Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Northies paradise lost?

b_shark

carcharias said:
Was this inspired by Caringbah pub?

For me , no . However if it fits your perception ....by all means imagine Caringbah's "stick to the floor show shagpile" and lazy ashtray staff.

I didn't have any one place in mind when I said that .

It could be any old school pub with broken tobacco filtered sunbeams streaming through classroom window frames.

Just last week this was no more evident than when an old mate and I were in town and wanted to get a beer. We wanted one where tradesmen can still eat fish and chips at the bar whilst having a bit of friendly drunken banter with the bar maids.

This was almost impossible ...we ended up in some 3 story pseudo nightclub/suit & tie pool hall with lounges for bar stools and where your change from a twenty comes in coins on a silver guilt tray.

I'm heading south to the last aussie stronghold.

carcharias - try the Macquarie Hotel (cnr Goulburn and Wentworth) or the Hellenic (Greek) Club on Elizabeth Street for a no-frills feed and drink in the city

Sharkman

b_shark said:
carcharias - try the Macquarie Hotel (cnr Goulburn and Wentworth) or the Hellenic (Greek) Club on Elizabeth Street for a no-frills feed and drink in the city

The Hellenic, is that all right? I've never done anything but walk past thinking 60 yo greek grandads play cards, drink that metholated spirits type drink, smoke a pack of ciggies and talk crap about the village back home.

b_shark

Probably the cheapest place to buy a beer in town - and there is plenty of drinking and smoking - but not many greek grandads playing cards and drinking meth - at least not on Level 3

dimitri

carcharias said:
Well its unanimous , the pub as we know it is a dying art.

Oh how I yearn for beer soaked carpet
And over flowing ashtray's
The sound of guitars being tuned
On a happy hour Friday's

A dunny without a mirror
A schooner without fruit
A beer garden in the sun
A new tele from a boot

A pack of smokes over the bar
A jukebox with rock "n " roll
where everyday is Saturday
and we're all on the dole

But now its all alfresco
And 14 dollar food
less beer that costs more money
that's put me in this mood

And now we line like starving
for bouncers to let us pass
So here's where I tell Northies
To shove it up their arse

( carcharias)

what do you mean you wish you were all on the dole

isnt this already the case in the sutherland shire????

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

here's another poem I've written:

He call's himself Dimitri
And he takes it up the arse
He goes for St George Ilawarra

Tadpole

carcharias said:

:lol: :lol: \\:D/ :clap: u should publish a book carch....ur best one yet:D :D

:lol: :lol:
destroyed as per usual

Probably the cheapest place to buy a beer in town
yeah? $2.60 schooners at charlie chans on george st
it barely even has a bar
it's just a front for the pokies so asians go and lose all their money
CHARLIE CHAN'S
we only went there for a laugh

gunnamatta bay

May I suggest the sportsmans bar Cronulla RSL. Cheap beer, FOX sports, workman like atmosphere, snooker tables, pokies and the occasional good sort. (female variety)

imasharkie

We had a similar thread to this a few months ago and I beleive was concocted by shireshark..........one track mind I'd say

dimitri

Tadpole said:
carcharias said:

:lol: :lol: \\:D/ :clap: u should publish a book carch....ur best one yet:D :D

yeah you could call it

"SUTHERLAND SHIRE - NO CLASS NO BRAINS"

you could put a picture of Sharon on the front with no teeth, and with her badly done dye job shwing her 20cm roots. You could have pictures of engadine , bangor, heathcote, woronora heights etc.l

wow that would be entertaining reading

dimitri

for someone from the shire they do sound good

just go to any train station in sutherland shire and look for sharon

ask her to show you her roots

:clap:

beekershark

as opposed to the pictures of 17 zebras arses on the wall of your place Dimmy ? you even have names for the I believe....Mark, PIggy, BAzza, Benny...etc

dimitri

you probably didnt know becasue it isn't

nobody in my family would ever be called sharon

it is a name specifically reserved for inhabitants of the shire

shire shazzas

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: