Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Once a dickhead.....

myrrh ken

A lot of uppity people missed the irony of what Toby said.

He was set up by being accused of being an "old school" fella and then asked how he'll celebrate. He went along with the joke. He was not actually condoning going to Northies and being a rootrat.

He's plenty busy looking after his disabled mum and sick grandma

I think the only concerning aspect of what he said was referring to an anonymous, hypothetical woman as a "thing". It's a little revealing on the attitudes of some young men towards women, and it's not good. I think a lot of you would be lying if you tried to claim you didn't know a guy or guys that habitually think of women as objects to be sought, rather than equals.

Go get gronked and pull as many roots as you like, no problems there for me, but have a bit of appreciation and respect for women as people too. It's not hard - it's the bare minimum.

myrrh ken

I think the only concerning aspect of what he said was referring to an anonymous, hypothetical woman as a "thing".

No. saying "thing" is the joke. He's denigrating himself not denigrating women. Saying he'll literally root anything.

Imagine if he said "Any woman will do." That sounds 100 times worse.

No. saying "thing" is the joke. He's denigrating himself not denigrating women. Saying he'll literally root anything.

Imagine if he said "Any woman will do." That sounds 100 times worse.
Given the vagueness of the statement I think it's hard to interpret either way with certainty tbh. You could be right, but it wasn't my interpretation on first viewing, and I suppose that's the crux of the issue right there. I think your interpretation is a bit of a stretch to be honest (and perhaps you feel similarly, that's fine), but at the end of the day it's not something I'd jump up and down about personally. I can understand why a woman watching that post-match interview would be a little put off by the interchange.

It's a pretty thoughtless and tone-deaf thing to say, but meh, at the end of the day I just hope that education around these issues is good and improving in the NRL. There's plenty of evidence over the years to suggest that the NRL (and not uniquely the NRL, this is a problem in most men-oriented team sports) has a problematic culture towards women within the ranks.

And at the end of the day, even if your interpretation is correct, ugly women are still women - still people. Referring to anyone as a thing is a cultural relic and considered pretty disrespectful.

Reactions: Ret

Apey

I think the only concerning aspect of what he said was referring to an anonymous, hypothetical woman as a "thing". It's a little revealing on the attitudes of some young men towards women, and it's not good. I think a lot of you would be lying if you tried to claim you didn't know a guy or guys that habitually think of women as objects to be sought, rather than equals.

Go get gronked and pull as many roots as you like, no problems there for me, but have a bit of appreciation and respect for women as people too. It's not hard - it's the bare minimum.

I agree with most of this. Would you have any issue if he had said anyone instead of anything?

I think it was a dumb thing to say in the public domain but its not worth the meltdown Penrose Warrior seems to be having.

myrrh ken

Yeah anyone would probably have been better.

You can bet that he will refuse all interviews from now on, or it will be the most sanitised "yeah, nah, the boys" interview you've ever heard.

I agree with most of this. Would you have any issue if he had said anyone instead of anything?

I think it was a dumb thing to say in the public domain but its not worth the meltdown Penrose Warrior seems to be having.
Nope, no problem outside of that. Young people go out, get wasted and f**k. They always will. I don't think he said anything offensive outside of that - but I do think it was revealing as an off-the-cuff remark.

I'm not a puratin - I just do have an issue with people treating or thinking of anyone as sub-human. Once you get to that point, it's much easier to justify bad behaviour - and at the risk of triggering the f**k out of a bunch of alpha males in here - it's not hard to link this way of thinking to what a feminist would call "rape culture". Language is really important - it shapes the way culture and society thinks. This particular issue definitely affects women much higher proportionally than men, which is why it's generally a womens/feminist issue - but the rule is a blanket rule. Every human deserves the respect and rights of being a human being and treated as such by those around them. I'm not particularly supportive of any group of people that reduces another group to objects/sub-human.

At the end of the day, it was a dumb thing to say and a little unmasking for him personally for mine... but I don't want to sit here and whinge about it or blow it up out of proportion either. Depending on the interpretation the dude might have some problematic views on women - and I hope he gets a tap on the shoulder to that effect - and that the NRL have active programs to educate this out of the ranks. That's pretty much it for mine, you move on.

Reactions: Ret

Honestly if this is making headlines today, our game isnt doing too bad.

I thought it was funny, someone having a joke after the game, rather than the "Yeah nah yeah, the boys did pretty well"

As for the "pull something", I'm probably oblivious to a lot of things but I thought he meant winning on pokies. I do hear this sometimes and I do see NRL players get the drink and play pokies, although this was pre COVID.

I have spoken to a few women about it theyve only just noticed it because it grabbed headlines and dont have an issue with it.

I hope we dont go down the path of footy players being told to keep quiet incase they offend someone