Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Old Photos Thread

sportive cupid

I'm still searching for my album with my old pics i it.Had it out at GF time but don't knwo where I put it.
Most curious item in it - a ticket to the 1982 GF.The curious thing about it is ...I didn't go to tehhe GF:shock: ( I was at the Leagues Club)

I actually went to the 81 grand final, but watched the fg game at home..lol

long story...

parra pete

I have a mate who lives in Sydney who has every Rugby League News...program from about 1961. He is a poster on here...or he used to be. I should get him to come back on and post a few items......They would be interesting.

yy_cheng

I just proved it, hay. :) :lol:

I 'll put up a few of the footy cards I found from 1975

I remember these cards as well with the Pink Stick of Chewing Gum. No idea where mine are but probably at my mum's somewhere.

But I recalled that we used to flick them against the wall and the nearest to the wall wins all the cards.

But then they would have bung corners. Didn't know what COLLECTION mean't then.

Does anyone recall how much they were? 20c a pack?

I remember buying potato scallops for 20c for 3 too.

parra pete

When I first moved to the bush (June 20, 1966) beer was 9 cents a seven, 13c a middy and 17c a schooner.
A can was 20cents and a long neck 42 cents. Escort had an ad on TV Join the Club, join the Club, join the Escort Club ....Thirty four cents, and your a member"...
AND you could only get Reschs in town....

Gordy

I remember these cards as well with the Pink Stick of Chewing Gum. No idea where mine are but probably at my mum's somewhere.

But I recalled that we used to flick them against the wall and the nearest to the wall wins all the cards.

But then they would have bung corners. Didn't know what COLLECTION mean't then.

Does anyone recall how much they were? 20c a pack?

I remember buying potato scallops for 20c for 3 too.

I think from memory (and it's not very good) that's roughly what they would have been yy.

parra pete

Here are a few more.

John Wilson was a good player. From memory I think he was a TV Cameraman with Channel 7.
I remember him playing against Souths one game in 1969, and as was the practice in those days the South's used to let opponents win the early scrums and belt the tripe out of them - it was the same tactic StGeorge used pre limited tackle rule.
Wilson was half back and he kept shovelling the ball out, until the Rabbits left a gap for him..He galloped through but waiting for him was Ron Coote, who smashed him with a very hard tackle. Coote wasn't known as "Solid" for nothing. BTW, Ron does a wonderful job as President of (dare I say it) Men of League which is a GREAT organisation which every explayer or official should join. Details of how to join can be found by googling Men of League...and its only TWENTY DOLLARS for Life.....

Gordy

John Wilson was a good player. From memory I think he was a TV Cameraman with Channel 7.
I remember him playing against Souths one game in 1969, and as was the practice in those days the South's used to let opponents win the early scrums and belt the tripe out of them - it was the same tactic StGeorge used pre limited tackle rule.
Wilson was half back and he kept shovelling the ball out, until the Rabbits left a gap for him..He galloped through but waiting for him was Ron Coote, who smashed him with a very hard tackle. Coote wasn't known as "Solid" for nothing. BTW, Ron does a wonderful job as President of (dare I say it) Men of League which is a GREAT organisation which every explayer or official should join. Details of how to join can be found by googling Men of League...and its only TWENTY DOLLARS for Life.....

Pete you aren't a salesman by any chance are you? :lol:

They do a great service though.

Gordy

Here are the last few I have for a while. But I shall try and add some more in the near future.

Gordy

Here are the last few I have for a while. But I shall try and add some more in the near future.

I have a question for you people in regards to attachments, being a newby at posting them, is the only way to post more once you have exceeded your limit to delete some. If so what happens to those that you have posted previously?

Seems as I have maxed mine out.

Cheers.

Great stuff Gordy, loving the cards...

Re the attachments stuff - I'd never noticed an overall limit, and I've posted a fair few around the place? I know there are limits to the file size for each attachment though, but haven't reached a limit to the number of attachments yet.

What error message are you getting when you try?

Gordy

Great stuff Gordy, loving the cards...

Re the attachments stuff - I'd never noticed an overall limit, and I've posted a fair few around the place? I know there are limits to the file size for each attachment though, but haven't reached a limit to the number of attachments yet.

What error message are you getting when you try?

I'll give it another try Bartman and let you know. Thanks mate.

Gordy

Upload Errorsimg_5333sml.jpg:
Exceeds your quota by 342.4 KB.

Sum of all attachments owned by Gordy: 3.21 MB

And then it has a download bar which is redded out to the maximum.

I'd download a picture but I can't!!! :crazy:

Hmmm, haven't come across that before... it must keep tabs on the sizes of all the attachments a user uploads?

I guess the only way to get it down and upload more is to delete some older ones? Or reduce their size, and edit prvious posts to upload a version with a smaller file size in their place... a bit of work, but that should give you some more room to move.

Looking at your card attachments Gordy, they come in at 749x999 pixels, which is bigger than the average screen and they only show up on mine at 80% of the image size - which is still twice the size of a real footy card.

Might be a bit of work, but I reckon the way to maximise the number of attachments we can each post is maybe to upload smaller versions of the photos - shrinking them to say 300x400 pixels should still be quite clear images for footy cards.