Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: American footy thread

Ron Jeremy

I watched some College Football today. Lots of shirt grabbers. TDs came too easy because defence was poor. It was like watching rugby union.

Too many merkins would run the ball but have zero footwork and use the palm or stiff arm. Too many merkins would just run out instead of digging deep and gouging out another few yards. Pussies.

Many merkins have an inflated sense of their abilities IMHO. Too many "that's what I'm talking 'bout" moments just cos some fat merkin did a tackle. Pfft.

On the upside, I enjoyed the role of a good QB and the way they interacted with their line backers. I enjoyed the chess like tactics in promoting the ball. I enjoyed the long passes to deep runners and the skills shown catching the end zone.

You cannot watch this game live. Fast forward on the remote is imperative. Momentum is the key to keeping me interested.

Looking forward to the men playing and maybe fine tuning my first take at this game.

If you can watch cricket live you can watch college football live:lol:

I watched some College Football today. Lots of shirt grabbers. TDs came too easy because defence was poor. It was like watching rugby union.

Too many merkins would run the ball but have zero footwork and use the palm or stiff arm. Too many merkins would just run out instead of digging deep and gouging out another few yards. Pussies.

Many merkins have an inflated sense of their abilities IMHO. Too many "that's what I'm talking 'bout" moments just cos some fat merkin did a tackle. Pfft.

On the upside, I enjoyed the role of a good QB and the way they interacted with their line backers. I enjoyed the chess like tactics in promoting the ball. I enjoyed the long passes to deep runners and the skills shown catching the end zone.

You cannot watch this game live. Fast forward on the remote is imperative. Momentum is the key to keeping me interested.

Looking forward to the men playing and maybe fine tuning my first take at this game.

sounds just like NYC

T.S Quint

So stoked to get a win first up.
Good to see Jarryd get a run, despite his incredible blunder on his first touch.
I loved Frank Gore, but Carlos Hyde looks to be a perfect replacement for him. He was very impressive.

Gonna be a tough one next week in Pittsburgh.

ash411

So stoked to get a win first up.
Good to see Jarryd get a run, despite his incredible blunder on his first touch.
I loved Frank Gore, but Carlos Hyde looks to be a perfect replacement for him. He was very impressive.

Gonna be a tough one next week in Pittsburgh.

Hyde was a beast. The spin move for the TD was great! and props to Keap for running blocking for him on the way in too, you don't see a lot of QB's doing that.

T.S Quint

Hyde was a beast. The spin move for the TD was great! and props to Keap for running blocking for him on the way in too, you don't see a lot of QB's doing that.

Absolutely. The spin move was fantastic. The way he changed his direction so smoothly and quickly, then adding the spin was insane!

And I did like the look of Kap in this game. We focused on the run for most of the game, so he didn't have to do too much, but he was looking pretty good. Making some good decisions that he may not have done last year.
It helped a lot that the O-line played very well and gave him time. They were the biggest question mark going into this game, but they were excellent.

T.S Quint

Well Philli gave a good comeback - Play of the week was Romo last ditch game winning drive-Legend. Deserves a superbowl ring.

Carlos Hyde for me was the player of the weekend just infront of Mariotta.

Oh and Kiki Alonso one handed intercept was the catch of the week-See that one Ron?

That was one great drive. It just seemed all too easy for Dallas. The TD play was terribly defended.

The Giants really blew it. They had that game won, but Eli literally threw it away. Why they didn't run the ball on third down to keep the clock running instead of passing it I'll never know.

Ron Jeremy

That was one great drive. It just seemed all too easy for Dallas. The TD play was terribly defended.

The Giants really blew it. They had that game won, but Eli literally threw it away. Why they didn't run the ball on third down to keep the clock running instead of passing it I'll never know.

he didn't throw cause he was scared to run, that is the reason.

He is a Manning, cheating weak scum they are. Most overrated name in American Football history.

The better the scums retire the better, the evil ones.

Brady on the other hand...

Kornstar

Scum of the universe.

I bet you all the money in the world that Peyton and Eli are in a basement atm with a Brady voodoo doll stabbing it to death.

Brady on the other hand is spending time with his wife and kids..

He was watching the Bills game too, he posted a picture saying he was glad football was back and that's the game that was on.

Ron Jeremy

exactly!!!!!!!!!!!! with his family, playing scrabble and shit, making cookies.

The Mannings on the other hand are conjuring up something sinister to destroy Brady, absolutely disgusting!!!

Mate stoked about the Bills win, the score flattered the colts, and oh offense was only in second gear with watkins, percy, mccoy only playing litterally there first games of the year whilst being rested throughout preseason.

I saw that, yeah great catch. But in saying that he didn't look good against the run, and as i said previously he is great in stretching the field, but is't good at stopping the run.

I am glad we made the trade, preston brown for us seems much better, and i doubt alonzo wouldve made our starting team.

Also that was a bad loss for philli

It was a terrible first half by philli.
Alonso looks athletic but not bulky enough perhaps. Bright future thou.
Byron maxwell got torched too many times and walter thurmond a cheap pick up looked better.
Once bradford got going thou we rolled quicker then any team over the weekend.Gee we looked good. In saying that i have my concerns-Our defense is still horrid and we will need 30 points a game to win.

Bills are probably my second team now BTW with the bengals-Gee they have some weapons.

On the falcons they IMO will top there group. Matt Ryan is a top 10 QB.Maybe even top 5.

Im tipping Peyton not not make the team come rnd 10 - Kansas to top group.Hope they smash them this weekend!

so i was just looking at the NFL schedule

each week they play one Thursday night game, one Monday night and the rest are all on Sunday

why no Friday or Saturday?

Ron Jeremy

It was a terrible first half by philli.
Alonso looks athletic but not bulky enough perhaps. Bright future thou.
Byron maxwell got torched too many times and walter thurmond a cheap pick up looked better.
Once bradford got going thou we rolled quicker then any team over the weekend.Gee we looked good. In saying that i have my concerns-Our defense is still horrid and we will need 30 points a game to win.

Bills are probably my second team now BTW with the bengals-Gee they have some weapons.

On the falcons they IMO will top there group. Matt Ryan is a top 10 QB.Maybe even top 5.

Im tipping Peyton not not make the team come rnd 10 - Kansas to top group.Hope they smash them this weekend!

mate that is the problem, he is just too small and doesn't have that natural strength like all great LB's. My mate reckons he looks like a safety playing LB.

Mate, told you you over paid for him. In saying that Jones is a legit top 3 wr in the game, he will do that too many backs, but i just dont trust Chips defensive IQ.

That was your typical Bradford, MR garbage time, get use to it, he plays well when down by 20, shit house when games are on the line, he just isn't clutch, and that has dogged him his whole career. Foles looked great playing for the rams i will admit though.

Hahaha that is good, said it for 2 years now that this side is legit, very legit, if tyrod at qb continues his impressive form we can take the division. This sunday against the pats may be the biggest bills game since the 90's, it will be huge. I really think this game will mean so much to how the bills end up this year. If we win tdont be surprised if we go 12-4, we just have that much talent.

Ron Jeremy

each week they play one Thursday night game, one Monday night and the rest are all on Sunday

yep, thursday nights are shit too, have no idea why they dont have a friday night game with the weekend the next day, or even saturday, just stupid.

Kornstar

It's to do with high school and college. There was some sort of law that says they can't broadcast on those days from memory.

They have Saturday games later in the season though.

It's to do with high school and college. There was some sort of law that says they can't broadcast on those days from memory.

They have Saturday games later in the season though.

oh do they - yeah I only looked until a bit after halfway through the season

its a bit of a bummer if you want to watch em live here in australia cos it means most games are on Monday .... and then given alot of the games are 1pm eastern US time its a bad time for us (very very early morning, like 3am here) .... I'm used to watching basketball games that are mostly at night and start around 10am our time

Kornstar

oh do they - yeah I only looked until a bit after halfway through the season

its a bit of a bummer if you want to watch em live here in australia cos it means most games are on Monday .... and then given alot of the games are 1pm eastern US time its a bad time for us (very very early morning, like 3am here) .... I'm used to watching basketball games that are mostly at night and start around 10am our time

The times get a little better on a Monday after our daylight savings begin (will be 4am here) and then a few weeks later they change their times and the early games are 5am and the second set of games start after 8 I believe. If you get the NFL app (free) and set the Timezone to Sydney and go ahead you'll see the Aus times.

Parra

Because Sunday arvo's are awsome. Remember when league owned Sunday arvo here. Great days. Now it's just another TV show.