Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Current Affairs and Politics

Some more balance - knifed Coalition Senator admits factionalism and struggles over pre-selections etc aresn't a Labor-only problem...

“The concept of mean girls is not confined to one political party” and “My female Coalition colleagues would privately whinge and complain, but there had been no fortitude or appetite to stand up publicly and say what needed to be said.”

Lol

Do you have any idea what you guys charge us non tradie mugs? Thieves!

Spare us grubby white collars ye old crocodile tears. Replacing a garden tap should not require a second mortgage.

You insatiable lot could handle $10 a litre easily.

You’ll just have to wait for the all-electric Hi Lux.

There are a lot of overheads in trades. And a lot of time wasted cause ACA always said get 3 quotes. I know people who go and get 5 or 6. And aren't even interested in the job in the end.
This is what bumps prices up also.

Learn to do it yourself you useless merkin. Bunnings is open 7 days a week to accomodate the pretenders.

From my perspective even if some tradie tries to fleece me its still not really going to be a cost that will worry me. Or enough to make me think that I am resourceful enough to come up with a better solution. Its not a skill I currently or ever will possess.

If some of them clean up and take advantage of certain situations then more power to them. But for the most part every tradie that I have ever dealt with is far more reasonable and honest than the white collar shit bags I'm forced to tolerate throughout the week.

Yes. Most tradies I know wouldn't take advantage of individuals. Some might throw an extra $100-$200 for the day. But also a lot of times they may think job was going to take longer or the individual is a pain in arse to deal with.
They may try and get a bit extra out of a large joint (factory etc) but not over the top and a lot of risk involved. Can you imagine what happens on production line making 100k an hour of produce when it goes down and needs to be fixed.
Or if dropped metal shavings and they ended up in a milk bottle?
It sounds silly but it is high risk. You can't ever not be thinking.

@Gronk still thinks that 10% of the window washers of the world that post 80% of content on twitter is a great source of information.

The last hard copy of World Book Encyclopaedia has more credibility.
Not gunna lie, I have no idea what a window washer is.

Also, I posted twitter links from The Guardian and from Penny Wong. What did I do wrong there ?

Learn to do it yourself you useless merkin. Bunnings is open 7 days a week to accomodate the pretenders.

From my perspective even if some tradie tries to fleece me its still not really going to be a cost that will worry me. Or enough to make me think that I am resourceful enough to come up with a better solution. Its not a skill I currently or ever will possess.

If some of them clean up and take advantage of certain situations then more power to them. But for the most part every tradie that I have ever dealt with is far more reasonable and honest than the white collar shit bags I'm forced to tolerate throughout the week.
Yes and no from my point of view. My experience is that the best way to get a tradie is to ask around. If you randomly pick someone from google (carpenters near me) or a site like hipages you usually end up with dickdeads.

If you ask around from mates and aquaintances for good experiences with tradies you’ve got a better chance of not getting a cowboy. The thing is that tradies don’t get or maybe do get but don’t get a crap about is that we (I speak for punters in my hood) don’t care about the cheapest quote, in fact we’re just as likely to go with a high quote. All we want is a reliable, honest, punctual tradie who does the job when he says he will and cleans up after himself.

Also we are all very attuned to tradie shortcuts. You know, that Jedi move that tradies pull when they try and convince you that conduit on the outside of a $$$$$ home is the only way to do it, rather than getting dirty under the house or the hassle of chasing it into the wall. Happy to pay extra merkin, just f**king do it. If you don’t want the gig princess, then drop out.

These types of Jedi moves are common across all trades. The aftermath of Jedi moves are often seen in rentals, when a property manager will get a tradie out to fix X or install a new Y. When they are trusted with the keys to make their own decisions, that’s when the shortcut shit really explodes.

"balanced"

small-46188_640.png
What’s a more balanced view about the Solomon Islands issue or are you just taking a pot shot from the grassy noll for lols ?

It's certainly not cool comparing people to mentally handicapped people and we do not accept that terminology as being acceptable.

Not gunna lie, I have no idea what a window washer is.

Also, I posted twitter links from The Guardian and from Penny Wong. What did I do wrong there ?
I don't understand the "balanced" claim ...... the Guardian one seems an unbiased appraisal of the situation in the Pacific ..... then the added "balance" of a statement from the Labor party taking a pot shot at the government and specifically scomo .... i'm baffled what the balance in that is ..... its just another opportunity to post the labor party having a go and do some electioneering

So what is a "balanced view" on the situation ? Pick one.

1648503186770.png

yes I see your point - everyone has the knives out for morrison ...... there is no balance

I already said - I think the Guardian article was just an apraisal of the situation and not really biased

I cannot for the life of me see how that Labor party statement is not them taking an opportunity to have a dig and score some political points ...... and thats entirely to be expected - its what happens in politics ..... but to call it balanced seems stupid

I'm not trying to defend scomo - or the libs .... scomo has proved a dud - he should piss off - the libs would probably be better off without him ........ but its dellussional to think that labor party statement is "balanced" - its taking advantage of the pacific situation to do some electioneering

Angry_eel

Yes. Most tradies I know wouldn't take advantage of individuals. Some might throw an extra $100-$200 for the day. But also a lot of times they may think job was going to take longer or the individual is a pain in arse to deal with.
I had some backyard work done recently. I got 3 quotes. 2 were around 25K in total and 1 was 37K.

The highest one had a bigger company, lots of boys working for them. I can't understand why I would pay 12K more.

I'm not trying to defend scomo - or the libs .... scomo has proved a dud - he should piss off - the libs would probably be better off without him ........ but its dellussional to think that labor party statement is "balanced" - its taking advantage of the pacific situation to do some electioneering
In the absence of balance, sometimes all you are left with is "both sides".

Exactly. I think nearly all political party statements are gonna be loaded with bias. Entirely expected ... just cant see how it gets labelled balanced

I had some backyard work done recently. I got 3 quotes. 2 were around 25K in total and 1 was 37K.

The highest one had a bigger company, lots of boys working for them. I can't understand why I would pay 12K more.

I reckon some people may if want it done fast and they are loaded. Or if its for a company. A firm let's say like QBE wouldn't want a 1 man band. They want a company so if need something urgent can have a guy there fast.

Your general home however I find crazy that some people go with big firms. But plenty don't know better and some have a perception that a small one man band maybe shit