Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ot- qantas

The boys at the IPA have you on your toes Reef. Keep up the dream.

Whose word on the streets are you listening to... Michelle Gratton ??

Mate tuck yourself in , only around 700 more sleeps before the poll that counts.

You just worry about those thousands of Nuclear Reactors that are producing 135% of the worlds energy.

I.P.A here to stay. I.P.A here to stay.

You just worry about those thousands of Nuclear Reactors that are producing 135% of the worlds energy.

Make that 1001. Thats right , bangladesh has just signed an agreement with Russia for 2 nuclear reactors that includes fuel & waste return to Russia. 2 pharking reactors!!!!
We are getting closer & closer to a 3rd world country thanks to labor.
By 2030 estimates have China with a possibilty of 100 nuclear reactors operational. Right now China has confirmed plans to build modular reactors, which probably fits into this incredibly high number.
meanwhile, here in Australia, we wil be subsidising poisonously expensive Bosch & Siemens windmill turbines & suffering exhorbitant electricity costs & the fairly regular black out.
Unless we keep using Nathans product. Like Germany is going to.

Vin Fizz

A coleagues father in law who has just been made redundant from Port Kembla swears the reason the Stains Stadium fell over was due Chinese steel. Not sure how happy i am knowing they may have 100 reactors. OT what do you call the China syndrome when it happen in China BTW? How f**ken lame am I!!!!

No worries Vinny, Reefy tells me they are all safe as houses - them thar reactors.

Even the ones in Jap land are safe. Reefys got the stats to back it up.

Watch this space.

not one sickness. Not one death. Not one injury.
People getting ready to move back after the clean up.
the entire disaster managment went like clockwork & was under control.
Meanwhile, 30,000 people lost their lives to natural elements. thousands have been killed in road accidents. Hundreds have committed suicide from tsunami disaster related depression.
If this is the worst that can happen in such extreme situations, then it is completely safe technology.
I;ll state it again; not one sickness. Not one death. Not one injury. To ignore this fact is gross ignorance.

A coleagues father in law who has just been made redundant from Port Kembla swears the reason the Stains Stadium fell over was due Chinese steel. Not sure how happy i am knowing they may have 100 reactors. OT what do you call the China syndrome when it happen in China BTW? How f**ken lame am I!!!!

Nothing wrong with chinese steel mate. The stainless stuff is not true marine grade because they dont use sufficient Molybdenum(Australian) & their black steel arrives pretty dirty because it is heavily oiled for sea transport. But otherwise, steel is steel. The gal coatings are too thin as well.
I find the argument about the stadium very very very unlikely.

I.P.A. Press Release.. Chinese Steel - Should we worry ?

Nothing wrong with chinese steel mate. The stainless stuff is not true marine grade because they dont use sufficient Molybdenum(Australian) & their black steel arrives pretty dirty because it is heavily oiled for sea transport. But otherwise, steel is steel. The gal coatings are too thin as well.

Is there absolutely nothing the Institute of Public Affairs Australia doesn't know about. Where do they get all this information and facts?

ipa.jpg

Windy70

No it's not. There are many certified / approved steel mills in China that produce steel to precisely Aust standards. But there are many more that don't.

If steel is produced with the wrong ratio of elements or incorrect process it can look just like quality steel but be a little softer or worse brittle. Not knowing the exact grade / composition of steel makes it easy to use the wrong welding procedures as well which may lead to cracking, tearing under load etc.

The galvanizing issues is usually due to high silicon levels giving a shyt finish to the coating.

But I would imagine that the engineers involved in the stadium would of had all the data sheets on the steel and where it came from. If not they are idiots.

No it's not. There are many certified / approved steel mills in China that produce steel to precisely Aust standards. But there are many more that don't.

If steel is produced with the wrong ratio of elements or incorrect process it can look just like quality steel but be a little softer or worse brittle. Not knowing the exact grade / composition of steel makes it easy to use the wrong welding procedures as well which may lead to cracking, tearing under load etc.

The galvanizing issues is usually due to high silicon levels giving a shyt finish to the coating.

But I would imagine that the engineers involved in the stadium would of had all the data sheets on the steel and where it came from. If not they are idiots.

AS far as I am aware, it is illegal to sell steel for construction that does not stack up to standards. Having used steel from most of the big distributors in Australia & a few little ones, who are basically resellers, the only difference I have found other than the gal coat is the bead size in RHS, CHS & Gal Pipe.

Windy70

Yea mate it is illegal. As long as the certification documents are real. The only other way to know is to test it. This is a story from 2007 when the US started importing more and more steel from China. It has got alot better since then but you still need to be careful. Over here we get some absolute crap come in from china. I bring all my steel over from Blue scope or One steel in AUs.

http://www.kiplinger.com/businessresource/forecast/archive/New_Threat_from_China_Steel_070907.html

spider

http://www.smh.com.au/business/qantas-dispute-to-drag-on-until-june-20111212-1orbt.html

Qantas dispute to drag on until June

QANTAS will have to wait at least another six months before it can put its damaging industrial dispute behind it because of a longer-than-expected period before a full bench of the industrial umpire hears a complex case between the airline and its long-haul pilots.

After recently putting the total cost at $194 million, the airline's chief executive, Alan Joyce, told analysts at a closed briefing yesterday that ''all the signs are that the damage [to the Qantas brand from the dispute and subsequent grounding of its fleet just over a month ago] is neither extensive nor permanent''.

Mr Joyce said he was confident that the outcome of binding arbitration before Fair Work Australia involving Qantas and three unions would be ''reasonable and will exclude the extreme claims that would have threatened our capacity to make the necessary transformation to our international business''.

But the airline will have to wait longer than thought before three commissioners from the industrial umpire hear its dispute with the Australian and International Pilots Association, which represents long-haul pilots.

A Fair Work hearing for the dispute involving the pilots has been set before three commissioners from June 4 to 8 in Sydney, and from June 12 to 15 in Melbourne. Qantas has to submit witness statements and expert evidence to the workplace umpire by March 19, while the pilots' union has to do likewise by April 30.

The hearing was expected to be held in May but is believed to have been delayed due to the dispute's complexity. The pilots are also running a case in the Federal Court challenging the industrial umpire's termination of its protected industrial action against Qantas.

The other two disputes to be referred to binding arbitration, involving licensed aircraft engineers and ground crews, are expected to be concluded before the pilots' case.

A full bench of Fair Work will hear the dispute between Qantas and the Transport Workers Union, which represents baggage handlers, in late March. Although the two sides are expected to resolve pay claims of between 3 per cent and 5 per cent, the main sticking point remains the TWU's job security claims.

The aircraft engineers are considered most likely to resolve the majority of their differences with Qantas. The two sides will meet before Fair Work next Monday.

Qantas has indicated it is hopeful of settling the dispute with the engineers as early as this month.

A Qantas spokesman said yesterday that the timing of the Fair Work hearings was ''of little consequence because the unions can't take any industrial action'' after the umpire terminated the dispute.

Qantas executives reiterated yesterday that talks were continuing about setting up an ultra-premium airline in south-east Asia.

spider

because the unions can't take any industrial action'' after the umpire terminated the dispute.
haha

once again, smart call by the CEO to ground the fleet short term as it put a stop to the on-going bullshit by the unions impacting on revenue

thought I'd get into the act and say the sky definitely isn't falling, judging by this neat little email from the NAB that just arrived on my doorstep

NAB’s Monthly Business Survey – November 2011

Conditions improve slightly in November and are consistent with an economy growing around trend. Services sectors (ex. finance) and retail doing better. Confidence overall relatively stable – despite European concerns. GDP revised up on mining & consumer strength.
  • Business conditions edged higher in November, after softening a little in the previous month, and are consistent with an economy growing at around trend. With the exception of trading conditions, all of the survey indicators improved in the month, with increases in forward orders, stocks, employment and capacity utilisation suggestive of improved economic activity. The survey’s activity readings over the December quarter to date are broadly consistent with underlying demand growth of around 3½-3¾% and GDP (ex. coal) growth of around 3¼-3½% in the December quarter (6-monthly annualised rate).
  • Business confidence was unchanged in November, remaining below its long-term average, despite concerns about the European debt situation.
  • Business conditions were mixed by industry. The services sectors (outside finance) all reported better activity in the month. Mining, transport & utilities and retail conditions were also noticeably stronger. In contrast, conditions deteriorated heavily in construction in November, while manufacturing conditions also deteriorated in the month; conditions were worryingly weak in both sectors.
  • Labour cost growth ticked up in November, consistent with an improvement in employment conditions in the month. Final product prices rose in the month but retail prices remained broadly flat.
    Implications for NAB forecasts (See Global & Australian Forecasts report also released today):
    • The continuing financial crisis in the Euro-zone is seriously damaging European business confidence and affecting economic activity. As a result, we are now expecting a deeper recession in that region with spill-over effects around the world (particularly to the UK, where our forecasts have also been lowered). The big emerging market economies are also slowing as earlier policy tightening takes effect in China, India and Brazil. Overall, we have cut our global growth forecast to 3¼% for 2012, a below-trend performance crucially reliant on the contributions from the US, China and India.
    • Australian national accounts data heralded the start of the long-awaited mining investment boom, while consumption growth remains firm; we see these components (in particular) supporting further growth in the Australian economy in the medium term. Our GDP forecasts have been strengthened to reflect stronger consumption and mining investment growth. We are generally more bullish on near-term growth than the Commonwealth Treasury and RBA’s latest forecasts; we see year-average growth of 2.1% this year, around 4½% in 2012. While we still see downside risks to near term inflation (2% by mid 2012), we expect above target inflation to re-emerge in 2013, consistent with our stronger growth profile.

spider

Business conditions edged higher in November, after softening a little in the previous month, and are consistent with an economy growing at around trend. With the exception of trading conditions, all of the survey indicators improved in the month, with increases in forward orders, stocks, employment
nice one sided view - no mention of unemployment increasing

employment remained steady in line with unemployment increasing also - 5.3%

http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/mf/6202.0

then again, it is the NAB

Spider the NAB thing is a survey of business people's perceptions and own business experiences, whereas the ABS counts the beans.

spider

precisely tom, agree - which proves perception is not always reality, as some like to spruik

but the NAB is ok, its those dam left wing bloggers that we need to watch out for - thats where the deliberate untruths are told

You know I dreamed I saw Joe Hill last night.

"The copper bosses killed you, Joe,
They shot you, Joe," says I.
"Takes more than guns to kill a man,"
Says Joe, "I didn't die,"
Says Joe, "I didn't die."
And standing there as big as life
And smiling with his eyes
Joe says, "What they forgot to kill
Went on to organize,
Went on to organize."
"Joe Hill ain't dead," he says to me,
"Joe Hill ain't never died.