd Hayne (Josh Dugan)
2. Brett Morris
3. Matt Cooper
4. Beau Scott
5. Timana Tahu
6. Trent Barrett (c)
7. Mitchell Pearce
13. Paul Gallen
12. Nathan Hindmarsh
11. Luke O'Donnell
10. Michael Weyman
9. Michael Ennis
8. Tom Learoyd-Lahrs

14. Kurt Gidley
15. Luke Lewis (Trent Waterhouse)
16. Ben Creagh
17. Jason King

If the 4 players under a cloud are all out, that leaves us with:

1. Kurt Gidley (c)
2. Brett Morris
3. Matt Cooper
4. Beau Scott
5. Timana Tahu
6. Trent Barrett
7. Mitchell Pearce
13. Paul Gallen
12. Nathan Hindmarsh
11. Luke O'Donnell
10. Jason King
9. Michael Ennis
8. Tom Learoyd-Lahrs

14. Jamal Idris
15. Trent Waterhouse
16. Ben Creagh
17. Brett White

Off-topic, but your first three predictions are wrong. (sig).

On-topic.
If you are going to pick Scott, make it in the back row. You shouldn't waste a centre spot on him when they are better options.

Bumble

Everyone should stop complainning, they should back the players who have been picked and stop giving them sh*t. i believe it an alright squad u cant make everyone happy

Wtf is this sh*t?

We have every right to complain. You know what would make everyone happy? If we stopped picking nuffies that can't score tries as outside backs...or you know, if we won an origin series.

You think we should just cheer them on if they 'hav a go', right? Pathetic.

Spot On

Ah another NSW Origin team and yet the same question needs to be asked. Who is going to bang the ball up and actually get on top of or at least challenge and match the QLD prop rotation?????????

Springs

Really? I mean, factor out Hayne, Lewis, Watmough. A hell of a lot?

I don't think so.

I think so, apart from Uate and maybe the props I see no players that are better than the ones that are selected.

Anyway, very hard to know what they will go with.
Hopefully, at least:
1. Hayne (Dugan if Hayne is out)
2. Morris

6. Barrett
7. Pearce

8. Weyman
9. Ennis

11. Hindmarsh
12. Gallen
13. O'Donnell

14. Gidley
15. Lewis

3,4 and 5 are tough. Cooper, Scott, Tahu, Idris??? Obviously they did not pick a specialist winger.
Props are a problem. King, White, don't know why. Leoroyd-Lahrs should be on the bench. But if Weyman is out, leaves us with only three props, Hindmarsh, Gallen or O'Donnell will have to step up.
Players I would leave out are Waterhouse, Creagh and Dugan if Hayne is cleared, with one to drop off the bench, either Scott, Cooper or Idris.

lockyno1

Have a feeling that Tahu will be on the wing as was mentioned in the SMH today, with Cooper and Idris in the centres.