Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

parra sack andrew johns !!

HevyDevy

I don't understand how people can defend the actions of an ignorant man.

"No, Adolf was alright - he was just a little stupid! He was a good bloke, if you weren't Jewish!"

Noone is defending his actions mate, just saying that he shouldn't lose his livelihood because of a stupid comment.

He has lost two jobs so far, let's hope it stops there.

That said, I get the impression Barty would like him to lose all his jobs.

spartan2153

The only gig johns will lose will be our job. He wont be fired from channel 9 or lose his column. All the other clubs will keep him.

What will happen is he will not appear on chanel 9 for the rest of the year & the same with his column. DOnt feel sorry for him like i said in a previous post. His pr machoine is already working on building his image.
that article on him coaching this kids was disgusting in my opinion. Do they think we are all dum, and to say it was secret. If it was so secret what the hell were photographers doing at a under 16 training session. Pathetic.

He has to finally learn to take responsibility for his actions & the only way he can do that is by losing his jobs then so be it. He has been irresponsible for his actions his whole life. Time that he found out what its like to be responsible.

The other thing that sh*ts me is what the hell is he doing drinking with the players anyway. He is a coaching assistant. Players are meant to look up to the coaching staff.

Spot On

More importantly , where was a major improvement in any of our halves.

I can't think of a club where Johns is involved that has seen a big leap forward in the 6 and 7

There's zero improvement in any of ther players he has worked with at any clubs. Argument can be made they have gone backwards - Dureau and Mullen.

HevyDevy

The only gig johns will lose will be our job. He wont be fired from channel 9 or lose his column. All the other clubs will keep him.

What will happen is he will not appear on chanel 9 for the rest of the year & the same with his column. DOnt feel sorry for him like i said in a previous post. His pr machoine is already working on building his image.
that article on him coaching this kids was disgusting in my opinion. Do they think we are all dum, and to say it was secret. If it was so secret what the hell were photographers doing at a under 16 training session. Pathetic.

He has to finally learn to take responsibility for his actions & the only way he can do that is by losing his jobs then so be it. He has been irresponsible for his actions his whole life. Time that he found out what its like to be responsible.

The other thing that sh*ts me is what the hell is he doing drinking with the players anyway. He is a coaching assistant. Players are meant to look up to the coaching staff.

That's pretty much all turd.

Obviously you think it's terrible that Joey would coach Aboriginal kids. I know for a fact that it wasn't a set-up.

I do believe it's fair enough that he has lost the Eels job and the NSW job but to lose any more would be a disgrace.

Oh and he was drinking with the players because that was his job description on the night - just like every member of the playing anc coaching staff. You didn't notice the 10,000 stories in the lead-up to Origin I about getting past players more involved? The whole point was to get past and present players to mix and that included a night where they all hit the beers.

That's why he was drinking with the players.

spartan2153

That's pretty much all turd.

Obviously you think it's terrible that Joey would coach Aboriginal kids. I know for a fact that it wasn't a set-up.

I do believe it's fair enough that he has lost the Eels job and the NSW job but to lose any more would be a disgrace.

Oh and he was drinking with the players because that was his job description on the night - just like every member of the playing anc coaching staff. You didn't notice the 10,000 stories in the lead-up to Origin I about getting past players more involved? The whole point was to get past and present players to mix and that included a night where they all hit the beers.

That's why he was drinking with the players.

So now ur trying to say that it was a coincidence that there was a photographer there & happened to see johns a day after this broke out. Wake up to urself.

Walk up to your boss & admit to them you have been taking drugs thru ur career. Lets see how long he keeps you there. He has only been looked after because he can play footy. He offers nothing else.

HevyDevy

So now ur trying to say that it was a coincidence that there was a photographer there & happened to see johns a day after this broke out. Wake up to urself.

*sigh*

It was leaked. Not by Joey. Probably by John or Nick Fordham.

The timing was, well, timely but he had already said he would come and do a session with them.

But as you say, it's terrible that he would lend his time to help kids.

spartan2153

Its not terrible its disgusting how his pr machine used this as a angle to help his image. Thats what i am saying. The fact they even printed means he will only lose our job.

Its just to corny

HevyDevy

So you want to see a person lose their livelihood do you? You're not happy with him losing two jobs, you want him to lose six or seven of them.

What's that going to achieve?

I very much doubt that Timana himself would want that - although the Eels gig was obviously untenable at the moment, Timana's goal was to make a statement that such comments are not acceptable.

I believe he has well and truly achieved that. Johns has copped a hammering from it - and fair enough to a certain extent - but now it's time to stop and move on. Hammering Joey into submission isn't what this was ever supposed to be about and achieves nothing whatsoever.

spartan2153

Johns has copped a hammering for it. The reason he has & people seem to forget is his whole career he has not takien blame for anything. Now it is all coming to fruition & he has to suffer for his actions.

He has abused his position since he became the star many a year ago. Yes i dont care if he does lose all his jobs because he has been given ample opprtunity & blown it each occasion

HevyDevy

You seem to hold him up on a pedestal.

So he has stuffed up a couple of times, everyone has.

Taken drugs? Half the population does.

spartan2153

I dont hold him up on a pedestal. BUt i know for a fact. If you abuse your position in your job on more than a few occasions it means you are sacked. He has & now has to pay the penalty.

As they say you do the crime you do the time.

mrpwnd

LOL! Spartan, do you know Joey personally?
Have you been with him since he was a youngster?
Until you can provide that kind of credential I don't think you, me or anyone else here should be here criticizing him.
The bloke said something stupid and apologized what more do you want? Even old Artie Beetson said he didn't really give a sh*t.
I personally still don't think he should've been sacked nor do I believe he abused his position, people like you tend to be really easily twisted by trashy articles.
First your asking for his sacking in every single one of his jobs, what now? You want him to give you a blowy to make you happy?

CrazyEel

Glad he's been punted. Couldn't handle the grog or drugs and has never ever found a way to keep his foot out of his mouth, always has and always will be nothing more than an accident looking for a place to happen.

His mentoring results clearly show he has SFA to offer, good riddance.

Did anyone see the Joey's new career cartoon in the Herald today? Pretty funny imo...

Noone is defending his actions mate, just saying that he shouldn't lose his livelihood because of a stupid comment.

Well, that's a fair call.

LOL! Spartan, do you know Joey personally?
Have you been with him since he was a youngster?
Until you can provide that kind of credential I don't think you, me or anyone else here should be here criticizing him.
The bloke said something stupid and apologized what more do you want? Even old Artie Beetson said he didn't really give a sh*t.
I personally still don't think he should've been sacked nor do I believe he abused his position, people like you tend to be really easily twisted by trashy articles.
First your asking for his sacking in every single one of his jobs, what now? You want him to give you a blowy to make you happy?

That's because he didn't say it to or about old Artie Beetson.

A racist is a racist.

Why was that blowhard an ASSISTANT COACH of NSW to begin with? Coaching credentials? Oh, right- he's coached our representative halves combo. Erm...

I hate Andrew Johns.

lingard

Maybe you should do a bit of reading, mate.

Political correctness (adjectivally, politically correct; both forms commonly abbreviated to PC) is a term which denotes language, ideas, policies, and behavior seen as seeking to minimize social and institutional offense in occupational, gender, racial, cultural, sexual orientation, disability, and age-related contexts.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Political_correctness

There is probably not much you could tell me about Aboriginals also. I have lived in Cairns for more than 20 years and we have a quite large Aboriginal population. I have done electrical work at 3 Aboriginal Communities and have also worked doing property maintenance on homes rented to Aboriginals. I also help a couple of young Murri kids with their computer. I could go on..;-)

Political correctness, although seeking to minimise offence, has the unfortunate side-effect of squashing freedom of speech. Many policies and business rules implimented by governments and organisations in the name of political correctness, are really just a means of silencing opinions and comments. I don`t like that. So I think we are agreed on that.
And I`ll ask you the question again: do you really think that people who are condemning Andrew Johns are just doing it in the name of political correctness? Are they just 'toeing the party line'? Do you think it`s okay for a high-profile white sportsman (who is also the assistant coach of a major sporting team) to get pissed and call opposition players 'black merkins' in front of another aboriginal player? (And - as is alleged - to do it repeatedly.)
I live in a community which has a large population of indigenous people (six times the state average, in fact.) I have a lot of aboriginal clients and I have a lot of aboriginal co-workers. And, you know, most of them think that John`s behaviour was disgusting and offensive. Ask some of the aboriginal people you know, what they think of it.
Bildo; I`m not saying I`m right and you`re wrong. I`m not saying you`re a racist or anything, either. (And I`m not implying that you`re a red-neck bogan - even though you implied that I was a wanker who was in need of a box of tissues.) I`m just pointing out that, mate, I`m not denegrating Johns out of political correctness. I hate that sh*t. If you think Tahu was a drama queen or something, fair enough. But surely you can see what all the uproar is about. Can`t you?

lingard

Well, I don`t know about that. I work with a lot of aboriginal clients and aboriginal co-workers. Just as Andrew does. I`m in a fairly senior position in my organisation. Just as Andrew is. If I got pissed (let`s say at a work function - which is what the situation was in Andrew`s case) and said what he was reported to have said, and then further reports suggested that I was a serial offender in this regard, I reckon I`d be out on my ear. Why should he be any different? And I love the way everyone is saying that 'it was just a silly comment', etc, and that 'of course Andrew Johns is not racist - he just let slip with a silly remark'. Well, sorry, but he sounds like a f**king racist to me!