Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Our great games positive future

docbrown

2010 Union International = Australia vs South Africa @ Lang Park = 44,284

2010 NRL Preliminary Final = Gold Coast vs Sydney Roosters @ Lang Park = 44,787

2010 NRL Regular Game = Brisbane vs Cowboys @ Lang Park = 48,516

Titans/Roosters not even close to packing it out,another finals match that doesn't go close

Panthers/Raiders
Dragons/Sea Eagles
Roosters/Tigers
Roosters/Panthers
Titans/Roosters

Yeah NRL is so great isn't it,LOL.
If you don't like it, f**k off and watch something else.

hutch

Titans/Roosters not even close to packing it out,another finals match that doesn't go close

Panthers/Raiders
Dragons/Sea Eagles
Roosters/Tigers
Roosters/Panthers
Titans/Roosters

Yeah NRL is so great isn't it,LOL.

Biggest wanker I've ever seen post online, you have no idea about sport! Goodbye!

Ok this is just my 2 cents on a few topics in our world of Rugby League at the moment. Feel free to add/comment/critisize - just calling it as I see it.

The Future:
The future of our competition the NRL looks very very bright. We will be the first code in this country to sign a billion dollar tv rights contract, either 1 contract for the billion or 2 ()combined. This has not happened yet in AFL and a milestone that our game will have proudly achieved first.

Our Juniors:
Despite Channel 9 trying to kill our game, with stories they've televised on ACA and what have you, they know they'll lost the next contract, however the juniors... well as far as I'm concerned they're looking as good as they've ever been. The junior teams in our Toyota Cup comp look great. The ARL has injected a lot of money into this competition and it's very first season was very successful. The junior talent we have will never die. It seems that any potential threat to our junior ranks has been quashed with the success of the new Toyota Competition, and we've also managed to salvage some history with our NSW/QLD cup competitions.

AFL/Rugby:
I don't think that we have anything to worry about here. AFL will be throwing hundreds of millions of dollars into a marketing scheme that will never work. The Swans took 70+ years to win their first major, and it didn't threat our code one bit. I highly doubt that having an AFL team in West Sydney will do any damage either. League is something you're born with. AFL is also something that you're born with. You can't persuade someone to cross codes (as a child) with only marketing, you need more. Blood is thicker than water. I also believe that the 18 team competition is a scramble technique that the AFL come up with to try and counter attack threats from the NRL - with the recent success of Melbourne from 2006-2010 (and yes taking into account the salary cap drama) AFL have wanted to hit our heartland in Western Sydney as our game was very successful down there (until the SC revelations came out). And with the success of the Titans in only 4 years, the AFL have also scrambled throwing a franchise up there to try and counter any NRL success. I think the ship has sailed though (for the AFL :D)

Expansion:
Look at how many more places the game has to expand - Central Coast, North Coast, Central Queensland, Perth, Adelaide, Tassie, PNG (just to name a few) - yet the AFL have pretty much hit their peak with only 18 teams.

My final thoughts:
To put it simply, "Our game is here to stay!"

Some good points there. However I think the NRL needs to be far more professional and pro-active in the way they promote and market our game, including some moderate but astute expansion. Look at the coverage and hype the AFL spin department constantly generates with what, by any measure, is a vastly inferior game to rugby league. We should be killing it in the promotions stakes --- in reality we're far, far behind the AFL in this regard.

Bulldog Force

Its illegal to tell facts(crowd figures) and its also illegal to enjoy more then one sport?

Please kill yourself
Mate, seriously, if you're trying to convince everyone in this particular forum that you're right, you'll be fighting a never-ending uphill battle. Do yourself the favor...

Ok this is just my 2 cents on a few topics in our world of Rugby League at the moment. Feel free to add/comment/critisize - just calling it as I see it.

The Future:
The future of our competition the NRL looks very very bright. We will be the first code in this country to sign a billion dollar tv rights contract, either 1 contract for the billion or 2 ()combined. This has not happened yet in AFL and a milestone that our game will have proudly achieved first.

Our Juniors:

Despite Channel 9 trying to kill our game, with stories they've televised on ACA and what have you, they know they'll lost the next contract, however the juniors... well as far as I'm concerned they're looking as good as they've ever been. The junior teams in our Toyota Cup comp look great. The ARL has injected a lot of money into this competition and it's very first season was very successful. The junior talent we have will never die. It seems that any potential threat to our junior ranks has been quashed with the success of the new Toyota Competition, and we've also managed to salvage some history with our NSW/QLD cup competitions.

AFL/Rugby:
I don't think that we have anything to worry about here. AFL will be throwing hundreds of millions of dollars into a marketing scheme that will never work. The Swans took 70+ years to win their first major, and it didn't threat our code one bit. I highly doubt that having an AFL team in West Sydney will do any damage either. League is something you're born with. AFL is also something that you're born with. You can't persuade someone to cross codes (as a child) with only marketing, you need more. Blood is thicker than water. I also believe that the 18 team competition is a scramble technique that the AFL come up with to try and counter attack threats from the NRL - with the recent success of Melbourne from 2006-2010 (and yes taking into account the salary cap drama) AFL have wanted to hit our heartland in Western Sydney as our game was very successful down there (until the SC revelations came out). And with the success of the Titans in only 4 years, the AFL have also scrambled throwing a franchise up there to try and counter any NRL success. I think the ship has sailed though (for the AFL :D)

Expansion:

Look at how many more places the game has to expand - Central Coast, North Coast, Central Queensland, Perth, Adelaide, Tassie, PNG (just to name a few) - yet the AFL have pretty much hit their peak with only 18 teams.

My final thoughts:
:clap::clap::clap:
That is an awesome post. So refreshing after wading through the usual "AFL will kill us unless we punt 50 clubs and admit Adelaide and rip our sleeves of and copy AFL" tripe. Post of the year mate. Top stuff.

Its illegal to tell facts(crowd figures) and its also illegal to enjoy more then one sport?

Please kill yourself

You're provided incomparable stats to prove a point against a sport on whose forum you're trying to gain some sort of respect.

Your arguments belong in the Fight Club, piss off and start going ten rounds in there. Let the people who actually like Rugby League discuss it here. Your claim that you "enjoy" more than one sport may well be correct but your mindless dribble this year indicates that our sport is not one you enjoy.

Ok Hynetard - what's Unions biggest ever crowd in Penrith, Cronulla, Manly, Paramatta, Canberra, Newcastle, Gold Coast, Kogarah, Newtown, Townsville, Campbelltown, Lidcombe, Leichhardt, North Sydney, Gosford or Wollongong?

Wake me up when Sterlo is calling Robbie Farah's lineout throw, ok?

Loudstrat models his latest RL fashion accessory:

retrologo1.jpg

Bulldog Force

:clap::clap::clap:
That is an awesome post. So refreshing after wading through the usual "AFL will kill us unless we punt 50 clubs and admit Adelaide and rip our sleeves of and copy AFL" tripe. Post of the year mate. Top stuff.
Thanks dude. It's the Grand Final week, we need on the good news in our game right now :cool:

In-goal

Honestly most of what has been said here is nothing but crap, I don't think I have read one legitiment post in regards to the above mention title.

Rose tinted glasses anyone?

bobmar28

The Future:

Our Juniors:

AFL/Rugby:

Expansion:

My final thoughts:

I Remember the channel nine news reader Peter Overton hatchet job on league a year or so back. According to him AFL was taking over Sydney.

And let's not forget the ABC's love affair with AFL. I'm listening to the ABC now and hearing comments like "Who's going to win the grand final?" And they are not talking about the NRL grand final.

Teddyboy

There are thousands of people around the world playing a non-contact form of Rugby League in different names.The ARL need to do something about it.

Bulldog Force

I Remember the channel nine news reader Peter Overton hatchet job on league a year or so back. According to him AFL was taking over Sydney.

And let's not forget the ABC's love affair with AFL. I'm listening to the ABC now and hearing comments like "Who's going to win the grand final?" And they are not talking about the NRL grand final.
He can say what he wants, but someone's gas-bagging doesn't mean it'll come true. He's more than entitled to his opinion.

Highway1

fortunately in QLD, on the ABC in all means, its all Rugby league mate, their QLD cup coverage is exceptional

Highway1

The Future:

Our Juniors:

AFL/Rugby:

Expansion:

My final thoughts:

In my opinion, I'd love the NRL/ARL to put some money aside to the ABC for TV coverage of state league comps so that state league clubs have a higher chance of getting really good sponsorships and therefore better junior development and more incentive for player to stay. As a result, I reckon that will undercut rival football codes severely in terms of development and keeping players in the sport, it helps a lot in QLD.

bobmar28

He can say what he wants, but someone's gas-bagging doesn't mean it'll come true. He's more than entitled to his opinion.

You say Peter Overton is entitled to his opinion. I say he is a dickhead who should be ignored. Channel nine should be promoting NRL not AFL.

WaznTheGreat

Only 6,000 tickets sold for the Kangaroos 1st game against PNG:lol:

Dead rubber Bledisloe Cup match got 70,000(Aussies lost 10 in a row to the Kiwis as well):lol: